We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
0
1
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
6
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

They say if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything...
...
...
...
Ok, I t wasn't terrible. The other reviews (even the old ones) are on point. Barflys make it unpleasant to use the front door. The towels were threadbare. The bathroom was large. The wifi worked now. Breakfast was poor. If it hadn't been part of a package we would not have chosen it. It's very ripe for a makeover TV show. Having said all of that, Meiringen is a nice little town and the hotel's location near the station is good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

for the price one could expect a lot more!! The service is extremely slow, breakfast minimalistic and cheap and the overall charm is the one of a furnished shipping container!

We had the impression, their shutting this hotel down soon, because nobody will come here a second time!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Sven Jan Hiltbr... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

This is not what you think of when you picture Switzerland. While the hotel has a little check-in table tucked in by a staircase, you actually go into the adjacent restaurant to do so. There, the staff is busy serving endless beers to the smoking guests (smoke outside but it wafts in through the door) and will give you your keys and wifi codes for a wifi system that had been down for days when we were there. What a silly charade. When we asked them to help us with wifi, they admitted it had been down. That's not the end of the world in a pretty little town (free wifi at the nearby train station) it was the lie that I didn't like. The rooms are clean and large and the bathrooms were actually really nice and big. The downer was the lack of character. The "period" furnishings, framed posters from Kmart circa 1980, threadbare towels didn't help. They don't tell you, but there's an elevator that's part of the neighboring office complex that you can use, or carry your luggage up 3 flights of stairs past shabby landings with an armoire with a broken mirror and dusty furniture. The breakfast was ok with breads, croissant, meats, yogurt, juice, fresh fruit, though when I walked into the kitchen to find someone about coffee it smelled of cigarette smoke. This place has potential with its great location and actually nice staff but you don't really feel welcome. It would be a great specimen for one of those TV makeover shows.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WugMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2015

I spent one night in this hotel whilst walking in Switzerland. My room was spacious with a sizeable en-suite and a comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful, but the service in the restaurant was very slow which detracted from the otherwise good meal. The problem appeared to be the fact that only one waitress was serving all the tables. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maxtonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2014

I was booked into this hotel as part of a tour package, so I had no choice. On the positive side, the hotel was located right in the center of town and just a block from the train station. This was helpful as I had my luggage to carry from the train.

The hotel itself was clean, but very dated. From the furniture to the bathroom, everything felt like a flashback to the 70's. The TV was basically useless, not that I had come to Switzerland to watch TV, but if you did want to watch TV, this was not the place. The staff was friendly and the one meal we ate in the restaurant was decent, but not great.

If you got a really good price, this hotel might be worth it. However, considering how many great local hotels/inns there are in Switzerland, you can certainly do better than this one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews