We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great City break”
other travellers have booked this property
The CityChalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The CityChalet
Living room Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
The CityChalet
Living room
Dining area
The fully equipped Kitchen
A double bedroom
Another double bedroom
The triple bedroom
A Bathroom
The other Bathroom
Corner view
Front View
View from the Garden
A lovely Sunset
Winter mood
A perfect winter day
Summer garden view
View from the garden on the Jungfrau
Winter garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Kanchana...
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great City break”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were a group of 9 with 4 children and in this brand new fully furnished apartment with another family. The chalet had 5 bedrooms on two floors and could sleep up to 11 people. It was clean and fully furnished which included all the necessities for a self catering apartment. Located in the heart of Interlaken which meant only 2 mins walk to the centre. Small corner shop which stocked everything just round the corner. The owners live right next door who dealt with problems immediately on our request. Very spacious and had a TV which kept the kids entertained. Amazing place to cook and wash clothes as they had washer /driers. Overall a place we would definitely come again when visiting Switzerland.

Wi-fi wasn't very efficient which was the only downside to the whole place. Could do with a mirror somewhere else in the house as the bathrooms were the only places which had them and getting ready was time consuming with many in the chalet all going into the 2 bathrooms and they would often be steamed up with showers etc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bijoy M
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Antique charm”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in the city chalet historic in the second week of April. The exterior is as depicted in the pictures. The rooms are a little old but quite ok . There are 4 bedrooms in all. Two bedrooms have a view of the river. The apartment feels very cozy although the temperatures dipped to 4-5°C in the night. Thankfully the bathrooms are modern. The kitchen is well equipped.
Pros : location
Beside the river, close to the station (400m) and has a supermarket outside the gate, Denner. There is a Sri Lankan grocery store a little ahead which stock's frozen parathas.
Cons : old property. It's aptly called historic!
The floor creaks when you walk. May be a trouble for light sleepers.
No facilities for early check in.
The cab ride for 2 mins was 16CHF,when we got the luggage. Not sure if that was right.
Room tips
Not sure If they give the top floor on rent, if they do, would probably choose that.
City chalet, the other apartment with the same owners is on the same property. All of those look more modern... Except you won't hear or see the river from your room.
Owner: Matt Horn is a nice gentleman, he met us a couple of days after we checked in. Typical Swiss humour..
Suggestions
The lawn could be better..

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xq22
dubai
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Nice Nice!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment.. 4 adults 3 kids 1 infant

was perfect

loved the space. we were on the ground floor chalet so had access to the garden..kids loved kicking their football around there

mountain views probably better from the first floor chalets..but hey we didnt have to carry our luggage up!

kitchen well equipped. if u are planning to cook(especially indian food)...all the required utensils are there..so dont carry stuff!!!!

there is a denner supermarket within the same apartment complex and an asian store nearby, hence supplies are no problems at all

the chalet admin provides basic amenities for the first day, beyond which a trip to Denner supermarket i required..no big deal.

would have been nice to have a safe..we left our passports in our suitcases and things were fine..Switzerland being Switzerland!

The management were very courteous, lovable couple Matt and Christina as well as their parents....genuinely nice people

THOROUGHLY recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wan A
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We consist of 7 adults stay in this place after travelling from the city of London. Once we arrived, the view outside this place was magnificent. We were given a ground floor apartment. Inside, there are 3 bedrooms with comfortable beds for each of us. The place was really clean and it is really large than i think it would be. There also about 3-5 minutes walk to interlaken west train station. Obviously a great place to stay. I definitely will recommend my relatives and friends to stay here if they want to go to swiss

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annepat8
Exeter, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We were an extended family of 8 adults, travelling through 3 European countries. We were looking for a home to rent in central Switzerland to use as our main base. From there, we took day trips by train to various parts of Switzerland. The location of the City Chalet is excellent (close to train station and within walking distance to everything in Interlaken). There is a grocery store beside the chalet. All rooms have large windows that open so there is always fresh air coming in. The Aare river can be noisy in two of the bedrooms if your windows are open. One bedroom has a balcony. The kitchen had everything we needed. The two bathrooms were quite adequate. In the one, the shower door requires a repair. However, we found a way to keep it balanced. The laundry facilities took some getting used to. We are used to washing or drying a load of laundry in Canada in under an hour. Their machines certainly work differently. They take a lot longer. The price is quite reasonable, especially if you are sharing it with a family or several couples. It was wonderful to not have to move our luggage for a week! (The rest of our journey involved moving every couple of days.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Cleanliness, Cost
Liked least: Shower Door needs fixing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faizal033
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“awesome”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

absolutely superb-everything from the location to the owner to the apartment everything was fantastic.we stayed for a week last year &loved every minute of our stay.super market at doorstep was an added advantage.extremely clean and well maintained.highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saif H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Interlaken”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very nice chalet in center of Interlaken , prime location , very clean , super market and Resturants all very close to the chalet and the owner very helpful .
Defiantly it is my place in Interlaken .

ALshehi Family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing