We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Swiss Alpine Hotel”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel--lovely and well situated. Edith and Oliver couldn't be better hosts. Our room under the eves had exactly the clean Swiss lines and fabulous view that we look for in the Alps. The food was delicious. The service friendly, helpful and unpretentious. The train up to Arosa is also part of the adventure. The skiing (less than a five minute from the hotel to the lifts) was excellent, varied and, of course, the landscape breathtaking. We want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

My boyfriend and I had 4 wonderful days at the Astoria. Oliver and Edith were excellent hosts and the hotel staff were friendly and efficient.

We decided on the full board with dinner and breakfast included, and did not regret it. The 5 course means were delicious and perfectly proportioned. The highlight was definitely Wednesday night's extravaganza - and should not be missed if you can manage it.

We had a beautiful clean room, with a spectacular view of the mountains and a gorgeous four poster bed. The spa was also great for our sore muscles after the first few days of skiing.

We both would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning ourselves next year. Thanks Oliver and Edith!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saunderskirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Originally booked at thr 5 star tschuggen in arosa however reviews of Astoria too good to ignore . Last night tonight - its been fantastic , team are so helpful and genuine. Rooms immaculately clean, dinner and breakfast overwhelming in choice and excellent quality

We tobaganned this evening and walked back to hotel after an our - Oliver ( owner) actually came to look for us as concerned we were lost- incredible service and care

5 minute walk from ski lift and enter of town too.

Restaurant also popular with locals - how can you top it ? We travel lots and like our 5star hotels - I have no reservation in recommending Astoria and it's team . Looking at dates to rebook for 2013

Fabulous

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Astoria Hotel is a family run hotel in this charming mountain resort in Switzerland. The hotel has been in the family for 3 generations and maintains a personal service that makes it feel like visiting friends, which it has become now. Rooms are all clean and comfortable and the food is varied and excellent. The final proof is that many of the other residents we meet each year are the same as previous years. The best recommendation is repeat business.

Room Tip: Choose balcony and morning sun. Go for half-board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ath34tic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Loved Arosa and the hotel Astoria! We just got back from a wonderful week of family skiing in Arosa! Edith and Oliver are wonderful hosts . We stayed in a family room that was perfect for our family. The 5 course dinners every night and the wonderful breakfast Including bacon and eggs were enjoyed by all. My husband and I enjoyed the spa and hot tub at the end of the day as did the kids. We also enjoyed our pre dinner drink by the fire in the beautiful bar area. My boys played pool and foosball every night in the game room too. We ended our stay with a horse drawn sleigh ride and decided to book again for next year since we had such a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It is rare today to find a Hotel where the emphasis is on service rather than purely costs, we found the Hotel Astoria to provide without question those little extras that makes for an enjoyable stay in a homely atmosphere. With open views to the surrounding mountains its location is very central just a few minutes’ walk to the Train Station and free Bus that takes you around Arosa. However, if you have serious luggage the management will be happy to transport you just ask. Regarding food I would suggest half board with a good choice of evening meals that will equal the best restaurants in town, the Hotel also provides a full choice of breakfast from a healthy European selection to the traditional English breakfast with boiled egg, bacon and sausage if your waist line is no problem. Arosa is a must resort if you have never been and the Hotel Astoria is a must stay go on pack your luggage and enjoy .

Jeannie & John Stainer.

Room Tip: No Comment, no other rooms seen except No 16 which was excellent with village and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Stainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We are a family of 4 with children aged 3 and 7 years. Hotel Astoria was the perfect "home" away from home for us on our ski holiday. It is charming, clean, friendly, convenient, comfortable and provides a delicious breakfast buffet as well as an amazing 5 course meal at night. Quite honestly we could not have asked for anything more and as so many others have commented, Edith and Oliver are the absolute best Inn Keepers we have ever come across. They were professional yet warm and inviting and made us feel at home from day 1. We even ran into a problem with our daughters snow boots and they gave us a pair of their son's to use! Their pleasant and gracious hospitality provide a great role model for the rest of the staff who are all outstanding. It was heart warming to see how happy everyone is to work there.

We were there the week between Christmas and New Year and we felt like we had one celebration after the other. Starting off with the Christmas Gala Dinner, followed by a traditional Swiss night, a 70s Hippy Night, Sledding and Raclette.....every night something new and fun.

We also loved the fact that the hotel is small but includes a diverse clientele of couples, young families, local Swiss and international. It was evident that everyone staying there was as happy as we were!

We absolutely look forward to a return someday!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arosa hotels
1.5 km away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
1.1 km away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.4 km away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Golf-& Sport Hotel Hof Maran
0.4 km away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#4 of 35 in Arosa
106 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Hohe Promenade
Hotel Hohe Promenade
#8 of 35 in Arosa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Hotel Astoria | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arosa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#3 Family Hotel in Arosa
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#5 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $242 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is charming and elegant with high quality in Chalet style. 5-couse dinner, nice braekfast buffet with warm egg dishes. 2 whirlpools, sauna, steambath and fitness area and children's playroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing