We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Cozy, with, of course, Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walters Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We did select Walter's from a perspective of balancing our budget, having read all the reviews which talked about its value-for-money, but we were really happy with the spacious room and the hospitality Mr. Walter accorded us. You don't really expect Toblerone bars on the pillows welcoming you in a budget B&B! The beds were quite comfortable, wi-fi was free, the shared bathroom was clean, sufficient kitchen facilities available to make a decent dinner. Having to catch an early train, we were not able to experience the lavish breakfast for which Walter's B&B is famous. Guess we'll return for it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esskaywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Walters Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights in our europe trip.

Our room is quite big And spacious and the toilet is sparkly clean although it's a sharing toilet. The kitchen is fully equipped.

Mr Walters gave us a few tips on where and how to go to places and it was real helpful.

If i go Interlaken again, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rochaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Walters was certainly worth the stay. My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon, and it was our first stay in a hostel ever. We were pleased. Breakfast was awesome, and was big enough for lunch too. Not too far to walk to the train station, probably about 10 minutes, and close to the grocery store in two directions. Kitchen made it easy to walk to the Coop, and walk back and cook up a pizza or something else. Everything was Ikea, but clean and nice. We stayed in October, so it was starting to cool off, and there was beautiful foggy clouds that would hang low and looked very cool out the windows. We would certainly stay here again, given the price of everything else in Interlaken. We had a free boat trip that came with our train pass... Also really cool to go across Brienz on the boat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SmokeyBearVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were really pleased with Walters B&B. Our room was lovely and big (room number 9, downstairs) with 2 singles pushed together to make a double bed, and another single bed. We had our 2 little ones with us and were very comfortable here. The breakfasts were a real highlight and Walter provided rolls, bread, meat, and cheese so we could pack lunches each day, so breakfast plus lunch for only 7 francs!

The downstairs bathroom looks much newer and nicer than upstairs, and features a large shower, toilet, and sink in a lovely big room. Each level has a kitchen and ours had all the pots, pans, cutlery, dishes etc. that we could ever need. Walter also provided a fondue dinner one evening which was fun. There are local supermarkets within a 10-15 minute walk - a Coop in Matten, turning right out of the B&B, or the Coop at Interlaken train station in the opposite direction. The Matten Coop also has a lovely bakery across the street. There is a pizzeria restaurant up the street (one minute walk) with very family-friendly opening hours and a fantastic toys area for children.

Prices are 33 francs per person (or 28 francs if there are 4 of you sharing) and our baby was free, older child half price.

I am amazed that people are saying it is 5 minutes from the station - it took us 15 minutes and we are not that slow! Maybe 5 minutes if you run fast!
It was really convenient staying in Interlaken as the trains run up towards Jungfrau, or out to the valleys.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berkshire-Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Stayed 3 nights, and found Walter's extremely good value for money, in an otherwise expensive Interlaken. Walter Gschwend is quite a character, VERY helpful and informative, and his breakfast is simply top notch. Pity about the general neglect of the place though - cobwebs and dust everywhere, and the bathroom rather dirty. The rooms have been newly refurbished though, and is large and paradoxically spotless clean. Also - the ability to make free use of the guest kitchen, with fridge, stove, sink & microwave, makes Walter's extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BwanaSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Having read all the other reviews, I can only confirm that Walter is probably the best asset of Walter’s BnB. He makes you feel very welcome and yes, the breakfasts are the best, try the fabulous cheese fondue for supper (best deal in town) and indulge in making lunch out of your breakfast leftovers. We also used his laundry service – very fast & efficient. We had a room with 4 single beds (and there was only 2 of us). Was very quiet and although we had a shared bathroom - we ended up pretty much alone in ours. Free WiFi in room + a small desktop available to patrons. Clean towels & bedding but the bathroom itself and room carpeting could use a little sprucing up. Would we return – yes! and that is because of Walter himself. Hard to give a bad review once you met Walter.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This place was just great; Walter is a funny older gentlemen who will take care of you completely. The breakfast is great and he gives you bags to make lunches to take with you. Leave your laundry outside the door and poof! Two hours later it is back and folded! Interlaken is amazing, and Walter makes it his job to take care of his patrons.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandSteph10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#22 of 40 in Interlaken
182 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
1.6 km away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
1.0 km away
Happy Inn Lodge
Happy Inn Lodge
#17 of 46 in Interlaken
130 reviews
0.5 km away
Balmer's Hostel
Balmer's Hostel
#1 of 3 in Matten bei Interlaken
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walters Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walters Bed and Breakfast

Address: Oelestrasse 35, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: $95 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Walters Hotel Interlaken
Walters b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing