We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff, 3 star room, 2 star food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star staff, 3 star room, 2 star food”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

GOOD POINTS -
Excellent staff: attentive, accomodating, friendly and yet did not give the feeling at all of being 'in your face'. They really do their jobs very well.
Beautiful interior which is clearly taken care of extremely well.
Beautiful location with delightful view overlooking the lake.
BAD POINTS -
Small rooms (ours was a 'double superior'), bathroom was the worst point, smaller than a travel-lodge and in serious need of renovation (step back to the 70s). The size issue is forgivable in a building of this character, however the renovation issue is not forgivable in a hotel at this star-rating / cost.
Poor food for this type of hotel (we stayed half-board and regretted it). Food was not bad, but only average. Alot of effort made on the ingredients and presentation, but on the whole tasteless and uninspired. A couple of dishes approached 'good' and we enjoyed, but on the whole way below standard compared to other fine hotels in switzerland. Regarding breakfast choice is limited, and we never managed to find a bread roll or croissant that was fresh, this was a particularly poor point.
OVERALL -
If you want to stay in a great location in a beautiful building, wonderful view, and don't mind a small room and down-market bathroom, and don't want to eat at the hotel (lots of great restaurants in Lugano), then this will be ok for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xp1352HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    49
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
76
186
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were traveling around Europe with 4 friends and we were all really looking forward to our night of luxury at this hotel.
Unfortunately, the shower in our room was broken and we couldn't use the it or the bath. The staff were unable to get it fixed and were not at all sympathetic that this was a major inconvenience to us.
We were offered a bathroom in a very small room several minutes walk away from our superior room. There was no offer of any compensation for this.
Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miffer319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed for 5 days and enjoyed everything about this hotel. The rooms are fully renovated with a wonderful view of the lake. There is a tennis court and nice indoor swimming pool and under ground car parking. The staff is just great, friendly and ready to help to whatever you request.

If we are back to Lugano we will definitely be back hear.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Fabulous hotel, staff very kind and helpfull. Great view on the lake, very confortable room with lots of space. The swimming pool open on the garden is magnifiscent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

For the first time I was there we stayed only 1 night and I was very sorry I hadn’t got enough time to enjoy it. It is very elegant and sophisticated hotel. Starting with the big reception space, through the even larger saloon for a nightcap or a conversation by the fire in the open fireplace, to the dinner À la Carte in the separated part of the restaurant with crystal glasses and discrete service. I had a fish in a salt crust, but it was simply not salty enough. Strange. Room service is fast and helpful.
Only thing that is not for recommendation is arriving in the middle of the night. It is possible, but there is just one guy wake and he is in stress because he has to take care of you, luggage, car, keys, room … and all that at the same time.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,546 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The Grand Hotel really has been a "Grand Hotel" - at its time!!!

For sure the Grand Hotel offers you great lake view even the loacations is a bit out of town and you need a car/taxi to reach center. But at nearly € 400/night I do expect a bit more than great views.

We've been shown to a Suite at the 5th floor (which is under the roof) and we've been shocked by the bathroom and toilet: even in my student time I didn't have such a bathroom, without windows, scratched marble look wallpaper on walls and ceilings... Therefore we denied the "upgrade" and insisted on a Deluxe room. The room we've been shown to was located on the 4th floor (which looks party renovated). The room itself, except that the TV was smalish and there was no way to blind the morning sun out, has been quite nice. But again, the bathroom has been renovated in the 60s or 70s last time (even the bathroom door couldn't be locked!).

The breakfast starts at 07:00 but when we arrived 07:15 half of the items was still missing (but each bread and croissant had a swiss flag). When we had to leave at 07:45 the rest of the buffet arrived.

The hotel doesn't allow dogs - which I could understrand when they would have great furniture and carpets. But at the Grand Hotel where everything is run down I really can't undertstand that policy.

When we checked out we informed that we didn't like the standard of the hotel, that it's more like 3 star (max.!). The receptionist told us to write to the management so they know. She said: the more guests complain the faster the management is willing to give money for renovation. WOW!!!

So, when in Lugano, don't stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We came here 10 years ago for our honeymoon and it took far too long to return !Villa castagnola has everything you could want for a special occasion.Without being in any way snobby this place really is olde world Swiss excellence.
This time we stayed in a junior suite, but I remember that even our " normal " room 10 years ago was beautiful, amply big enough.This time we had an enormous balcony as well, lovely, quiet , overlooking the beautiful gardens and with lake view , super.
We came for a gourmet stay, it was not that expensive compared to what we would pay like for like in UK.
The gourmet dinner was just out of this world, my husband thinks that he does not like pigeon and rabbit, both of which were on the menu, he enjoyed the meal as much as I did.! I think it really was the best meal I have ever eaten in my life.

Villa Castagnola is superbly placed, the lakeside pavillion, where you can lie in luxuury
and just pop into the warm lake when you feel like it , , is great. What a place to relax, read, sleep. And there are so many beautiful walks and boat trips to take, all withi easy distance of Castagnola.
I will forever be grateful to the lady in the Swiss centre in London who , when I asked "where is a good place for a honeymoon in Lugarno ? " replied " There is only one place to go in Lugarno, and that is Grand hotel Villa Castagnola !"
Please do not go there if you want built in entertainment or lively night life, but if you want perfect food, service and a really peaceful few days, then check it out.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
566 reviews
1.6 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.6 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 46 in Lugano
511 reviews
2.7 km away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 46 in Lugano
132 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing