We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A memorable property and location”
other travellers have booked this property
The CityChalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The CityChalet
Living room Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
The CityChalet
Living room
Dining area
The fully equipped Kitchen
A double bedroom
Another double bedroom
The triple bedroom
A Bathroom
The other Bathroom
Corner view
Front View
View from the Garden
A lovely Sunset
Winter mood
A perfect winter day
Summer garden view
View from the garden on the Jungfrau
Winter garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Kenjones2...
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable property and location”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This traditional Swiss chalet is an ideal base from which to explore Interlaken and the surrounding mountains. Our party comprised two couples and 4 lads ranging in age from 13 to 20. All were delighted with the spacious accommodation, fully functional for all the normal requirements. To describe the property as 'home from home' would just about describe its character and appeal.
The distances from the West station and the town were easily manageable by the eldest among us.
All of us had a great time, starting from this ideal base.
For us there were no negative aspects.

To you Matt, many, many thanks.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norris F
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 week family holiday”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great place for our group of 6 adults and 3 children. The house was in fantastic condition for being 200 years old. Matt the owner was friendly and very helpful.
The only negative things were that the kids had a very small area to play outside and there was an older gentleman, who was related to Matt, who was not kid friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla O
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday Destination”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was part of a group of friends who stayed at City Chalet in Interlaken, for a holiday and in order to attend a wedding. The actual accommodation was way beyond my expectation, absolutely excellent facilities and within easy walking distances to interlaken town centre where there were multiple cafes and restaurants. It was also within walking distance to the rivers running through interlaken, which was stunning and short drive to the lakes for a swim. The Holt family was very courteous and helpful, providing us with useful information about parking and some of the local attractions. Would definitely recommend this place to a friend and will most definitely be returning in due course.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT_Lin62
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was beyond our expectation. I had booked this chalet for 4 day/3nights. The owner, Matt was very friendly and had made everything available for us. The location was great, which the supermarket was just around the corner and really near to the shopping area. We had the ground floor with 3 bedroom. The children had spacious space to move around i.e inside and outside the house. Really suitable place to stay, if you are travelling with children.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadtripf...
atlanta, ga
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for the month of June”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 5 who are lucky enough to enjoy extended vacations of a month in one place. We prefer to book a house or apartment so we can eat some meals at "home." We've also rented quite a few different places over the years. I have to say that city chalet exceeded my expectations. We had the ground floor of one of three houses. New construction. 3 bedrooms which was enough beds for 7 people. The location was perfect. Fairly close to the Interlaken west train Station. Close to Unterseen, the cute neighboring city to Interlaken with many recommended restaurants. Matt, the owner/manager was a pleasure to work with and super quick to respond to any questions. Highlight of the trip for the kids was the nearby plaza with "giant" chess and a yummy bakery with outdoor seating.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie209
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Holiday Haven”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place is truly a holiday haven. The owner, Matt Horn, has made everything available and comfortable. Almost at the foothill of Harder Klum, you look out from any room, beautiful mountain peaks peek at you. Plus, so close to the stores & train station that family with kids would find it v convenient. Yes, lugging your baggage on the gravel as you approach the property can be a little cumbersome, but honestly, u will forget all that once u are 'home'.
Fantastic place, lovely holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraadi
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A solid stay option in Interlaken west”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I had booked the city chalet for a week in the month of June 2013 and stayed there with my family. We were 6 adults and one child and stayed in the first floor. As the apartment accommodated 10 people, we were quite comfortably placed.

I dont quite agree with a 5 rating of the property by the earlier reviewers as it indicates that there is no room for improvement. Do not get me wrong, I still recommend the chalet for any family that would like to go there. Its just that I would like to have the expectations set straight :

The really good - location
Its abt 4-5 minutes walking from Interlaken West station and is situation right next to a river connected from the dam. As a result of this, you can hear the water rushing out of the room all day and night which is quite a change from your city life! There is a denner's grocery shop not even a minute away from the chalet that can help you stock up on your daily needs.

The Good - Matt
The owner Matt, is a charming fellow who takes care to ensure that he does everything he can to make your stay comfortable. Right from the helpful tips he sets up in the house to the detailed messages laid out for recycling, He even helped us with a weighing scale to help ensure that our bags dont cross the weight limit at the airport counter

The stuff that can be improved -

1. The house : The house is a 200 year old wooden building. While this gives the house a lot of character it also presents a problem if you happen to be a light sleeper. When ever some one walked across the hallway, I woke up. Not only does the sound of your family walking, wake you up, when people on the floor above us moved around, the evidence was well quite evident. I cant begin to imagine, the trouble we may have caused to the fellows living on the ground floor when we moved around.

2. The individual rooms dont have any locks on them which becomes irritating when you may be looking for some privacy. Also the locks on the doors are the really old ones that jut out when open. More than once I bumped into these.

3. The approach road : Not much that can be done by Matt here but the approach road involves a short gravel path which is a pain if you are dragging large pieces of luggage. As indicated by a previous reviewer, hauling your luggage to the first floor is no joy either.

The apartment is well equipped with a fridge, microwave, gas range (electric stove and oven), dish washer, toaster, coffee machine, washing machine, dryer, iron, a tv and a mini hi-fi. I really liked that a mini hi-fi was made available. May be Matt could leave an aux cable so that we can connect our mp3 players as well. The collection of books and magazines in the study seemed excellent but it was a pity that I didnt know the language. The kitchen had all possible utensils setup as well.

Overall our experience was pleasant and I was greatly helped by the reviews on trip advisor but I thought it was important to bring some perspective.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing