We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
326
234
68
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
234
68
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room indoor and outdoor pools huge bedroom ac unit small kitchen the hotel sits astonishing view booked a standard room fitness center lake lugano upgraded to a suite bottle of prosecco surrounding mountains bit outdated a great stay per day close to train station
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 665 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We spent a week in a junior suite. Plenty of space, balcony to enjoy view, air con, bedroom had a choice of comfort pillows, lovely bathroom (didn't think their products were good for the quality of the hotel). Kitchen but no utensils/ crockery if you wanted to eat in. Well equipped gym. We had a couples massage which was relaxing. Great selection for breakfast. Very attentive staff. Nice walk into the city and easy bus ride home if you were tired.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2016

Dear Deborah b,
Thank you for your lovely review and your positive thoughts following your recent stay at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.
We are thrilled to hear that the hotel and the team have exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you once again and we hope to have pleasure to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Room was huge, but air condition doesn't cool the bedroom. Water doesn't drain well from the shower. They still use a real key! Don't lose it! Great restaurants on property for breakfast and dinner. Spectacular morning and evening views. Pool was also nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear Scott B
Thank you for having stayed at the Villa Sassa Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear about the problems with the room, but it would have been sufficient to advise the reception and our maintenance team would have resolved any problem. On a better note thank you for your appreciation of our Restaurants “ai Giardini di Sassa” with its 14 point Gault & Millau Rating.
We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel.
Yours Faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

This hotel is good enough but suffers from being an exhausting climb from Piazza Riforrma, where you want to be in this lovely town of Lugano.

From the restaurant you get a lovely view of the town and lake. The food is good but the careless attitude of some of the waiters is a put off. Rather than stand 6 feet away from our table and joke rudely they could have done that a little further away from us.

Room Tip: Suitable for elderly crowd who prefer a quiet hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear M J
Thank you for having stayed at the Villa Sassa Hotel.
We are very happy that you appreciated the services of our hotel and we apologize profoundly for the behavior of the waiting staff during your meal. This episode was an isolated case and will not happen again.
We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel
Yours Faithfully
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We staid for a long weekend in Sassa and enjoyed every minute there! Amazing view on mountains from our room terrace , same beautiful view opens from the restaurant while having delicious breakfast. Staff was always very pleasant and helpful, room was cleaned every day. Price is quite high for this hotel but rooms are not modern.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Victoria D ,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review following your recent stay.
On behalf of entire Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016

We stayed here with our children (ages 13, 10, 8) in a 2 bedroom apartment with Lake Views. The kids really enjoyed the pool. There are nice views from the pool area of the town and Lake Lugano. The gym was very expansive as well.

It is about a 10 - 15 minute walk into town down some steep steps or switchbacks. We didn't mind because the location was worth the views. When we arrived we were picked up by the complimentary shuttle at the train station. I would recommend booking the shuttle when you settle on your time. Our family filled it up, and on our return we had to leave about 25 minutes earlier for the train than we planned since the shuttle was already reserved for another party.

Our room was clean and spacious with a great views of the lake from the veranda. There is air conditioning in the living area. I read an earlier review complaining about lack of air con in the bedrooms. They are definitely warm if it's hot outside, but we opened the windows and were fine.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was expansive and we all enjoyed it. We found a table the first day, but the second morning a lot of people were wandering around trying to find a table. We ultimately had to split up. We had dinner one night on the Terrace. Food and service were great. There were a lot of yellow jackets flying around the table and I was a bit nervous as they were pretty aggressive and my kids have never been stung, so I was worried of them having an allergic reaction if bit. We had friends visit in June and said they didn't notice any flying around, so it must be the time of year. We had the same issue at breakfast, but fortunately no stings!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkfam765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TicinoHotelsGroupSA, Direttore at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear mkfam765,
Thank you for taking your time to share your review following your recent stay.
Our team here at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests.
On behalf of entire Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, I would like to thank you once again for your lovely comments about our team and property and we are looking forward to your return visit to pamper you ones more with great hospitality.
Kind Regards
Francesco B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews