We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Alpha-Palmier on our first trip to Lausanne. Its conveniently located very near the Lausanne Gare (Train Station), and it has all the right amenities, however its a bit overpriced and the Rue de Petit-Chene (street) can be difficult to use as its so steep. Also it tends to be a bit busy at night with people hanging out near the gare. There are nicer places in Ouchy near the water.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

A steep but short walk up from the train station, but doable. We had a nice room and bath. Excellent breakfast was included in our room rate. Staff was helpful. The hotel was very busy ....primarily business customers. We were on holiday. Free wifi. That makes a hotel high on my list!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed on the courtyard side and so had no problem with noise. Unfortunately, we found the people at the front desk quite snobby and they misquoted us on both room price and on whether breakfast was included. The waitstaff at the restaurant in the morning were frankly unpleasant, and we wound up leaving the restaurant when we discovered that breakfast was not included (the lead waitress walked around with a clipboard checking names as if she were a prison guard). The decor of the place is also odd, with strange green signs, animal-skin chairs in the rooms, a frosted glass wall between the main room and the bathroom (lighting up the main room whenever one of us used the bathroom at night). On the bright side, the location is very close to the main train station and getting around the city is easy by foot and subway from the location.

Room Tip: Courtyard side.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hudson8Northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent location for both train station and old town.
Nice welcome by receptionist who spoke English.
Nice clean, quiet, modern room.
Good breakfast.
What more could you want

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inner courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicnac49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for your positive comment!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel Concept with an inner courtyard is very mice. Unfortunsreky they didn't invest in the rooms nor in in the facade. Our room- Fasching the Street- was unbelivsbly noisy at Night. Er had to ASK for in the middle of the Night but they couldn't provide any. The facade is very thin and it's Kind of a Party Location at Weekends.

The other point is, that the carpet was very dirty


We paid 25fr for the breakfast Buffet which is overpriced

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank ZH_Globetrotter_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Sir,
upon request and with a small supplement it is possible to have a room facing the garden.
During the weekend street side might be very noisy.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Warned of noise so stayed on quiet side- pity it costs 10 fr extra. Room good, food in bistro good, staff helpful, wi-fi works well. Close to station and metro.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Faith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Since i arrived the people working in the hotel were extremely rude! The bed is two single beds attached!! The hotel smells like curry, so when you stay there be ready for your clothes to smell bad, while checking out the lady told me i smoked in the room i replied i smoked in the balcony and she answered there is no balcony!! I told her why dont we go to the room and check she answered i know there is no balcony, i asked for her manager and she said im the manager. THE MANAGER DOESNT KNOW THERE IS A BALCONY IN THE ROOM!! then i told her show me the hotel camera which shows i was smoking she said my employees saw you!! I wonder if the hotel puts watch security what kind of privacy it had!! I asked for water as when i arrived it was missing from my mini bar they told me to call the restaurant and they wanted me to pay 19CH for the water!! i had to explain that it was not there since i checked inn!! The manager accussed me of breaking the curtain and when is asked where is the bill where are the pictures which proves that and why didnt you show me that i broke it so that i could pay for it she said the cleaners fixed it!! Therefore its not broken they are just lying but when they found out the have been reasoning them they kept quite!! A terrible hotel a terrible management a terrible location!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mlb1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.4 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
508 reviews
1.2 km away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
158 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
1.2 km away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $173 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing