We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good mainly meat restaurant at the heart of Zurich”

Restaurant Baerengasse
Ranked #39 of 1,970 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$78
Cuisines: Argentinian, Mediterranean, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The restaurant is located very centrally, a few meters from Bahnhofstrasse - the main and high priced shopping street in Zurich - and Paradeplatz. Combined with the good quality food and atmosphere, the restaurant offers a very good option for fine dining with family, friends as well as business partners.

The menu offers predominately meat dishes from starters - the beef carpaccio among my favourites - to main dishes for one person - the beef fillet or entrecote among my favourites - or even cuts and plates for multiple persons. The quality of the meat - a large portion of it delivered by another Dieter Meier firm - was very good and the cooking and serving very much to my liking and including a side dish and separate sauce in the price. The prices are on the higher end of the price range which is, nevertheless, justified for the quality of the food server and the overall dining experience.

The quality of the service may vary from time to time depending on the amount of tables served at the same time, in average though the service at our table has been good and friendly. The wine list has a nice selection of European and Argentinian wines; the Argentinian ones being almost all from Dieter Meier, the owner of the restaurant.

During summer time, there are quite a few tables on the balcony as well as near the street outside, making a reservation for those tables is recommended for a lunch in the sun. The restaurant is otherwise rather dark inside, i.e. at nights the light may be less than needed to read the menu for some with a weaker sight. Making a reservation for tables during peak times or days is recommended. Finding a parking place nearby may be a challenge but the restaurant is very close to Paradeplatz, so going there by public transport is a very good option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kyvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comment.
We will pass on your compliments to our kitchen and the service team.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our restaurant and we hope that we will have you as our guests again very soon.

Your
Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant Baerengasse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with a group of 9 for a business lunch
+ Very central location
+ Wide choice of mostly meat dishes
+ Excellent preparation of burger and steaks (Argentinian origin from Dieter Meier)
- Poor and slow service: had to wait over 45 minutes until first course was served, then had to push for the main course and ask / wait for the bill to be prepared; did not even have time for a coffee in a total of 1:45 hr; seemed understaffed for the number of guest
- Prices are simply out of range, especially when they do not have enough serving personnel

Thank Swisstraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for your comment.
It’s not only the positive feedback we appreciate, but also the negative, as those can help us to improve constantly.
Apologize for keeping you waiting so long. We try our very best to give every day the highest quality of service that’s why we hope that you will visit us again to give us another chance.

Your
Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Couldn't recommend this restaurant enough. We were a group of 5, the restaurant was fully booked but we were offered a table in the bar area which was not a problem. The scallops starter was amazing, the steak main course very tasty and the service very good. The home-made ice cream is delicious. A little pricey but overall a fabulous evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lulu1722014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Thank you very much for your positive comment which we really appreciate.
We will pass on your compliments to our kitchen and the service team.
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.

Your
Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

If you want to find a really perfect beef tartar in Zurich you without any questions have to come here and try BEFF TARTAR.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you very much for your positive comment.
We will pass on your compliments to our kitchen team.
Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.

Your
Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I have short meeting with my Friend in Zurich and he take me to this restaurant. Because it was early we can have only have appetisers. We ordered 3 Tartare (etagere) beef ,veal and salomon. veal tartare with fresh black truffle was unforgetable .

Thank Bartosz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik B, Inhaber at Restaurant Baerengasse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you very much for your positive comment which we really appreciate.
Hopefully we can welcome you and your guests again soon.

Your
Bärengasse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Baerengasse also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Baerengasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing