We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
253
525
220
47
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
525
220
47
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station old town quiet street zurich hb nice hotel minute walk no air con excellent breakfast excellent location convenient location main station hotel is located within easy walking distance an expensive city short stay breakfast room rooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Good centrally located hotel. Very short walk to train (HB) and busses. Good breakfast, clean rooms, helpfull staff. The bed was very comfortable! The rooms are not very large so not really a place to hang out with a family. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank IBPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear IBPeter

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The hotel's location is good as it is 2 blocks to the train station (which has many shops), the breakfast has many choices, and the staff were all helpful. Our room for two was quite small, however, with few easy to access outlets, and but little space to move about. The bed was very firm. There was a 24 inch by 5 inch glass shelf as the only counter space in the tiny bathroom and the bathtub was deep and no more than 16 inches wide. I did like the supplied fan, which blew either hot or cold air. To get to the train station, take the downstairs entrance on the second corner as you are walking towards the station. That allows you to avoid all the traffic above ground. I should also mention that the lights attached to the bed have a small switch under them to turn them on/off.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank WStaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear WStaso

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. The things you pointed out as cons have been reviewed.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Gino for the smooth check-in and our during our 1N stay and the breakfast was a stellar. Breakfast was from 7am until 11am but by the time we came down at 9am, the fried rice tray was already empty and unfortunately, there’s no more refill. It would have been perfect if the kitchen prepared more fried rice in anticipation of the high number of hotel guests. Nevertheless, croissants were great, and there’s also Latte Machiato and Cuppucino apart from the regular coffee.

Apart from breakfast, the pillows were too thin. Would have been perfect if the hotel could provide more fluffy pillows for good night sleep.

The Dyson fan and heater provided in the room was a great addition.

Thanks Hotel Montana!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank uptown8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear dwky19

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. Furthermore do we highly appreciate your suggestions and inputs in order for us to integrate them in our regular internal staff trainings.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Comfortable bed, great duvet and pillows. TV had a great choice of channels, room
had everything I needed and was very clean. Quiet friendly place. Recommend for short trips to Zurich. Lovely staff too.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jadekd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear jadekd2009

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel Montana and your kind message.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Things in central Zurich are not inexpensive, so at $200 a night, the Hotel Montana is fairly mid-range fare for a hotel.

The front desk staff are wonderfully personable and accommodating, and the hotel offers breakfast with every reservation (there are no other meals offered in the hotel's restaurant).

And while the rooms are spartan and compact, the walls have a certain generosity of character that allows you to partake of the conversations of the those in rooms below or beside you, as well as those that transpire in the hallway.

In this respect, the Montana struck me as akin to one of those budget airport hotels.

There are a number of restaurants within proximity, though if you are staying on a Sunday the pickings are fairly slim (this being a city that closes down on Sundays).

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pporpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear pporpedro

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We appreciate your value feedback and work hard to meet and exceed our guests expectations.
Please rest assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager Candrian Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews