We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never stay at this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked the hotel already in Nov 2010 to stay there during the World Gymnaestrada festival in July 2011. The reason for choosing this hotel was its central location, availability of twin rooms and the fact that most of the others were fully booked because of teh festival. We requested twin room but did not get it despite booking it more than half a year ago. We were explained that the hotel's policy was to offer twin rooms to groups and people not married. This was in no way commmunicated to us when booking the room. Breakfast was expensive and poor. Once arriving 20 min before the end of the breakfast, nothing was left and we had to go to McDonalds instead.
In addition, there was no AC and the rooms were very noisy because of heavy traffic outside the hotel.
During our stay we whitnessed a discusion between a family (2 parents and a 9 years old child ) not getting an extra bed for the child. Hotel staff said that they shoudl have booked a triple room instead. The family explained that they indicated the age of child when making a booking and it seemed ok, but the hotel staff said that this did not mean that hotel would arrange an extra bed. Whole family should sleep in the same bed being just 140 cm wide!
In addition, there was no AC and the rooms were very noisy because of heavy traffic outside the hotel.
During our stay we whitnessed a discusion between a family (2 parents and child 9 years old) not getting an extra bed for the child. Hotel staff said that they shoudl have booked a triple room instead. The family explained that they indicated the age of child when making a booking, but the hotel staff said that this did not mean that hotel would arrange an extra bed. Whole family should sleep in the same bed being just 140 cm wide!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Swiss Wine by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels.
Regarding your message, we regret to see that your stay did not unfold as you had hoped, and we really do apologize for that.

About the AC, most of the three stars hotels in Lausanne don't have because it's not an obligation in a three stars hotel; nevertheless we have fans in all the rooms to compensate.
Then, concerning the noise we have two different categories of rooms, the standard with street view and the superior with Cathedral view; as the hotel is downtown the best is to book a superior room if you prefer to have a quiet room.
To finish, indeed we don't put any extra bed in the rooms; but children less than 12 can sleep in their parents' bed for free.
We really thank you for your feedback, we guarantee that we will do our best to make changes and to improve our service.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel is pretty rundown and not worth the money you have to spend here. In contrast to its advertising it has not free wifi, and the manager just does not care about his guests and their complaints.
Rooms are rather old, a colleagues room was dirty. In the end it's not worth the money. We didn't choose the breakfast, so I can't say anything about that, but there are many nice places around the hotel to have breakfast in. Overall I think if the staff would actually care about the guests it would be a better hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piet_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect--the Bessieres Metro stop is literally 3 meters from the front door, and it's a 3 minute walk to the Cathedral. The day clerk that was on duty this past weekend, June 17 through June 20 was not so much rude, as just ignored you. When checking in, I stood before him for at least two minutes, before I had to interrupt him to get his attention. He just ignored me--and did the same when I observed anyone else stopping at the front desk. The night clerk was lovely--always willing to help and go the extra step. The rooms were...basic. The bed was very comfortable and the linen spotless, but that's the extent of it. The room I had was over the alley, with a direct view into the flats next door. It was also extremely noisy on Friday and Saturday nights--and had to close the windows. thankfully, it wasn't hot or humid, as there is no air con. Wall paper peeling, mold on the grout in the bathroom. Certainly not what I would expect for the 170CHF/night I spent. Breakfast was an additional charge--don't opt for it, but go to Migros/Coop, or better yet, Confiserie-St. Pierre, on Rue Enning, about 100 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, using Lausanne as a base to explore the Lac Leman region and also Ouchy.

Pros:-
1) Fantastic location. The metro line (M2) Bressieres stop is just right outside the hotel. This makes the hotel a perfect base to explore Lausanne (Flon, Ouchy) and also Lac Leman. And the infamous cathedral is just a 5 minute walk again from the beautiful vantage point of the bridge. This gets top points in my book
2) Nearby is a Migros and a COOP for you to get a quick meal before your travels
3) Room is big and spacious with a balcony (even though is shared). Spacious rooms are very important for flashpackers! The room is bigger than similar priced hotels (CHF110) in other cities.

Cons:-
1) Got a street view on my stay
2) Breakfast is expensive and quite sparse. Skip that and go for Migros and COOP for your quick and cheap breakfast

I would want to stay at City Hotel again, mainly due to its undeniable central location and affordable price

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Screw_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Swiss Wine by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

You get what you pay for I suppose. This hotel was cheap, the rooms were incredibly basic and clean (just), breakfast was fair in selection. What really ruin's this place is the staff. Everyone we spoke to were incredibly rude. The receptionist really couldn't be bothered dealing with us and made us wait until exactly 2pm before we could enter our rooms even though they were ready (she said they weren't but given that they were next door to the reception and noone came in or out during the time we waited this wsa obviously untrue!). While we waited we also witness her shouting at a customer over their queries about why they needed to take such detailed information from her passport (yes they will note down everything from your place of birth to date of birth!). When we asked for directions she replied in an angry tone that she " not to be unreasonable as she didn't know every street" and with a heavy sigh looked it up on a map. Breakfast is ruined by the agressive lady taking room numbers and shouting the options at people who haven't prepaid for breakfast. She's also incredibly strict that you use the cups and plates on your table not the spare ones on the buffet.

My advise is don't stay here, no matter how much money you pay as a customer you deserve to be treated with respect and politeness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingGGDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Swiss Wine by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
Regarding your message, we regret to see that your stay did not unfold as you had hoped, and we really do apologize for that.
Unfortunately, we have to register the Guest information from the passport (name, Firstname, Birthday and birthplace) and the adress. This is a swiss law and will be done in each swiss hotel. The check-in time is 14h00 and an early check-in is not always possible.
In all cases we thank you for your feedback, we guarantee that we will do our best to make changes and to improve our service.
We take care of your remarks: your advices are very important for us.
We hope your next stay in our Fassbind hotels will be really "perfect"!
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This hotel is in need of renovation, its far to expensive for its class. The shower was broken and leaking, the TV and cupboards basic and old. Big rooms but no pictures at all or decoration. Very boring. I didnt bother with internet there, wasnt paying a penny more than the 1490CHF i had tp pay for 4 nights!!!!

The staff are average, it depends who you get, i guess the proprietors treat the staff as poorly as the hotel itself. I was also shocked to see people smoking in the room behind reception. I hope food isnt kept there.

Bring your own toiletries, i was shocked that theydidnt provide decent shampoo and no shower gel. just a crumby old bar of soap.

The bed was comfy and this was the only good point. I wont be staying here again. Oh and the restaurant over the street they recommended was just as average.

Maybe others had better rooms, mine was a street view on the 4th floor. Oh the balcony wass also shared lol.

If you stay here, top floor and looking toward the lake i guess would be best.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
Thank MrPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Swiss Wine by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
Regarding your message, we regret to see that your stay did not unfold as you had hoped, and we really do apologize for that.
Don't forget that our hotel is not a palace but a 3 stars hotel. Prices are very low during the weekend and the holidays. Unfortunately during peak congress weeks (this was the case for this booking) like every hotel in town, the price may become very high. Please change your date, if you can, if the demanded rate seems too high.
We really thank you for your feedback, we guarantee that we will do our best to make changes and to improve our service.
We take care of your remarks: your advices are very important for us.
We hope your next stay in our Fassbind hotels will be really "perfect"!
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The hotel is centrally located; however, service and room were pretty mediocre. The overall atmosphere was dreary. Those guys need to learn how to run a proper business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eromes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.9 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
700 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
523 reviews
1 km away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Wine by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Wine by Fassbind

Address: rue Caroline 5, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel City)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Price Range: $139 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Wine by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss Wine by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing