We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Marmota

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wengen, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stargurl1...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed in the studio apartment and it was lovely. The view was spectacular, the balcony was perfect and the sheep with the bells were beyond quaint. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. The one negative was that the bed was actually a couch the folded into a bed. It was very uncomfortable and hard. For the price paid I expected a real bed. I also found the photos a little deceptive in that regard as one photo showed the bed as a couch and another as a bed which gave the impression that there was a bed and a couch. Another piece of constructive criticism is that as we arrived late we had to do self check-in, however we were not informed of that fact until the day-of. I was lucky I was able to log into wifi to get the information. I should have been sent that information much in advance. Also budget 25 franks for a taxi ride back to the drain. Dragging luggage down was fine but up is extremely difficult. Other than that everything was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2018
Hi Erzebet,

Really pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and found the views spectacular and the apartment clean with everything you needed. The studio apartment in Chalet Marmota isn't available on Tripadvisor but available privately at a rate of CHF 100.- per night. We display photos on our own website of the sofa bed as a sofa as well as a bed to most accurately portray it and I am sorry to hear you found this deceptive. Check-in is at our offices during opening hours. Guests arriving late are asked to inform us in advance so we can make prior arrangements but we are also happy to provide last minute information in case of last minute change of plans or delays. Our phone outside our office is available to reach us on 24/7.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next holiday in Wengen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazcraig
France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The view from the balcony is just amazing and by far the reason for renting here. Be aware of the steep walk up into the village.The chalet was adequate but on arrival there was no coffee perculator, together with other small items and some of the cooking utensils in the drawer were dirty, However when we told the office the items were immediately repaced without question. There are four bedrooms for eight guests, however there is only one arm chair, a small double sofa and an Ikea type rocking chair, in the lounge area to relax in the evening. There are in addition several bean bags, ( but not everyone wants to sit/lay on the floor!). For our family the biggest drawback was the studio, which is shown as next to the Chalet. It is however part of the same building, has the same access from the footpath but a seperate entry. It share's the same balcony without any partition and we felt uncomfortable. If you wished to sit out at night to "watch the stars" and have a drink, it wasn't possible because you were conscious of making any noise as "the neighbours" were in bed. Because of this I wouldn't return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasen I
1 review
“The Magic Mountain”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Chalet Marmota offers some of the most mesmerizing views you can get in the Jungfrau region of the Swiss Alps. With a large terrace over-viewing the Lauterbrunnen valley and waterfalls you wouldn't even want to do après-ski elsewhere, trust me! The cozy wooden interior and the sauna just add to an already unforgettable experience.
There is a 7-8 minutes walk uphill in the morning to the Alpine train station in Wengen but that just powers you up for a great skiing day!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibill
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Panoramic View Breathtaking”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a glorious week here with husband, kids and grandkids. We had access to plenty of memorable trails. The chalet and next door studio was plenty big for all of us and we loved eating our dinners on the balcony outside. The store was a steep 15 minute walk into town but was not a bother. We loved the Berghaus Hotel for our last dinner after a hefty thunderstorm. The pool close to the Beausite Hotel offered a picturesque afternoon and a reprieve from the warm temperatures we were having. I would have given the chalet 5 stars except I would not classify it as "luxury". It was definitely adequate though and we loved our week staying here. The Eiger Station to Wengernalp Station hike was superb and the next day we started at Wengernalp to end in Wengen and the bottom half of #42 was well worth the hike! The Swiss run a top notch rail system!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The panoramic view was incredible and the location was a nice change
Liked least: The quality of the chalet furnishings were not luxury as advertised.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing