We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly service, exiting atmosphere but lound, excellent beef tartare”

Restaurant Baerengasse
Ranked #38 of 1,973 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$77
Cuisines: Argentinian, Mediterranean, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We went there for an aerly dinner. There was many group of people already in the restaurant and it was quite noisy. It seems the palce where bankers meet for afterwork drinks and dinner. It's anyway just near the main UBS and Credit Suisse HQ. I took a beef tartarer with Malber red wine which was delicious. It's expensive but relates to been in the finance center of Zurich...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dominiquealain2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you very much for your nice comment which we really appreciate.

We are happy you enjoyed your dinner and you had a good time at our restaurant.
You`re absolutly right that it can be a bit noisy around that time. People enjoying their after work drink and having a chat here and there. It usually gets more quiet a bit later then you can always enjoy a laid-back dinner in our restaurant.

It would be a pleasure for us to have you as our guests again soon.

Your Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant Baerengasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2015

Had a meal here over summer and we were seated outside in the big sofa like chairs, until a party of 6 came towards the conclusion of our meal.

We had the lobster soup and the scallops with truffle for starters - very good! The scallops had foam like and were lightly glazed, but yummy!

Service staff were very attentive and helped us share the veal "Zurich style" and the beef fillet also was delicious.

A tad on the expensive side, but the food and service made it worthwhile.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jyuen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

We are very happy about your positive comment and we would like to thank you for that.

We hope a lot that you and your guests will visit us again soon.

Your Restaurant Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Had dinner over the summer and we were seated outside. The beef and the Puro wine are excellent, service is good and atmosphere very nice. I would recommend !

1  Thank Anastaz_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Thank you very much for the nice comment.

Our terrace will be open until the end of september afterwords we will offer you a nice place either on the balcony or inside the restaurant.

We are looking forward having you as our guests again soon.

Your Restaurant Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

The restaurant is very good and the quality of the meat outstanding. Unfortunalty sometime the staff can be a bit arrogant according to most of the people eating there. So the biggest problem are the guests. Go when there is no so many guest as the food is really outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are sorry you had the impression our stuff is arrogant.
We are sure this must have been out of an stressed situation because the satisfaction of our guests is really important to the whole team and our stuff is working very hard for that.

We hope a lot that you will visit our restaurant again soon it would be an absolut pleasure for us to reface your impression.

Also we would like to thank you a lot for the nice feedback about our food and kitchen. We are very happy you liked it so much.

Your Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We had a business dinner here early in July with a big group of people. The recommendation of the waiter was short and precise: Meat! Which I found a bit strange these days, when everybody knows that this is not a good food for various reasons.... There was a nice choice for vegetarians as well and the food was very nice, even though very pricy for a plate of standard pasta! The desert and the entré were excellent though. The service was very agile and always there when needed. So all in all a very nice restaurant in the center of town and compared to others with fair rates, but still a price of some 70€ for the 3 courses is a lot of money... Sadly the owner - the famous Dieter Maier from the band YELLO - was not there that evening, which would definitely have given our visit a bonus for originality.

Thank Tornado0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are happy you had a good stay and you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.
Hopefully we will have you and your guests again soon in our restaurant.

Your Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Baerengasse also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Baerengasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing