We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”
Review of il Ghiotto

il Ghiotto
Ranked #3 of 786 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nel cuore di Losannaquesto piccol ristorante propone una cucina semplice ma raffinata preparata a partire esclusivamente da prodotti freschi ed elaborata in funzione delle stagioni...il matrimonio perfetto tra la cucina tradizionale e la nuova cucina.vi accoglieremo in una calda e serena atmosfera per farvi riscoprire il gusto delle cose buone.Disponiamo di una Vista magnifica sulla cattedrale e di una terrazza.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

My family and I visited for some good Italian as we were looking for something different then traditional swiss food. The service is great and the food is awesome. Just remember to make reservations if you would like a table outside.

Highly recommend!!

Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il_Ghiotto2014, Proprietario at il Ghiotto, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind words.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are delighted that you have appreciated the quality of the food and our service.

Kindest regards,

Stella and Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Just a stones throw from the Cathedral and well worth it if nearby!! The food was fantastic...the best meals my family has ever had and we have spent time in Italy!!! The Fagottini Al Parma et Truffle is to die for and the Spaghetti ala Carbonara was out of this world. Our waitress Stella was great and her husband the chef is amazing.

1  Thank pconroy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il_Ghiotto2014, Proprietario at il Ghiotto, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear guest,

Grazie,Grazie,Grazie
Thank you very much for your kind words.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are delighted that you have appreciated the quality of the food and our service

Best regards,

Stella et Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018

The restaurant is located near the Lausanne Church. The surrounding area is reserved for pedestrians. The place has a terrace for the summer. "Il Ghiotto" is managed and owned by a nice couple (the husband in kitchen and the wife does the service). You really feel at home as the place is not big. Even the menu seems small, it is the opposite, the menu is in fact mastered (dominated by pastas). The dishes are prepared exclusively with fresh ingredients.
Pastas are served with a mixed salad which holds honestly its role to make us wait. For my part I opted for the Scialatielli al Limone (you feel all the limone's perfume). A great dish, well executed with big quantity. Other friends choose the "Fagottini al Parma with black truffle". Also well done.
As wine you took a Sicilian one and we also have some limoncello at the end.
I strongly recommend this place as the welcome, cooking, place, quantity and prices are above expectations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Truly original choice of pasta plates. The goal of the cook is really to make you travel around Italy with a wide choice of pasta.

Not expensive at all and suits for every type of meal. You should try it for sure !

Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il_Ghiotto2014, Proprietario at il Ghiotto, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your experience .

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are delighted that you have appreciated the atmosphere, the quality of the food and our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

I chose this restaurant for a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend with 15 people and was positively impressed by Stella's (the owner) helpfulness with the organisation. Being a small restaurant it can't have been an easy task to accomodate a fairly large group, but it couldn't have turned out better. All in all a successful evening : delicious Italian food, friendly staff, charming atmosphere, complimentary birthday decorations and a voucher for drinks for the birthday boy. Thank you again!

Thank Allgyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il Ghiotto also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to il Ghiotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing