We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food - Friendly Staff!”

Hotel Restaurant Baeren
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$42
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Regional, seasonal and fresh We will treat you to regional and international delicacies in our Restaurant Baren, Wengen. Our dishes are prepared using fresh and seasonal regional produce. Vegetarians and lovers of fish will also find some dishes here. To accompany your meals, we serve numerous fine speciality wines from Switzerland. A fine meal with friends Celebrate a birthday quietly or in style with many friends. Raise your glasses to a successful business year. Maybe a romantic dinner for two. Our restaurant can accommodate your very personal needs. Mountain air and active living promote a healthy appetite Definitely a case for the Baren kitchen. Our experienced team will solve your case with culinary finesse and quality ingredients. A taste experience for those who delight in variety. The result: Regional and original, a modern interpretation. Wine for every taste In our cellars you will only find fine European wines. We focus on Switzerland, Italy, France and Spain. There is something here for every taste and budget. We are happy to give you a recommendation and all of our wines are also available to take with you.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed at a self catering apartment nearby the Baeren for a week in August.

We treated ourself to dinner take-away from there one evening and breakfast on our last morning of vacation, both were fantastic! The staff were so friendly and accommodating for families, and it’s very convenient that there is a playground next door!

Be sure to try any of the lamb dishes, you won’t be disappointed- and the homemade jambs at breakfast along with make your own mimosas, what more can you ask for!?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Stephanie M
Thank you for the nice review & thank you very much for choosing our restaurant during your stay in Wengen.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your take-away dinner from Bären Restaurant and a varied & rich breakfast buffet we serve from 7.30 - 11.30 am.We pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive staff, so thank you for the wonderful feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from the mountains.
Therese & Willy Brunner and THE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 327 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2018

we celebrated my milestone birthday at Restaurant Baeren. The service was excellent-similar to 4 star hotel restaurants and the food was outstanding. When told by my friends it was my birthday, the wait staff put birthday decorations out, immediately chilled champagne and served candles on my dessert and sang Happy Birthday. The outside of the hotel and restaurant is unassuming and not that attractive, but don't let that put you off eating at this fantastic restaurant. on a mid day evening in September the restaurant was packed! our hotel in Wengen recommended it and they were right!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank shawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We are happy you celebrated your birthday at Restaurant Baeren.
We appreciate your recommendation to other travellers and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed
Best regards and greetings from the mountains
Willy Brunner & the Bären Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

My wife and i recently enjoyed and excellent meal here. One of our best in Switzerland. I had the incredible veal in pepper sauce which i would recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank conorm845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Thank you for your nice review and for the compliments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner at Restaurant Bären and we could spoil you with our dishes, swiss wines and service!
We look forward to having you in our house again soon.
Therese Brunner & your Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Agree with all other reviews. Great value for Switzerland. Nice restaurant, extremely helpful and attentive staff. Went out of way to attend to partner’s gluten free needs. Good house wines

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank B00597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your great feedback and amazing rating. It is a pleasure to read, that you enjoyed our service in our restaurant that much. We can host glutenfree guests with no problem.
We are glad that you could enjoy your visit
We look forward to your next visit
Best greets from Wengen
The Baeren-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Really excellent service, even though we hadn’t booked and the place was full. The staff here are the best we had the joy of being attended to in Switzerland. The food was delicious and if we’re ever back in Wengen, dinner here is a definite. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sandybhamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Baeren also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing