We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
ocala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a very wonderful stay in this impeccable hotel. It's location was near the train station, about a 10 minute walk (although they have a small car to pick you up or will pay the taxi for you). The hotel has a cozy fireplace and bar as well. Our room was on the top floor "facing" the Matterhorn. Fabulous view morning and evening! The room was very spacious and the bathroom was sufficient. Breakfast was very good and plenty also. In all a very pleasant stay. If we ever go back we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killer9857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    59
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
55
184
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Phoenix for 1 night in January. The hotel is located walking distance into town and the train station. The hotel provides a free taxi service to and from the train station on arrival/departure. On arrival, we called the hotel from the free phone at the Tourist Information Centre at the train station and were given details of which taxi to catch. We recieved a friendly welcome on arrival to the hotel and were upgraded to a Superior Room. The room was modern, clean, large and had a view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast was included in the price. Overall, we would definately recommend staying at this new, modern hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed in Hotel Phoenix during ski vacation in February 2012. Hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean with a balcony providing a nice view to the Matterhorn. Breakfast variety perfect in my opinion.
As for me, the room was slightly overheated whereas my girlfriend found it to be just right so I believe this is a matter of personal preference.
Tastful hotel bar and lounge area with chimney fire.
Hotel provides ski storage room with ski boot heating as well as free transfer from and to the station.
I highly recommend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amateurtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

For the second half of our ski vacation, we found the Hotel Phoenix, just a short walk from the center of downtown Zermatt and the rail station. We were greeted right off the bat with an upgrade to a superior room (the mid-level) from our reserved standard room. This was a great fit for our admittedly American hotel standards. The room had what I believe was a king size bed (although it appears that in Switzerland and much of Europe, the "king size" bed is actually two twins pushed together). This wasn't too bad though, because there wasn't an obvious 'seam' between the two, and my husband and I slept well, especially after long skiing days.

Included in the room rate was a full Swiss breakfast each morning, consisting of a selection of breads, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, meats, juice, water, milk, and coffee. Pretty much anything one might need before heading out to the slopes.

While there was no dinner/restaurant in the hotel, there was a lovely lounge with a warm fireplace and a full bar. On our last night, when my husband and I had gotten a little weary of eating out every night, we brought back a few snacks from the grocery store and enjoyed them by the fire with a couple of glasses of wine. It was a great end to a great ski vacation.

There is a ski storage room on the main level for storing skis and boots which was a great convenience. Also, the hotel is located just one block up the hill from the free ski bus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I agree with other positive reviewers. Staff was very helpful to me, for example in locating the dentist and listening to the voice mail message in German to confirm office hours. Two small complaints: wi fi only works downstairs in the lobby (but works well there.) In room internet is wired, not good for iPads. Also, the bath tubs are very slippery and narrower than American tubs. They would benefit from rubber mats for safety. The location is ok (and the view possible only because of the location on the hillside) but not "ideally situated" for convenience. The bus stop for ski bus is just at the bottom of the hill which is good. The bahnhof is about 7-8 mins brisk walk downhill then uphill and the restaurants, shops are mostly further south from there. If being central is important, or on the level relative to the center of Zermatt, Hotel Phoenix will not suit. Otherwise, its lovely. No meals offered here except breakfast. There are a couple restaurants on the hillside nearby.

Room Tip: I had a deluxe room on the SW corner of the hotel, 404. These rooms have a round window walled exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in Hotel Phoenix,Zermatt during our winter vacation in January 2012 for 5 nights. Room was clean, breakfast was hearty & good variety, people were very friendly, especially Jessica & the owner Josef.. Hotel will also provide free transfer from Zermatt station to hotel & back.
Hotel location is good, few minutes walk to Sunnegga station,plus there is a bus stop nearby pick us to all ski stations. We had a enjoyable & wonderful stay during our 5 nights & will definitely come back again . Tan Jasmine Singapore

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JasmineSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I loved the construction of this hotel, they cut no corners with materials or craftsmanship. It is beautifully made of stone and wood and tastefully done. The views from the first floor bar, the bottom floor breakfast area, and from our third floor corner room were fantastic. Our balcony had a direct view of the Matterhorn, a nice sight each morning!

Josef was great, we enjoyed coming back from the slopes and sitting by the bar on the first floor and having an afternoon coffee or beer with him discussing the day's events. He makes sure all his guests are completely taken care of and comfortable, but gives you some space to enjoy your time in Zermatt at your own pace. His recommendations for restaurants were spot on, and I appreciated him directing us away from a few places that we considered, so that we could find spots that suited our needs better. My correspondence with Jessica and Josef ahead of our visit was very pleasant. They were quick to answer my questions and make suggestions to suite our needs as a party of three, a tough number for hotel stays. The ski storage area was convenient as well.

The Swiss are legendary for their hoteliers and Josef keeps the tradition alive. The Phoenix is a great place to stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: The third floor corner room with balcony was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.3 km away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.9 km away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 km away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing