We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I spent just one night at the Lausanne Guesthouse this past September for 38 Francs for the night, about 41 US Dollars. It's only about a 5 minute walk from the train station which was very convenient. I didn't hear the trains at night but I was in a room that faced the front of the building, not the back where the train tracks are. The rooms were very basic but clean with those sturdy wooden bunk beds, not the flimsy metal ones. A very nice bonus was the view of the mountains from the hostel, so pretty! There is that XXX cinema right at the corner of the street that the hostel is on and an ugly underpass by the same intersection but even as a young female, I never felt unsafe while walking around the area, even at night. The lobby, common area, and kitchen are all nice...very bright and airy space that's pleasant to spend time in. There's a nice garden out front as well. It's very easy to walk around the city from the hostel and you also get a free transport card upon arrival. So a lot of public transit within the city is at no cost including the metro that takes you down to the waterfront. I enjoyed my stay here and would most definitely go back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    98
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
66
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Lausanne Guesthouse was one of the nicest hostels we've ever stayed in. The room itself was spartan, but the bed was large and comfortable, and our assigned bathroom was only shared by two rooms. The best surprise was the balony that overlooked the city, the lake, and mountains in the distance. A little table and two chairs had been placed out there, so my husband and I took advantage -- we bought a cheap (by Swiss standards) bottle of wine from the Coop Express grocery store, halfway between the train station and the hotel, cooked our dinner in the hostel's large kitchen, and brought everything out to the balcony. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer than one night.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balony -- not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 school aged children) stayed in a family room for one night in August 2011. It was a decent experience, and certainly one we will always remember!

The hotel is a short walk from the central train station. There is unfortunately a XXX theatre (with movie titles and promos prominently displayed, if you get my drift) in a prominent spot along the walk, lending a decidedly seedy feeling. I am a native NYer and street smart, and if I was a woman travelling alone, I would not feel comfortable walking the stretch from train to the Guesthouse after dark. Obviously the creepy theatre is not the Guesthouses' fault and there is probably nothing they can do about it. Just consider arriving in broad daylight.

The check in was friendly and easy. Sheets were already on the bunk beds when we arrived, and the bathroom (across the hall from our room) was clean, well lit and spacious, with clean towels and ample hanging space. It was a bit of a drag to cross the hall to access the loo (especially since the room and bathroom doors were self locking each time they closed), but tolerable given the overall value of the property (Lausanne is a very, very expensive city).

Our family room faced an interior stairwell, which posed a bit of a privacy issue, as anyone coming up the stairs looked right into the lower bunk of one of the beds if the door was open (and it does stay open while the 4 of us were getting ready for bed). So you need to be prepared for that, and roll with the relative lack of privacy. Our room did have a large and lovely balcony, with a view of the lake along with the rooftops of Lausanne. We could also see the train station and tracks, which some might dislike, but my kids thought was a huge benefit.

The facility has no air conditioning, and we happened to stay during an evening where the temps were in the 80s Fahrenheit. It was hot and stuffy and we could not sleep without the windows open. Unfortunately, leaving the windows open also meant hearing the trains going all night, even with earplugs in. I am a light sleeper, however. The sound did not bother my husband who is a heavy sleeper.

It is worth noting, again on the safety front, that the Guesthouse appears to deactivate nearly all of its lighting/electrical outlets after 2 or 3 am. I was having trouble sleeping, as noted above, and decided to go to the lobby to access the wifi and perhaps read without bothering my family. No dice! only a bare minimum amount of light was even available (think night light level)--when I tried to turn on some lights, I found that the lamps and light switches were deactivated. I think they must have mentioned this at check in and I just forgot, but I sure hightailed it up the (dark) stairwell back to my room! Anyway, the no -lights in lobby issue is not a huge deal if you aren't up at that hour, but a real bummer since I unfortunately couldn't sleep due to the trains and the heat.

On balance, this is a well run, clean and nice facility that offers a great value relative to the rest of Lausanne, as long as you go expecting a hostel and not a hotel. I am giving it 4 stars because it is great for what it is. Although we stayed in much nicer and more expensive properties during other legs of our European trip, my kids still talk about how much fun they had sleeping in the bunk beds and they say they want to stay at Lausanne Guest House again next time they visit! (Shows you what I know!)

Room Tip: Ask for a family room with a view of the lake, and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all_for_fun523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked a double room with shared bath, and our experience with this guesthouse had many good points - It was sparkling clean, very conveniently located, with decent beds, great kitchen facilities, beautiful views and very kind, helpful people at the front desk to answer any questions.

The downsides to prepare for were that the walls were thin enough to hear guests converse in the next room, though everyone was courteous and quieted down at night. The price seems steep for what you get, but this is typical in Switzerland. Also, the heater never got much above room temp, and our double room was very chilly in early January. The light comforter and orange blanket provided did not keep us warm. My husband, who was already a little sick became feverish and it was a relief to move on from this guesthouse to a better heated place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie E, Responsable relations publiques at Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We can hardly explain how this 2 people could have been cold in our Guesthouse ; as mentionned each person get a big continental quilt, can use some extra blankets and our heathers are working very well. So far we never get this kind of complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend in August. Four of us shared a 4-bed dormitory room. The guesthouse is in a central location (just near the train station). It is clean, tidy and neat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Lausanne is quite expensive for accomodation - this offered excellent value for money.
Note that it is up a reasonably steep driveway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Small kitchen and lounge + garden. Free wifi, computer access 8F/hour, clean room and toilets, locker too small for backpack, close to the railstation. My room was opposite to the rail, and we didnt really hear the trains, but i guess those with a room on the railway side most be quite noisy. Discount for the Olympic Museum and free transport in Lausanne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

It is clean, but be aware of deposits you will have to pay, which can amount even to 50 CHF (the key for the locker, swipe card for the room, and the adapter for Swiss plugs). You should ask the receptionist to give you the receipt for each and every deposit you are paying! I haven't taken receipts (I assumed Swiss must be well organised...). When checking out they simply refused to pay the deposit back. Eventually I managed to convince the receptionist I have paid deposits, and they retuned it, but the receptionist was extremely rude and in the end I was left with very bad feelings about this place.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank EllaBella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.3 km away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.9 km away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
6.0 km away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#21 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Property: Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker
Address: chemin des Epinettes 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ambition is to satisfy a demanding clientele with high standards of service, cleanliness and professionalism, offering the best value for money, while insuring the viability and permanence of our business entreprise. At the same time, we try to promote a dynamic and economically attractive image of tourism in the Lausanne region as well as in the rest of Switzerland. Central location (close to the Lausanne Train station). Four-bedded dorms, double / single rooms, garden with BBQ, free kitchen use and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ostrovok and Priceline so you can book your Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Guesthouse Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing