We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price/Quality Ratio”
Review of Hotel Arte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arte
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Price/Quality Ratio”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I am coming to St Moritz for 30 years and as I move out of my appartment, I went in February to the Hotel Arte.

The hotel is quiet very nice, very clean and beautifully decorated. We had the Venitian room.

The service is friendly is excellent and we extended our stay at the same internet rate. The manager was hadsome speaking 4 or 5 languages . It is a nice boutique hotel that my wife and I recommend

We like also the two restaurants, the unexpensive Pizzeria for locals and the Gastronomic Italian ones, are good and compared yto the St. Moritz prices affordable.
.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerovital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    35
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
60
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
all over the place
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We booked this hotel for one night for the Engadin cross country skiing marathon because of the good location. The staff spoke little English but they were helpful. The rooms were clean and yes they are themed. We got the California one. The manager was nice and arranged for the marathon people an earlier than usual breakfast. One thing to complain though... if you wanted to take a shower around 9-10 pm there was no hot water, quite annoying. And there was no internet available either.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

What a terrible hotel. I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. When we arrived in min-afternoon there was no one there to check us in. We had to call someone to come and let us in, which took well over an hour, wasting our valuable time. I’d booked the room for 2 but the hotel manager, who was some Eastern European woman, insisted that we pay more money for the second person – my partner. However, we had no choice as if we went to a different hotel we’d have still been charged so we had to stay the night.

The hotel manager was very rude. Her customer care skills were nil and we ended up wasting a lot of time attempting to get into our room. All of which made this a nasty experience.

The lady who made breakfast was nice and made a effort - she probably felt embarrassed for the way we’d been treated.

Luckily (with reference to the other reviews) we stayed there on a Monday when the Pizza house was closed so we were spared the noise, so it seems.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

First off: Themed Rooms. Yes, every room has a theme, as in Egypt, India, etc. These are not sprawling suites and nor are the decorations elaborate, but with an towards the artist, the walls of each room, and sometimes furniture/fabric-colors, depict another of the world's exciting locations. (Think "Pyramids" for Egypt, "Taj Mahal" for India, etc). The rooms are complete with quality wooden furnishings, beds and linens and exceptionally clean modern bathrooms. A small table, 2 chairs, and a TV round out your room.
The hotel has no real lobby or reception, but instead has a good pizza restaurant (also the breakfast room) that is essentially run by the same few hotel staff. Pizza was very good, prices affordable (well, in relation to St. Moritz or to Switzerland in general).
Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The location is a big asset: center of town in the middle of the action of St. Moritz. All the designer shops are on the streets outside the hotel. The nightclubs (King's Club, Diamond, pubs) are all a few feet away. The main gondola/funicular up to Corviglia (center of St. Moritz mountain) couldn't be much closer, just 200m away through the village streets.
The price was good, in comparison with others in St. Moritz. Outside of St. Moritz, this would be overpriced, but St. Moritz really is a world on a different playing field, as you'll discover.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2008

This was a good hotel, very friendly staff, very helpful. Pretty central to everything we needed or wanted. Clean and cmomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This hotel is centrally located and everything is in walking distance. My room was good but the downside of the hotel is that it is above a very noisy late night pizzeria. The problems is that it is open until 1 am and there is music and noise coming into the hotel until that time.

Also the breakfast was very disappointing and the worst I had in Switzerland. There was one dinner size plate of cheese out for everybody and it had about 8 paces of cut cheese on it. The bread at breakfast was only the store bought soft square sandwich bread that no one in their right mind eats anymore.

The lady maintaining the breakfast area gave me one cup of coffee and then sat across the room and just stared at me while I was eating. It made me feel very uncomfortable and I got out of there as fast as I could.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. If I went back to this city I would do everything I could to stay somewhere else but if I had to I could stay here again.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the noise until late at night
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muri
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Noise from discoteque in basement makes proper sleep and relaxing holidays impossible. Sorry.

  • Disliked — Noisy, cramped, no good
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
143 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
131 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
0.5 km away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
181 reviews
0.2 km away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Property: Hotel Arte
Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Moritz, the enigmatic address in the magnificent mountains of the Upper Engadine, stands for cosmopolitan diversity. This is the standard that we have also taken up at our Hotel Arte. Each of the nine rooms has its own history. The rooms individual interiors represent a country or a part of the world. Take a little trip around the world - one click on a picture on the left picture rail will take you directly into a room of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing