We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. For a city with mostly overpriced 3 to 4 star hotels this place is a good find. We got upgraded on arrival, breakfast was great, free parking, free wifi, rooms are awesome, location is good, views are great..... What else can I say. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    240
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
95
297
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My ideal location, just next to the train station. 15mints walk to the downtown. The room i stayed has been recently renovated, I like the colour, It make me feel comfortable. Want to thanks Nicola, a lovely young lady working at Front Desk. She is so friendly and helpful !

Room Tip: The new renovated room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol_Ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Service in Europe tends to be poor, though I am pleased to say Switzerland is generally an exception. THIS hotel is especially so. It’s one of my favourite experiences in a European hotel.

We arrived very early but were immediately shown to a top floor room, with beautiful views of the lake from our little terrace. The linen was clean and fresh, and the room immaculate as is so often the case in Switzerland. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and had a wonderful, restful time. Great way to start a trip and recover from a long international flight.

I totally recommend it. The room was 260 francs, which I think is quite expensive, but I'd rather pay 260 for something decent than less for something awful (which is what happened at many hotels afterwards on our European trip)

Room Tip: Try get a top floor room NOT in the annex. The view of the lake is great, and all the main hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in the main part of the hotel. We arrived early and were allowed to check in, which was wonderful. The size of the room was good, especially by European standards. The room was spotless and repleat with clever Swiss conveniences. Our room had been beautifully renovated and the decor was up-to-date and tasteful. The elevators were new and well maintained. There was a lovely view of the city and lake below. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the station. The room was well insulated and we slept soundly on the crisp clean linen. The staff were very courteous and helpful without being effusive. The meals were simple and fresh. Breakfast was a little unimaginative and as is often the case in Europe it was carbohydrate heavy, with few protein options. We noticed that the hotel has a stunning swimming pool and garden, though we were unable to use the pool as we stayed in the Winter. I cannot vouch for the Annexe as we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were 3 guys in a big deluxe room for a night in Lugano, the hotel was clean and luxuries, it is very centrally located near the lake and is next to the train station. The staff seemed nice and it is a value for your money. The prices are moderate and it was a very positive overall experience.

Room Tip: take the room in the 1st floor in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravJauhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early October 2011. We had booked a basic room in the main building of the hotel, but the hotel had lost the reservation. After a few minutes of searching, they found the reservation and apologized for the delay with an upgraded room. When we walked in the door of our room and opened the patio doors, we were floored with the spectacular view of Lugano, the lake and the mountains. We spent 8 nights in Switzerland, and this was by far our favourite hotel of the trip.

Room: In a word, outstanding. Our 3rd floor room overlooking Lugano was exceptionally clean (which applied to most of Switzerland) and very large with high ceilings. Most of the time we spent in the room was spent on the patio taking in the scenery.

Location: Literally located at the end of the Lugano train station platforms, it was less than a 5 minute walk to the funicular which would whisk you down the hill into the town. A walk from the hotel down into town would be a very pleasant 10-15 minutes. From the room, we weren't bothered by the sounds of the trains going by.

Amenities: Free and strong/fast wi-fi in the room was a nice touch. Included breakfast was really nice with high end pastries, meats/cheeses, good coffee and a variety of fruits and yogurts. Hotel had a very nice looking bar and exceptionally maintained grounds giving it a spa feel. We loved having an in-room mini fridge for the two days as we used the patio as a place to eat and drink wine.

Staff: All very friendly and helpful and spoke exceptional English.

Value: Outstanding (but we did get a room way above what we paid for).

Room Tip: If your budget can afford it, go for a room on the front of the main hotel building with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halifaxns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
301 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This beautiful old mansion is a wonderful hotel for anyone, especially those traveling to Lugano by train. The hotel is easy walking distance from the train station. It overlooks Lake Lugano, and it's very convenient to downtown Lugano via funicular in the train station.

Their website explains the history of the hotel buildings. They still have a small vineyard and make some specialty wines. Unlike most European hotels, the hotel has a swimming pool and gardens to wander around in. The rooms were also quite generous in size. Our room opened out onto a large balcony, shared by about 10 rooms.

Everything was squeaky clean and the receptionists were very accommodating. The breakfast is a huge buffet in the dining room overlooking the lake. A computer with internet access was available in the lobby (actually in a hallway just off the lobby).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 km away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel International au Lac
1.1 km away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing