We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AP_Phoenix
Scottsdale, Arizona

Charming and cozy, good views

Review of Hotel Schönegg
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 24, 2024via mobile
Charming, fabulous location. Lovely staff at front desk and bar/restaurant. I had a tiny single room but it was cozy and all I needed for a wonderful stay in this beautiful village. Had breakfast everyday on property and one dinner in the hotel restaurant.. all very good. They have a lovely terrace to enjoy views when the weather permits it. I would stay here again.

Note it is a 5+ minute walk from the train and a slight uphill climb to the hotel. But if you have a lot of luggage there is a cart that will take you up or down.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$632
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$632
0.1 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$425
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$425
0.4 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$549
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$508
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$508
0.3 km from Hotel Schönegg
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$577
  • Expedia.com
    C$627
0.2 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$772
  • Expedia.com
    C$798
0.3 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$450
  • Expedia.com
    C$493
0.2 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,428
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel Schönegg
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel Schönegg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wengen
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
319
43
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
319
43
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate rooms bernese oberland first floor an incredible view alpine village family room kleine scheidegg swiss alps switzerland dinner balcony views jenny gondola bunk cars cable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 376 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2024

Really friendly staff, comfortable room with a superb view over Wengen towards the mountains, excellent breakfast, really less than 5 minutes from the railway station and 2 mins to the Mannlichen cable car. What's not to like?

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jestyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 8, 2023

By far my favorite hotel during our hiking trip through the Bernese Oberland. We had a long day hiking and arrived to our bags already in our room. Not sure what distinguishes a 3- versus 4-star hotel, but we felt this could be 4-star. Very comfortable room with a BATHTUB (yay!) and a lovely balcony overlooking the town. The staff were wonderful and we had the BEST dinner. Wish we could have spent more time exploring this lovely town.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2023

We were there during the unusually hot weather this summer, so some aspects probably don't reflect on the general nature of the hotel.

Lovely and helpful front desk staff took great care of us and our luggage. The on-site bar and restaurant are both high-quality with a wide selection. The restaurant seating outside was ideal. That said, service was a bit slow the night we were there.
Breakfast in the morning had all the things you needed.

Our specific room was pretty tight for two people. I don't have the reservation information on what type of room it was unfortunately. Just know that the small rooms are, well, small.

View from our little porch looking out over the village and to the mountains was amazing.

Room tip: Small rooms are small.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2023

We were so pleased with our stay at Hotel Schonegg when visiting the Wengen area. We were in one of the suites, which had a huge bathroom, and a gorgeous balcony in which we could sit and watch the town square, and enjoy the background views of the mountains. The hotel is historic - you'll have actual keys and not a key card, and you'll walk a lot of stairs, but that's the charm of this place. Beware, there's no air conditioning, with most of the time is fine, but we visited during a heat spell, and the room became 80+ degrees. The management team bought us a fan and set it up in our room to help relieve some of the daytime heat, which was so appreciated! Also, their restaurant, 1908, is terrific, and definitely worth enjoying while visiting.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kg30345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2023 via mobile

A charming hotel in the centre of town. Excellent food on lovely outside patio. Also a huge veranda in front of our rooms from which to behold the mighty Jungfrau. Very good advice from the charming landlady and a very good breakfast the next morning. Wengen is cool as no cars.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Voyageurzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews