We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Westley T
New York, United States

Best Meal I Had In Wengen

Review of Hotel Berghaus
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 24, 2023
I happened to walk by this hotel and thought the menu looked thoughtful, so we came back in the evening and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, using local ingredients and stepping outside the typical touristy fare you'll find elsewhere. Simone made us feel welcome and also gave some great advice about the local area. Maybe when we come back we'll stay at the hotel so the food is never far away :)
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$1,016
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$954
  • Agoda.com
    C$870
  • Hotels.com
    C$980
0.1 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Pool
C$809
  • Expedia.com
    C$819
  • Agoda.com
    C$693
  • Hotels.com
    C$819
0.2 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$543
  • Expedia.com
    C$538
  • Hotels.com
    C$529
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$462
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$474
  • Destinia.com
    C$389
  • Hotels.com
    C$419
0.4 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$525
  • Hotels.com
    C$561
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Hotel Berghaus
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$474
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$482
0.5 km from Hotel Berghaus
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$461
  • Agoda.com
    C$361
  • Hotels.com
    C$443
0.4 km from Hotel Berghaus
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Wengen
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
171
29
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
29
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board family run daily breakfast stunning views breakfast and dinner every evening yogurt bread boiled eggs four courses i highly recommend this hotel bernese oberland the hotel offers fantastic hotel wengen station soups comfortable rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 205 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2023

This hotel checks every box. First location- postcard view across a field looking at snow capped mountains.also around the corner from the cable car. We reserved early and got a large corner room with large windows and 2 private balconies- but any room for here would be lovely. The staff are friendly and competent. The owner, Martina, is hands on, gives great recommendations and is just lovely. Meals are served inside and outside on their large terrace.Breakfasts include all the items you would expect at a continental breakfast in Switzerland including fresh fruit cup every day. We did the half board every day! We hiked extensively, rested in late afternoon and walked downstairs in flip flops for a new 4 course dinner every night! Courses ranged from very good to excellent- and we are gourmet cooks! The wine list was extensive and affordable. I can’t offer one caution except that the towels were hand dried, so they aren’t the lush Turkish towels you might be used to. We were fine with them- and they had crisp linens on the table at every meal. We hate to leave but will have many memories from our stay here.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annabel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2023

Nice - not more. The décor reminds old people homes, the towels are unbearable (we actually went out and bought a towel), breakfast is very standard and basic. Staff helpful and nice. Lobby was locked in the evening which was very disappointing.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Date42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2023 via mobile

Cozy family-run small hotel with excellent restaurant and superlative views. We never stay anyplace else when we come to Wengen! Rooms are comfortable and well cared-for, and have the amenities you really need (space, great views on the Jungfrau, minibar, drying rack, TV we never watch, hairdryer). Cozy and welcoming dining and common rooms are family friendly and great for meeting fellow travelers or catching up with the wonderful proprietress, Martina. Restaurant focuses on local fish specialties and offers a nice list of well selected Twanner wines — however the Chateaubriand is also excellent (book in advance). A must in Wengen!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 552ampz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 10, 2023 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant - snails in a nice cheese and garlic sauce followed by a perfect chateaubriand. This is a family run restaurant with a very relaxed atmosphere, but the food is high-end and good value. An excellent bottle of Pinot Noir completed our meal and we we very satisfied with our evening. Wonderful.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank weizen_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2022

Hotel Berghaus is located in the lovely village of Wengen, Switzerland. The location is perfect if you want to explore the Bernese Oberland region. You can easily access the train and gondola and be quickly off on your adventures. The hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms with a view you cannot beat. The daily breakfast and dinners are amazing. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful offering tips on hikes and activities in the area. This is my third stay at this fantastic hotel and I can't wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews