We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
1
10
2
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
10
2
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in September 2014 and we were pleasantly surprised. We walked from the train station (took a good 20 minutes a bit uphill, but it is do-able. (We are senior persons). Okay there were a few tattoo places and some clubs or bars, but we saw no-one dodgy or anything to be scared of. It is a pleasant walk into the Old Town, and there are quite a few take-away type places nearby for a meal.
The hotel itself I thought was actually quite attractive from the outside, and yes, the bar looked a little old and worn, but the whole place had character. Our room was much more than we had expected, comfortable bed, spacious room, little short on amenities as in glasses, but we borrowed some from the bar. Bedside lamps and nice TV, wardrobe space, desk and chair, and the place was meticulously clean. There was a low beam hubby had to be a little cautious of though. Bathroom was basic but clean and functional. Free Wi Fi worked well too.
Only real set-back was that there was no lift and we had to have a room on the 3rd floor as all others booked. So 3 flights (senior persons) with heavy bags was a challenge. The reception staff were very helpful and did offer to help, but big male hubby could not let the female staff lug our heavy bags, but it was nice they offered. All in all, we really wished we had an extra night here, but due to other bookings we only had one night. Chur itself was an absolutely fantastic place, and we could easily have spent a couple of days around there - Old Town was just divine, and the place wasn't nearly as crowded as other tourist places.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ozzielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2014

It looks pretty terrible from outside and even worse whenyou walk in!
But the rooms very excellent generally, great beds, nice clean modern bathrooms.
Double glazing works well. Wifi was good.
Close to old town shopping and eateries.
The area looks dudious with red light areas but we had zero problems even late at night.
Reception staff do not apeak English.....so book ahead.

Room Tip: Front street view
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RANDC347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Not impressed, next to nightclubs, sex shop and other dubious activities. Handy tattoo parlour though nearby ! You have to walk past all of these to get into the town . Nice clean and spacious room but felt I was entering a run down pub. Bikers seem to be welcomed judging by the poster in the bar. Did not feel comfortable here. On a main road, traffic noise and drinkers noise into the early hours. Not suitable if you have heavy cases as no lift.
Only stayed here 1 night fortunately. Worth paying extra and stay elsewhwere

Room Tip: No comment
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeybee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed one night here. The room we were in had been refurbished very recently with all new furniture and decor so very good. Curtains a bit thin but not really a problem. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. Very close to old town. About 15 to 20 minute walk to main railway station

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Mike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is a bit of a way (uphill) from the railway station but very close to the lovely old town so we took a bus. It was very easy.
Yes the hotel is over a bar and the bar has a partitioned section for smokers but this wan't a problem at all. There is a side door if you don't want to walk through the bar and we certainly didn't suffer from any noise even though the world cup was on.
The room was basic but clean and comfortable with a large, clean, modern bathroom - more a wetroom really.
The surrounding area looks a bit dodgy at first with clubs, bars and the like but there was no noise and we didn't feel uncomfortable.
We were travelling around and stayed in several hotels in Switzerland and think that this was value for money for the area.
The staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews