We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
23
58
65
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
58
65
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor mobility problems some tlc heritage hotel the ground floor lovely city sized room reception staff were very friendly excellent location comfortable beds the hotel staff old city church bells comfortable hotel stayed one night yogurt elevator
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Everything that can go wrong with a hotel room, did go wrong here. The floor made a squeaking noise every time we walked. The bed was too soft and we got a bad back and neck ache from just one night of sleeping. It was extremely noisy at night and there were loud noises from the street coming in till 3am. The whole room shook every 10 minutes when someone else on the floor closed their door. Just one common bathroom between 2 floors which ensured that on every visit to the loo someone would knock and rush you. And worse of all a rude receptionist with no empathy for any of our concerns.

Chur city was beautiful and we mostly walked around and avoided being in the room. There are many better options at a cheaper cost very near by, so best to avoid this hotel entirely.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amr_purk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

This hotel is located on the outskirts of the old town about 10 minutes level walk from the main station. It is not suitable for people with mobility problems as the reception is located up a flight of stairs on the first floor above the restaurant. Access to the other floors is by a lift which is specified as being able to cope with 4 persons, but, in reality, can only comfortably take one and an average sized suitacase or two freindly people. The rooms vary in size and, from previous experience, i know that not all of them have en suite facilities, so you will need to specify these if you do not wish to share. The rooms have TV. The beds are comforatble and there is adequate provision for clothes storage, usually in old fashioned wardrobes or chests of drawers. However, the decor is beginning to show its age and could do with some tlc in places. Breakfast, taken in the well lit room opposite reception is of a comprehensive continental variety with cereal, cold meats, cheese, fruit, bread and rolls, tea, coffee and fruit juices. there is also scrambled egg and frankfurter style sausages. The restaurant is on the ground floor and because it is in a preserved section of the building tends to be gloomy, but the menu has a reasonable choice of dishes but i cannot speak for the wine list as I do not drink. I found the staff pleasant, efficient, and capable and most were able to speak English. One final word of advice - if you need to plug in electrical appliances of your own Swiss sockets will not accept a standard adaptor, being hexagonal in shape with a very flat triangle of points. Adaptors in the major chains retail at about £15 each!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Serviceminded staff, clean room and a fantastic location. Lots of restaurants close to the hotel. and lots of shops in walking distance. The old town is very beautiful and offers a lot to see. The only negative part are all the church bells that you hear every 15 minutes.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Plimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

This is really close to the train station, the shops and the old city. It is an old style hotel but it's position explains the prices as the quality does not really match. It needs to spend some money on bathrooms as more is expected in 2018. Beds fine. Breakfast was OK and the serving staff friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MDMAW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

To me, be it a five star or 2 star hotel, the service offered by the frontline people is very important. After dragging our luggages to this hotel, we were so exhausted and on seeing the long stairways we have to make to get to the reception, we were only greeted by a rude person at the reception. She was shouting away telling us to bring the luggages up to the upper floor in order to get to the lift to our rooms. Luckily, the restaurant manager who heard the commotions came out to help us. However, the other 2 staffs on duty on the next day were nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and rooms were comfortable. The restaurant food is to our liking and reasonably priced.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank maryhwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews