We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
203
30
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
30
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room course meal small balcony each evening lovely hotel brilliant stay days walking poor weather five minute walk bed was very comfortable table football three star raclette booking process ski instructor band playing a family run hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 236 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

After poor weather last year we were determined to give Arosa another go especially with such a lovely hotel to stay at. It's a family run hotel which gives great personal service, very attentive and helpful. Evening meals are a real treat, at a bargain 35 CHF (well bargain for Switzerland!) for a 5 course meal. The Salmon, Chicken and Perch were particulary good. Made use of the Jacuzzi, Steam Room & Sauna which were perfect to wind down after a days walking. Hotel is easy to find near the Bahnhof. I'd highly recommend the hotel and Arosa, especially as you get an Arosa Card which gives you free access to the cable cars. A visit in Winter needs to be planned!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank the_holloways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 11 Aussies staying for a sporting competition in magnificent Arosa. The staff, managed by an amazing family looked after us and made us feel extremely welcome. This is a great family owned and run hotel. We will not hesitate to stay again when we are back on Arosa! Thank you Hotel Astoria!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 372damianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Hotel Astoria is my favorite hotel in the world! It is not fancy or grand, but it has comfort, warmth and peace.
It is a five minute walk to the ski lifts.
The food is extraordinary: For breakfast there is a buffet with a wide selection of the best of Swiss cheeses some local from Arosa, freshly made croissants to die for, a wide selection of freshly baked Swiss breads, and eggs to order. They also have cold meats, muesli, cereals, yogurt etc.
For dinner they serve a five course gourmet meal every night with a vegetarian option and usually a fish option. We are Kosher light and have no difficulty. Their menu rotates weekly so if you stay for a week you will get a different dinner each evening.
They have different activities in the evenings including live music.
The rooms vary with the least expensive being small, but they are all immaculately clean, with wonderful beds, and total quiet in the rooms.
They also have a spa - wellness area with a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and massage chair. You can be in the sauna and look out the windows overlooking the alps and their garden where deer often pass.
And finally what raises the experience of staying at the Astoria to such a high level is the hospitality and overall helpfulness of the Schmid Family who own and run the hotel. They treat their guests like their family.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaifaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We booked to stayed at Hotel Astoria in mid January (3 nights) on the strength of previous reviews and it certainly lived up to all the wonderful comments and is deserving of its great rating. The owners are fantastic, very welcoming, going the extra mile to ensure we had the best experience of Arosa. Even before we got there, during the booking process, they were very helpful and easy to deal with.
We are a family of 4 (2 teenage daughters) and on arrival were upgraded to the family suite on the bottom floor. (thank you so much Oliver and Edith!) It was perfect for us. A foyer area to unload boots, coats, bags etc, a separate lounge space, 2 bedrooms with plenty of storage space, very comfortable beds and pillows, good size bathroom with heated floor, very cosy without being overheated. Right next to the spa area.
Food is delicious and plentiful. Dinners were divine. Breakfast buffet providing plenty of fuel for a day of skiing. There is a lovely bar area as well. Nice wine, beer (and gin!) selection. Loved that the food and wine included local choices.
All other staff looked after us very well and were very friendly and accommodating. It is a place you are made feel immediately very comfortable and welcome.
It is a short walk to the ski lifts, we hired ski gear from Luzi sport located directly beside the chairlift where you could ski to the door when finished and store gear overnight. Really very easy. Also we had a very skilled and patient ski instructor, hired via Luzi (scheesportlehrer) - Jurgen who deserves a mention - awesome guy!
We are not the most experienced skiers and this was our first overseas trip as a family. Arosa was in our last week of a 5 week trip of Switzerland, France, Italy. We loved Arosa and especially loved staying at Hotel Astoria. It's a beautifully maintained hotel but more importantly you feel relaxed the moment you step through the door. These people know how to do hospitality!
We would most certainly visit again and would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

Room tip: Our room was on the bottom floor, really very quiet with direct access outside which would be handy in the warmer months.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneswam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived late, snowing and tired to this little oasis of the warmest welcome from the owners, of this gem of a hotel.
Fantastic warm, friendly, generous vibe. Loved it!!!!!!
Nothing was too much trouble and felt like we were ‘at home’ straight away.
Beautiful Mountain View to rear and lovely bathroom. Room was lovely and warm at all times, super appreciated as it was freezing outside. No scrimping for extra profit here.
So sad they were fully booked and we had to stay at nearby 4* which was so disappointing compared to this lovely place.... loved it and highly, highly recommend.
Breakfast was utterly superb

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VickyD690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews