We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting.”
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #53 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disgusting.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I honestly wish I took pictures of the room I stayed in to truly depict the filth. I dont know if we got a bad room or what happened here. The hallways and lobby area were decorated quite nice and then we walked into a room with old ripped chairs to sit on, dirty carpet, bad smell, and a bathroom that was last renovated in the 1960s. The bed was uncomfortable, there was no air conditioning, and the room looked out into the alley way which was very loud. With no AC and a warm smelly room, you are forced to leave windows open and bear the loud tourists wandering about. The only upside to this place was that I only had to deal with it for 1 night. NOT worth the price and definitely NOT a 4 star hotel...that is a joke.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KDJ114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    282
    85
    42
    16
See reviews for
150
223
47
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria AUST
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Great position in the old area of the city. Good sized room - to be picky- the water pressure in the shower was poor despite this, the rooms were a good size and within a few minutes walk you were in the thick of things. Breakfast excellent selection. Good value in this expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were recommended this lovely hotel and were not disappointed. Fantastic location in the heart of the old town and beautiful large rooms. Nice brekky too.
The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet on level 4 as the windows were double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We discovered the Old Town area of Zürich on foot five years ago, and decided it was a much nicer area in which to stay than the Bahnhofstrasse area. I discovered this hotel on Trip Advisor; it's in a pedestrian zone, near good restaurants, and has very comfortable rooms and includes a substantial breakfast buffet.

One caution: except for a top-floor room with an air-conditioner, avoid the rooms facing the street, as there is much pedestrian traffic at night and the area is quite lively. There are large rooms in the back overlooking a garden--try to choose these.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cischwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit in Zurich again. Please let me know when you will visit Zurich again, so we can arrange a nice room for you facing the courtyard.
Kind regards
Philipp Bode, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This i not my first time at the Wellenberg hotel, this is my hotel base in Zurich, located in the old city few meter from the Splendid bar (one of the best bars in Europe)
Choice of restaurants around the hotel.
Within walking distance from all Zurich attractions
No aircondition in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YossiAzoulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Grüezi

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your preferred hotel in Zurich!
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindregards

Philipp Bode, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We chosed Hotel Wellenberg because it offered a reasonable price and central location at www.booking.com compared to hotels situated closer to Bahnhofstrasse. My father paid for 3 nights in July 2011 SFR 261 for a DELUXE Room with Queensize bed each night. We went to the hotel late in the evening, and the street is blocked in the evening since it is a pedestrian zone. So, I needed to get out of the car and tell we were going to the hotel and we were allowed to go by car. We parked the car right in front of the hotel, but there was no parking space, so you do not really feel comfortable leaving the car on the street. Although, it does not seem to be a problem because it is a pedestrian zone. The check-in which was quickly done. The staff at the reception was not at all wellcoming. B. ut ok. We were all very surprised that no staff help to bring the suitcases to the room. So I offered to help, but since my car was standing outside the staff at the reception did not allow. Overall, the rooms are clean, modern and small but the service very bad. Since we experience other bad situations with the staff at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahiaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear guest
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and at the same time I would like to express my most sincere apology. the behavior of the front desk stuff is in no way a standard we would like to present. Please rest assured that I already contacted my team.
Yours sincerely,
Philipp Bode, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Wellenberg hotel for two nights. We found the staff member at check in to be extremely rude, non caring and frankly quite stupid. Our room was not ready at check in time, we were told that this is a guarantee of the Wellenberg (we had flown in directly from Sydney and already had waited four hours for check in)
The location is great but very noisy if you want to go to bed at a reasonable hour..
A little disappointed ....

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the cafes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#28 of 139 in Zurich
452 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
922 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Property: Hotel Wellenberg
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing