We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
26
34
13
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
34
13
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful viewwinesbalconydifficultytreatcereal
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2017

A visit to beautiful Switzerland was nearly ruined by the ungracious attitudes of a few of the staff members here. As is the case with many European hotels in the mountain regions, the bedding and pillows are stuffed with luxurious feathers. Unfortunately, as most people know these days, feather bedding can not only be uncomfortable, but highly dangerous, to those who suffer from allergies. That is why every reputable hotel either keeps an inventory of non-feather rooms available, or will change to non-feather bedding on request. And there is an art to changing the bedding, as feather allergens are airborne and any ruffling of feather pillows or comforters sends millions of particles into the air, which remain airborne for hours after the feather bedding is removed.

We checked into this hotel (party of three) as part of a tour group and immediately made a simple friendly request to have the bedding changed in our room. The staff member to whom we made our request immediately challenged it, asking “why?” in a demanding and confrontational tone. We patiently explained the situation, and she finally, reluctantly agreed to change the bedding… on one of the beds only. We explained that this was not acceptable, as the mere presence of feathers anywhere in the smaller confines of a hotel room still present a significant risk.
We were tired and needed to get into the room, but the process of arguing with staff about this issue took up a significant part of our afternoon. They seemed to be treating the issue as if we were in a position to bargain about how many beds actually needed to be changed. This was not debatable to us. A person’s airway can literally close in seconds as part of an allergic reaction to feathers. We were not prepared to accept a potentially life-threatening situation, when there was such an easy solution to the problem. After much talk, we thought we had finally rectified the situation, only to later enter our room to find staff members in there who seemed to be taking pleasure in deliberately pounding and ruffling the feather bedding as they changed it. We politely asked that they take precautions with it, and the two staff members in question (who spoke English to us earlier) chatted in German to each other, smirking and laughing in our faces as they continued to manhandle the feather bedding.

We did encounter staff who were sympathetic to our problem, and they did their best to help. But we also learned that the person who was the primary cause of our dissatisfaction has a reputation among the staff for being difficult to get along with, as we were told she is a close family member of either the owner or manager does what she wants.

That was a week ago, and although we are back from vacation now, since our episode in that room I am still experiencing severe breathing problems. We do not like giving one-star reviews, but in this case, we feel it is warranted. The effort it would have taken to address our concerns was minimal, and the refusal to do so, and the insolent attitude of some of the staff in responding to us, made our stay entirely miserable. Although some of the staff did their very best to counteract the reprehensible behavior we experienced, we cannot recommend this hotel at this time.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jonsu210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear jonsu210

Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback of our services.
I regret that you had trouble with the feather bedding and to be understood for your needs. We hope that you have had a safe journey home.

Best regards from Sarnen
Josef and Klara Inderbitzin, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights as we made Giswil our base. Giswil is centrally located to many cities so we decided to stay here. We were part of the Gem Tours (which I strongly don't recommend to everyone). Hotel offers breathing views of mountains and lush green plains. The nearby area is very quiet as well. Hotel has 3-4 buildings. The main building has very good rooms. Building behind the restaurant has decent rooms. However buildings having room no. 119/120/122 are average. There are rooms on 2nd floor and if you are carrying lot of baggages with you, you will find difficulty to carry them to your room. (The hotel does provide help but charge for the same and is subject to availability). Staff at the front desk is helpful and one of the lady speaks and understand English. The hotel is full mainly because of the tourist groups and can be very noisy at times. The owner (Mr. Kirit) is very nice person and was very helpful and supportive in the times when Gem Tours didn't help us at all.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Krunal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear Krunal S

Obviously you were not a guest in our hotel. Our hotel is locatet in Sarnen, not in Giswil, and we have just one building, not 3-4

Kind regards
Josef Inderbitzin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2017

I stayed here for two nights as part of a Trafalgar tour. I got a single room, so it was quite small with a twin bed, but still functional and enough space for my purposes. My room's window faced the back of the hotel and this was the best place to be since it had a lovely babbling river behind and a beautiful view of what looked like a winery. It was about a 5 minute walk to the Swiss rail station, which gets you to Lucerne in about 20 minutes and Zurich in an hour and 20 minutes (and Swiss Rail is so easy to take and impeccably on schedule). It was also across from a grocery store where you could buy Swiss fendant wine which is a must-try and had other little shops and restaurants nearby. The in-hotel restaurant was also very good. Great choice off the beaten track, cheaper than staying in Lucerne or Zurich.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shelleyc87411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear shelleyc87411

Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel.
We hope that you have had a safe journey home and would be pleased if you would visit us again.

Best regards from Sarnen
Josef and Klara Inderbitzin, Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

The location is very good, close to train station to Lucerne. Food can be found readily nearby the hotel. The room is clean, however, the bed is rather uncomfortable and can be further improved. Toiletries are not provided, do bring along your own.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank DerrickJayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Dear DerrickJayBee

Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback of our services. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed the location and surrounding of our hotel. For your enjoyment our hotel has a restaurant with an excellent cuisine with many seasonal offers. There is no need to buy food in the village. In our rooms, our individual guests find all necessary toiletries, such as bath towels, lavender, shampoo and soap as well as a basket with body lotion, cosmetic set, nail files, shower hood and bathrobe. Unfortunately, there are tour operators who book a reduced offer for their customers. On request, we can offer rooms with harder or softer mattresses. Please tell us your wishes next time, our staff will be glad to fulfil them.

We hope that you have had a safe journey home and would be pleased if you would visit us again.

Best regards
Josef and Klara Inderbitzin
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Krone Sarnen for two nights while I was on business in the area. Our room was simple and functional; nothing fancy, but everything was clean and functional. The staff was friendly and engaging. The breakfast was very good. We had dinner one night; it was good and definitely worth a try. Parking was more than adequate, as you get to park in the adjacent public parking lot. Sarnen is a neat little village; the views are spectacular and it is easy to get where you are going in the area. They also have a well-equipped spa, although we only toured it. The spa is only open in the evening, from 5pm to 11pm. The Wi-Fi was adequate to emails and web browsing; we did not try to stream video on this stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Layne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Dear Layne M
Thank you for staying with us and also for the feedback of our services. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel with the friendly staff. We hope that you have had a safe journey home and would be pleased if you would visit us again.

Best regards from Sarnen
Josef and Klara Inderbitzin
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews