We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
531
398
158
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
398
158
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main shopping street great location train station famous bahnhofstrasse bigger room old town walking distance central location zurich hb shopping area an upgrade stayed one night early check wonderful hotel rooms are small short stay manzoni
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

I had only a brief stay here, arriving late at night and leaving the next day in early afternoon. Nothing could have been easier than hopping from the train to the hotel, even at midnight. It is a well appointed hotel with very nice breakfast, too. But best of all was the staff, who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
My only suggestion would be brighter lighting at least in the lamp by the bed. I've never found it hard to read in a hotel before, but my room was quite dark. Nonetheless I hope to stay there again if my travels take me through Zurich!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amymone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Amymone

Thank you very much for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our service and central location, directly in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing are of the town With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our staff. Could you please inform me about your room number, because every room should have an individual reading lamp by the bed.Your information on m.santschi@hotelstgotthard.ch can help us to find a solution for the lighting.

Your recommendation to other travelers is highly appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Zurich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

The location is just over the top, very close to the central station, few steps away from the tram halte which will take you from and back to the airport. 3 restaurants/cafes in site. Great staffs. Clean and proper hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adoroose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Adoroose M

Thank you very much for staying with us once again and having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our service, installations and central location in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing area of the town. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our staff. We have several restaurants: The Gourmet Restaurant “Lobster & Oysterbar” known since 1935 for seafood, fresh fish, oysters and nice lobster dishes, the Piazzetta terrace, where you can enjoy the activities of the Bahnhofstreet and the Italian Coffee bar “Manzoni” with authentic cauppucino, nice cocktails and Italian snacks.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi & Hotel St. Gotthard Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

I stayed here 2 years ago and decided to stay this time as well. Glad I did because it continues to be one of the best little hotels in Zurich. The rooms are clean, the staff quite friendly and helpful, and most importantly great location. They are a five minute walk from the train station and situated right in the heart of major shopping, restaurants and site seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L920DZbillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear daksterinwaltham


Thank you very much for staying with us once again and having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our, service, installations and central location in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing area of the town. We highly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi & Hotel St. Gotthard Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

I reserved two deluxe rooms for me and my family, the room was big and clean, the hottel is perfect for families and the position of the hotel is perfect its in the shopping street banhofah and the supermarket is just in the underground few steps from the hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chaklaita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Chaklaita80

Thank you very much for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our hotel and central location, highly appreciated by our leisure and business travelers. We are situated only a few steps from the main railway station and in the middle of the main shop-ping and sightseeing area of the town. Even on Sundays, when usually the shops are closed in the railway station you find a big selection of open shops, as you mentioned.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Zurich.

With our best regards

Martin Santschi & Hotel St. Gotthard Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We were delighted with this historic hotel in Zurich and especially with Antonio and Svetlana at the front desk. They were very kind and accommodating and they were also quite patient with my efforts to recall my college German! They really went the extra mile for us. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Dear Carolyn H

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our Service and “modern tradition" centrally located at the world famous Bahnhofstreet an in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing area of the town. With pleasure we forward your motivating words to our staff, specially to Svetlana and Antonio at the front desk.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Zurich

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews