We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Hotel Schonegg

Hotel Schonegg
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$105
Cuisines: European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Our Swiss Chef Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi offers a refined kitchen, with national classic sents inspired by mediteranian cuisine benefiting from his Italian roots. The cosy Restaurant 1903 all in old wood opens only in the evening, in summer these dishes are as well served on our panoramic terrasse if weather permits. Opening hours summer & winter 18:30 – 22:00
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Hotel booked by Macs Adventures. Lovely room on first floor opening onto large shared verandah. Spacious breakfast room. Nice lounge area with complimentary Nespresso machine and tea making facility plus honesty bar. Great sauna Pleasant helpful staff. Good but pricey restaurant (as are all restaurants in Switzerland). Would stay again without hesitation

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank B00597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline O, Manager at Hotel Schonegg, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

good evening from Wengen,

thank you very much for your Review here on tripadvisor.
We were very happy welcoming yout to Wengen on your hike through the Jungfrau Region.

We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

best regards from Wengen and be back soon,

Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Hosts - Managers - Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. The staff could not have been more friendly and the food at breakfast and dinner was delicious! Would definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to return soon!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jwhgranite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline O, Manager at Hotel Schonegg, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Good evening from Wengen dear Jwhgranite,

thank you for your stay with us here at the Schönegg Wengen.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

Be back soon in the sunny Bernese Oberland.

thanks,
Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Hosts - Managers - Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We are privileged to own a chalet in Wengen and have just spent a week here hiking and enjoying being in the mountains. It also meant we were able to eat out at some of our favourite restaurants and this included the Schonegg 1903; a truly fine dining experience in the Alps. We have eaten here on a number of occasions before but not for some years and possibly not since the re-branding to 1903. (The Schonegg also have a more casual restaurant.)
The 1903 fine dining room is authentically rustic yet intimate with a classic white theme from the linen tablecloths, to the candles, and the fresh flowers. Our table at the window afforded views down the Main Street in Wengen with the mountains as a backdrop.
The service from the attentive and polite staff was excellent as was the food we enjoyed. We were offered a very tasty tomato and feta amuse bouche while we waited for our orders to be placed. I had the cold char fillet with avocado cream for starter followed by the delicious pork entrecôte with red cabbage purée (smooth and divine) and tonkabean sauce. My wife had the Irish rack of lamb with aubergine caviar and feta which was also very good. I chose the cheese selection which was excellent and my wife enjoyed the puff pastry with vanilla cream and raspberries; “the best I have tasted this whole season”. The Spanish red wine by the glass was very good. Excellent coffee and presentation of cream and sugar!
Highly recommended and suggest you book to avoid disappointment!
(See my other reviews for favourite Wengen restaurants and some you may wish to avoid!)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline O, Manager at Hotel Schonegg, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear GCR484,

thank you very much for your visit at the Restaurant 1903 in the Hotel Schönegg.
It was a great pleasure welcoming you. Thank you for taking the time to write this detailled Review here on tripadvisor.
It makes us feel very happy that you enjoyed the time with us.
You motivate us to go further - thank you for your message.

We do hope to be able to welcoming you back to the Schönegg soon.

Best regards from Wengen,

Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Hosts - Managers - Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

My wife and I ate here twice and were seated outside by the fountain both times - perfect. The chicken and pork belly were our favorites. Also, the service was excellent, and we enjoyed talking to our waitresses who were intelligent and had a great sense of humor. And try the chocolate ice cream, which was possibly the richest, darkest chocolate ice cream I have ever had, and I've been to Italy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline O, Manager at Hotel Schonegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Dannis F,

thank you very much for your Review here on tripadvisor.
We were very happy welcoming you twice to our terrace Restaurant.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the Food and Drinks.

Our homemade icecream, especially the swiss chocolate one, is indeed something very nice.
I will let our Pastry Chef know, she will be more than happy.

Come back soon, best regards,

Caroline Ogi & Syvlain Stefanazzi Ogi
Hosts - Managers - Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We stayed at Hotel Schonegg during our stay in Wengen. We enjoyed a late night dinner, with a DJ. The restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor seating options. Definitely sit outside if the weather is nice!
The service and food were both wonderful. I got a vegetarian dish and was very pleased with the flavors.
Great food in a lovely atmosphere with stunning views of Jungfrau, Monch and Eiger.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lauragY6842YG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline O, Manager at Hotel Schonegg, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear Laura G,

first of all thank you very much for your Review here on tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed dinner with us at the Schönegg.

During summer evenings we really get wonderful views towards the mounatins and we are very happy that you were able to enjoy one of these Special evenings.

Come back soon! Best regards from Wengen,

Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Hosts - Managers - Head Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Schonegg also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Schonegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing