We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel”
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europe Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Second year back to Zermatt. My husband and I could not stop rave about our stay at the Europe Hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in every way. We were there in early April for three days and stayed at the traditional building with the Matterhorn view and full-board. The view was spectacular and the room was comfortable and spotless. Even though it was a busy week, we never felt 'crowded' in the hotel. The library with fireplace was a nice room to relax. The individual ski locker had boot warmer and lockable with your room key. The size of the Jacuzzi was on the small side but it was nicely design and again, not so crowded.

Afternoon tea buffet had great selection of local tea. Of course there was the typical Swiss fruit pie 'kuchen' to go with the tea. We hanged out at the bar area for after ski Apéro. Breakfast buffet had a wide selection (more so than usual) and the most interesting was the 'cook it yourself' eggs and bacon station. Dinner and the wine list was outstanding. Since I don't eat meat the staff provided fish dishes for me both nights. The owner Marianne chatted with us both nights and you could tell how much she cared about the customers.

Note that we stayed at their Chalet Annelis last year because the hotel was sold out. We also loved the location (short walk to town and Europe Hotel), the view, the space and the price. Since it was managed by Europe Hotel, we had a great experience from reservation, check-in, check-out to baggage storage. it was a nice alternative not to be missed.

Room Tip: rooms with Matterhorn view if available
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Europe Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Once again in January my husband and I stayed at Hotel Europe for our ski holiday. This was a highlight of our trip to Europe from Australia, and makes those 28 hours on the plane all worth while. Living down under, we come for the snow, but there are many places to go to - Hotel Europe means we keep choosing Zermatt. We have been most remiss in not writing a review earlier than this.
Rudy and Marianne and their daughter Corinne are wonderful hosts, We felt like family, and that is one of the main reasons we keep coming back here. The staff at this hotel are warm, friendly, extrememely professional and no request is too much bother for them. From the reception staff and restaurant staff to the room attendants, all could not have been more helpful. Many staff are familiar faces from previous years, which says a lot in the hotel industry.
The food is simply delicious, varied and interesting. We stayed 3 weeks, and not once did we have a 'repeat meal'. The standard of cooking is world class. Thank you Alan, please never leave.
The spa facilities are extremely comfortable, and as Hotel Europe is a small establishment, never crowded. Doris the masseur was a wonderful help when returning after a heavy day of skiing. The hotel is set back from the main street, so quiet at night.
The facilities for skiing are great, lockers, change rooms, space to hang all your gear, and the hotel even prints up your ski pass so no need to waste time queing down in the town. My brother and his wife booked late to come to Zermatt, so stayed else where, as Hotel Europe was full, but were made welcome for a meal and drinks by Rudi, and were regretful about not being able to stay here. We showed them our glorious room and huge bathroom facilities and they were jealous. Sitting in the bar and library with a drink, warming in frontt of the gorgeous fire, they were sad to leave. Rudi and Marianne - thank you so much for your hospitality, and we will be returning here as soon as we can, bringing our brother and his wife with us. Kind regards, Mark and Christine O'Brien

Room Tip: All rooms are well furnished and quiet. The rooms with the Matterhorn view are also terrific, even...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joffagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

... the stay in this family hotel was unforgettable. It has to be noted that Hotel Europe was a 3 star-hotel for years, with the service of a 4-star one. With the new building and its fantastic architectural interior, it's now with no doubt one of the best 4-star in Zermatt.

This year, we even noticed an increase in the already excellent cuisine : the Chef prepared new original "recettes" : a great pleasure.

A special thanks to the receptionists who are - as always - very kind, smart and taking great care of visitors !

Michel Vuilleumier, Switzerland

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelVuilleumier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We travel to Zermatt at least once a year for many, many years and always stay in Europe Hotel & Spa! It is a fantastic place with a nice atmosphere, great food and extremely nice staff. We love the way Rudy and Marianne Julen treat their guests. Only last year the hotel was expanded with very nice rooms and a fantastic Spa & Wellness. A place worth visiting!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel Europe & Spa is without question a rare gem. Besides all of the comforts that my hotel room offered: down comforters on a comfortable bed, flat screen television, large bathtub, shower water pressure that is amazing, a spotlessly clean room (no chemical cleaning smell, too), Swiss chocolates at bed turn-down, desk for my laptop with free WiFi (fast connection speed, too), wooden hangers, the Hotel also has a Spa that is serene. It has a large Jacuzzi tub. Not your normal Jacuzzi tub, but more like a small heated pool that you can lay back on as if you were laying on a chaise lounge. It also has a steam bath that is the real deal. Rain showers, too, with lights that change colors while you're in the shower. You feel as if the Spa is your own when you're there. So quiet. And the best part of the Spa is that it is spotlessly clean, and without any toxic smelling cleaning chemicals. Breakfast was excellent. Fresh juices, breads, eggs, cheeses, teas, fruits, various granola mixes, and etc. Served in a beautiful room, too. Tables all have crisp linens. I am extremely fastidious with hotels regarding cleanliness, and this Hotel is beyond spotless. I could go on and on with all the attributes this Hotel has. I want to finish by saying the entire Hotel staff are professional, courteous, were are there for anything I needed immediately. Oh, and Rudy (the owner) is always there to greet you, and is as nice as one can be.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We discovered the Hotel Europe through TripAdvisor so thought it only fair that we share our fantastic experience there. Everything is as reported by others: friendly, helpful service; extremely comfortable, well appointed rooms (love the heated bathroom floors); terrific public rooms (the small library with fireplace was a great place to read after returning from the slopes or after dinner and the bar was lively without being the mob scene that much of Zermatt's apres ski drinking appeared to be); beautiful, clean spa. What I would like to emphasize was the superb quality of the food. My wife and I are unaccustomed to the European convention of taking one's dinner each night at one's hotel, and were sceptical that we would do so. After our first meal at the Hotel Europe, though, we knew that here was to need to look elsewhere: we stayed in Zermatt five nights and loved each of our five course meals prepared by the very talented young British chef and served so professionally by the friendly service team. The wine list was excellent and afforded the opportunity to explore Swiss wines by the glass, carafe, or bottle, as well as a delicious, fairly priced Querciabella Chianti. The Hotel Europe's self service salad buffet (3rd course at dinner) challenged all our anti-buffet dining prejudices with its variety and outstanding quality; the serve yourself bread and cheese platter were superb. The generosity and hospitality offered by the Julen's hotel is evident everywhere - from the copious breakfast buffet to the afternoon tea to the wifi. Go and marvel what a family dedicated to their craft can achieve!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel in Zermatt. We booked a package direct with the hotel which included half board, ski passes and massages, which worked really well. Highly impressed with all the staff - they couldn't have been more helpful and there were no language barriers as all spoke great English! The owners make a real effort to speak to all guests each night which makes you feel like a valued customer.
The room had very comfortable beds, was clean and comfortably furnished. Bath robes and slippers were provided for the spa. We had a room in the older part of the building with a view of the Matterhorn. The ensuite bathroom was large with a heated tile floor and the shower was very powerful.
The spa itself was amazing and we spent a few hours each day there as they also have a great relaxation room with drinks and snacks (nuts and dried fruit) available.
The 5 course evening meals were so good we never turned down a course. The service was extremely quick, the food varied and if you didn't like something on the menu they would provide an alternative.
Zermatt is a great resort and the hotel was conveniently placed for the ski buses - must take these or quite a long walk in ski boots!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARUM_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 km away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
450 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
611 reviews
0.7 km away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
785 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
496 reviews
0.4 km away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $256 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Zermatt
Europe Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing