We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
25
56
22
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
56
22
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift minute walk bernina express old town nice place to stay heavy suitcases train station historic building small hotel pretty town top floor third floor no air conditioning next morning coffee machine stayed one night yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We stayed one night here to catch a train the next morning. The hotel was absolutely spotless, staff friendly and the rooms adequate. This is a very small hotel and we absolutely loved the vibe. There was no air conditioning which we knew when we booked and the room was very warm. We were on the third floor. There was a fan provided which helped out a lot in the evening. Breakfast was very adequate with cereal, yogurt, breads and some meats.

I have two things I was not happy with. For the amount of money we paid for the room I was disappointed with a few of the amenities. There were no sheets on the bed. There was a cover over the mattress pad that was very warm and no top sheet at all. Again, our room was very was warm so this made it worse. Secondly, there were two comforters folded at the end of the bed to use as covers, the bed was not made. Maybe we were to bring our own sheets but this was never communicated to us or listed on their Website. The bathroom amenities were very sparse as well. The shampoo came in a squeeze packet (one packet) and the soaps were all liquids. This is fine but there were no wash cloths to use with the liquid soaps.

I don’t think any of this is a reason to not stay here but I would have liked to have know before our stay.

Room tip: Bring your own sheets, wash cloths and shampoo
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katheb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Nice historic hotel in downtown Chur and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. My wife had hip surgery a few months before our trip and host moved our room to a lower floor without a fuss. I would recommend this hotel in the future and would look forward to visiting again.

Room tip: Rooms are small, but comfortable
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

My wife and I stayed in Chur overnight before embarking on the Bernina Express and were looking for somewhere reasonably cheap but nonetheless comfortable before an enforced early start. We arrived in Chur at the station itself so there was a 10-15 minute walk from there to the hotel itself, although it is slightly uphill the gradient is not serious, cobbles of course remain good fun for those with suitcases on wheels !! The hotel is in the old part of Chur which is really very charming and well worth a visit. We arrived within our projected arrival time but had to wait a few minutes for the receptionist to arrive, again nothing serious.
The reception for the hotel is on the first floor (a bar and restaurant being on the ground floor) and although we knew from advance information that there was no lift available it really isn’t very much fun at all if you have heavy suitcases.
The receptionist was very helpful, checking in and other administration was both quick and no problem whatsoever, they were also happy to arrange an early breakfast or packed alternative due to our early start.
We had a room on the top floor and, although a little basic with a very small bathroom (toilet logistics were a little challenging), it was very pleasant and clean with a nice view over the town, the lovely little square outside and the mountains in the distance.
No air conditioning was available but a tall rotating fan kept the temperature pleasant enough; WiFi strength was fine throughout our stay with no reliability problems encountered.
There was no safe or tea/coffee facilities in the room itself although there was a coffee machine (Nescafe-pod type) in the hallway outside utilising an honesty billing setup.
The breakfast was of the standard European type and although basic certainly hit the spot.
Check out was handled quickly and efficiently with no surprises – Switzerland is not exactly cheap at any time but this hotel was really quite reasonable.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

I love this place. I am a fan of both the Medieval times and the Renaissance period. This place is a joy. Nicely restored, you can still see the old world craftsmanship everywhere. Look at the furniture and stained glass windows throughout. Just a glorious tribute to centuries ago. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise! Quick 10 minute walk into the old town and here you are! Wonderful old historic building with fantastic welcome service by Jenny!
Room is simple no cigarette smell up here on third floor. Bed is comfort and room is clean. TV, WiFi and full small bath all fine for two people.
We loved it here, fantastic food! Wish we planned for two days after taking Bernina Express up here!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews