We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For fans of bad taste...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria au Lac
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For fans of bad taste...”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

La qualité de cet hôtel est son emplacement, face au lac et au jet d'eau... là s'arrêtent les points positifs. La réception de l'hôtel est un musée en soi du mauvais goût et à l'image du reste. Une espèce de "culte" du propriétaire a lieu partout dans l'hôtel avec des photos et des tableaux de lui et de son fils, façon Louis XIV... c'est presque à en rire. Le déjeuner très pauvre... et la cerise sur le gâteau est le cabaret et bar à champagne situé dans l'hôtel. A éviter en tous cas en famille.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    45
    71
    37
    32
See reviews for
32
85
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I reserved this hotel with some "reservations" since there were several reviewers who were disgusted with the decor of the hotel. But I figured, why not give it a try? The price was right, the location was excellent for what I wanted. So we went, we stayed and we have to agree that the decor has serious issues. There are major interior design flaws: conflicts in color matches and choices of design elements, some minor items need repair, and some of their design picks are not very functional (lack of shower curtain). But if you can look past that, you will realize you are staying in an classy, old Victorian hotel, right on the lake, with sensational lake views right out the little balcony. The architecture of the building is actually quite beautiful, so in our lake-view room, we had tall windows, high ceilings and a spacious room with 2 wardrobes, table and chairs. The breakfast room was an old Victorian drawing room with ornate mouldings (though badly offset with tacky gold tinsel balls hanging from the ceiling). Still, the overall value is good for Lugano, Switzerland. This is a very pricey area, since you are staying on what may be one of the most beautiful places you've ever seen. So keep that in mind. If it would drive you nuts to live with yellow walls, flowery orangey curtains, purple blanket, blue linens and red carpet, then stay elsewhere. If you have a sense of humor and just want a great view and good price in Lugano, then just go with it and laugh about the tacky stuff.

Room Tip: Well worth it to get a lake view room, which is spacious, with a stunning lake view. Avoid lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elimar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

First of all let me just say that the location of this hotel is just perfect! I will agree with other reviewers in that the noise of the club downstairs was annoying but we were so tired we fell asleep pretty fast. If you are staying for longer than one night though, it might be a problem.The bed was very uncomfortable for me, but that depends on one's preference. Breakfast I thought was very good, everything from fresh breads, croissants, cereal to cold cuts, cheeses, and all kinds of spreads. The decoration tops everything off! Very heavy set furniture, mirrors, chandeliers, you name it! You have to laugh about it cause if you don't it could get creepy!I have never seen anything like it!Overall, it was clean, cheaper than other and the view of the lake is superb!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank despina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I did a lot of searching before i chose this hotel. I new what I wanted- on the lake, and walking distance to restarants and shops. This place filled the bill. It was clean, and service was great. The restaurant on site was quite good. The room was small- but that's Europe- the view and little balcony made up for it! Breakfast was included - your standard european fare - all fresh, meats, cheeses fruits and breads. Got a huge kick out of the owner - who has dubbed himself a "Lord" - what a riot.
Ferry stop was right across the street - hop on and go anywhere on the lake. Walk to the shops downtown - 15 mins or just take a stroll around the lake. Gorgeous Lake Lugano.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a lake view and ask for a balcony. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
865 reviews
483 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Hotel was opposite lake (main entrance was on the other side of building) about 10 minutes walk along lake to the centre. We were offered a (small) lake view room for the same price as a non lake view room. We opted to take that although the weather was so bad it didn't really make a difference. The room was indeed small and rather cramped as was the bathroom. There wasn't much space to lay things down. The room was ok but needed maintenance on the furniture and in the tap and shower fitting in the bathroom. Parking was in a secure garage which even needed a key to go down in the lift to the parking level, excellent! There was a service laundry almost next door which was a little pricey but very convenient. The main restaurant on the first floor seemed to be closed but at the lake side of the hotel there was an Italian restaurant which was pretty good. Breakfast was also served there, just watch your step as you walk from the hotel through the night club to get to the restaurant!!! Only complaint about the restaurant was the number of birds trying to pinch food from the buffet! Hotel was very pricey for what it was, but we found that all over Switzerland. Between hotel and food and drink prices and having to pay for the vignette it will be a while before we visit Switzerland again even although we love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

STAYED IN A CRAZILY OVERPRICED LAKE FACING ROOM WITH MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER! She loved it but I found the hotel old, musty and seriously lacking in functionality. The bathroom was straight out of the 1950s but was adequately sized.The shower served its purpose but the toilet seat in brilliant blue was a bit excessive! The bedroom itself had superb, large, old fashioned closets and antique furniture but the beds were neither large nor comfortable. Once again, my daughter probably disagrees with my assessment! The buffet breakfast was pretty decent and the breakfast room with tables on an open verandah overlooking Lake Lugano was old-fashioned but unique! The front desk was staffed by a girl from one of the Russian republics, her manner can be best described as DISINTERESTED ...thats kind on my part!! The hotel's saving graces were a tiny balcony outside our room...great for an evening drink overlooking the gorgeous lake view and a very efficient serving staff (two girls) at breakfast. Even the elevator in the hotel is terribly inaccessible...almost an afterthought one thought. If all 260- plus- chf- hotel rooms in Lugano are like the one I stayed in, I'm afraid Swiss tourism isn"t too standard -concious!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
235 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The hotel is situated near the lake of Lugano. It's situated in almost center of Lugano. Nice value for food and serv ices. The smelling in the hotel is very pleasant, and despite the night club located on the ground floor of the hotel we didn't hear any noise despite the fact that the door was open and the spectacle just began.

Room Tip: Room with a lake view for an extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.1 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
350 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
320 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
460 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria au Lac

Property: Hotel Victoria au Lac
Address: Riva Paradiso 2b ingresso da Via G.Guisan 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Au Lac Lugano
Victoria Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing