We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms clean, hotel dated, some (significantly) staff rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rooms clean, hotel dated, some (significantly) staff rude”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Let's start with the rooms - a little dated but spacious and clean. Comfortable bed results in a good sleep but the penalty I had to pay was a two-lift journey to my room! Look at it this way - that means you're not facing the street!

The standard and upkeep of the communal areas is average and the colour combinations of sights, carpets and décor is, erm, hideous.

But the most memorable part of the time I spent at the hotel was driven by a couple of chaps in customer "service". This involved being completed inflexible in providing service and being generally rude. I've never witnessed anyone in the French-speaking service industry using the word "putain" in the presence of paying guests - simply because coffee breaks were taken at the wrong time. It is for that reason neither I nor my company will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back are quieter. 400-600 are via two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Los T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    289
    144
    76
    31
See reviews for
84
122
47
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent modern Hotel right across from the rail station at reasonable rates.I used it as step down for the night to catch a flight from Geneva int. airport. Situated only five mi, away from the rail station, from where the clockwork, state of the art Swiss rail system leaves on the dot every half hour to reach precisely 40 minutes later the bottom of the escalator into Geneva airport. The hotel itself is an architectural well conceived modern building, set in the place of its predessessor Les Palmiers of the time when it was directed by the famous hotelier Hans Hug, with its bar in the care of Marcel Beck the best known barman of the thirties in Lausanne. .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have to say that rooms are confortable and it´s location is very convenient, although is very noisy if you get a street room.
They do have free wireless... when you can connect, which is usually very early in the morning and late at night, don´t even try during the afternoon.
Will I stay again, provably not. They are not the only convenient hotel around and what a rude staff they have! I should have listen to previous reviews.

Room Tip: Don´t get a street room, you can hear people loughing and walking until very late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P_at_Rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is an OK hotel if you stay for 2 or 3 nights, but gets very annoying if you return every week like I did on several business trips. The location is good, the hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the train station, although it is a very steep street so if you have a lot of luggage you might consider taking a taxi. The rooms are OK if you are not unfortunate enough to get one of the very narrow rooms at the back with no outside window and a single bed. The beds are generally uncomfortable, they resemble hospital beds. There is a penetrating restaurant smell in all the rooms I have been in, irrelevant of how far you are from the restaurants, so it can be disturbing. The television set is ok, with about 200 international channels, so you can at least feel a bit home watching your own news. The bathrooms are renovated.
There is a so-called gym available, but it is rather a museum of run-down very old equipment.
Part of the staff is very nice and helpful, although I always had someone at the reception desk who didn't seem to remember me week after week after week, and seemed to be surprised when I arrived there to check in; which I find poor service. The room prices are fluctuating between 160 and sometimes even 400 CHF a night, depending on what kind of convention or meeting takes place either in Lausanne or Geneva. 400 CHF is a very outrageous price for a room in this hotel.
There was no free internet available in 2011 in the hotel, something might have changed in this area as I see free Wifi offered on the website now.
I stayed at this hotel on 27 business trips throughout 2011.

Room Tip: Do not take the 'wow last minute' price from internet if you want to avoid ending up in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We didn't expect the triple room to be so spacey. The staff was very good, location extremely convenient though in any other country I would prefer to stay further from the station. I can complain about trifles (like an iron or kettle that would only turn on when a staff member was around ;-)), but overall we had a very favorable impression.
By the way, their Thai restaurant is considered to be the best in Lausanne for a reason. Price wise, it was outside our comfort zone, but we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and especially our prestigious Thai restaurant.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Sir, our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days on a business trip. Generally it's ok, but I've expected a bit more. Room was just general, nothing special. What I disliked most of all - specific smell in hotel corridors as well as in hotel rooms. Room was clean and tidy, but with a bit worn furniture. Location of the hotel is good, you can find some shops and cafeterias near the place. The most convenient detail about location - it's 5 minutes walk from train station, so you won't need a pick-up.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anufrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

we went on a 2 days business trip, and the hotel was a perfect choice. priced a bit below the classical top hotels, the place is easy to access by car and by train, and you are already in the middle of everything! the train station with all the major bus lines and cabs is just a 2 min walk down the street.the personell was very friendly, competent and quick. the room, although not spectacular, was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. internet and fax services were easy to access and fast. the only dark point: breakfast was somewhat limited and overpriced for what was offered. if you want just to grab a croissant and a coffee, it is way to expensive, if you want to sit down and enjoy a real brunch to get prepared for a day of sightseeing, better bring your own fruits and don't eat the scambled egg which seemed to sit there since a long time.
in conclusion: the perfect choice for those who need a hotel to sleep and want to have short ways in the city centre

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.4 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
488 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.8 km away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing