We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
US$200
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Zurich Airport(Opfikon)
US$93
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$285
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$481
US$466
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$710
US$468
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
233
65
11
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
65
11
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townminute walkelegant hotelbaur au lactwo blocksquiet areashopping areatrain stationlakebahnhofstrasseswiss
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 326 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2016

It's a cozy and beautiful boutique hotel. Perfect for romantic couples but good also for business people and tourists. Rooms are big and well furnished, clean and confortable. It's also good the bar for aperitivo and breakfast.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Pietro_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, General Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Pietro_U,

thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the ALDEN Luxury Suite Hotel with us. Your feedback is of our importance.

It is a big pleasure to read that you felt comfortable in one of our beautiful and spacious suites and also enjoyed the breakfast in our bistro.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you back if you travel back to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

A magnificent stay in the Alden. The suite was very large and comfortable, with full size sitting room, massive bathroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfast provided a good start to the day and the service was impeccable; attentive without being overbearing. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank chienvieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, General Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Dear chienvieux,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel and your great evaluation.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable in one of our suites with its facilities.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff - feedbacks like yours are the best motivation for our team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back when you travel to Zurich again.

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016

We stayed at the Alden at the end of November for a nice, relaxing weekend stay. We had a very big suite with a bathroom that was as big as some of the other hotel rooms I've had recently. I loved the luxurious feel of the room and we really enjoyed having a separate space to relax in, not just sitting on the bed.

We felt that the service was certainly on par with the room. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived early in the morning, but they held our bags so we could start enjoying our trip. The staff were always helpful and welcoming when we returned or left the hotel. We had breakfast at the hotel too and the staff were really wonderful there too. The breakfast buffet, while small, is filled with delicious items of high quality, plus you can also order from a small menu of hot items. It was a great way to start the day.

The hotel is a quick walk from two different tram stops that take you to different parts of the city, making it very convenient. The hotel is also quite close to the lakefront, which might be better for summer visits.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying here on our next visit to Zurich.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2016

Dear KMPeterson,

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel with us and your evaluation.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and your kind words about our facilities and our staff. We are very happy you felt comfortable with us and that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich.

We already look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Zurich.

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2016

Stayed at the Alden with two colleagues for two nights. All bookings are for a suite (& I had a free upgrade to a HUGE suite on the 3rd floor). The staff were all very courteous and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
The standard was very high, and the rooms were well equipped (TV in lounge and bedroom, all you would need in the bathroom/shower room/toilet - which was also massive!).
Due the inclement weather of January, we ate in for lunch and dinner each day - the food was good, without being presumptuous, although we all thought the bar menu was better for lunch!
The Alden is well positioned to easy access the old town for shopping, and also to the lake shore (10 minute walk each way).
Yes, would most definitely stay again. Thank you to the staff............

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Mach N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, General Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Dear Mach N,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel in Zurich with us. Your feedback is of our importance as we try to improve our service daily.

We are happy you felt comfortable in one of our suites with all its facilities, were happy with the service of our staff and enjoyed your lunch and dinner in our restaurant.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you back if you visit Zurich again.

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016

This is my second review of this hotel as I have stayed in this hotel a few times over the years. It remains a very good choice in Zurich as it is seldom to find such large and nice rooms in this city for such a price. A regular room is approimately 60 sq meters, which is huge for Swiss standards. The rooms are well equiped, good television. The bathroom is getting a bit old but was fine.
The problem this time was the room temperature. It was very difficult to adjust and I had problem sleeping as it was way too hot, even though I had the AC turned on and it was set at 17 degree C...
Yes, the hotel is a bit off-track but actually it is not very far away from the center: a 10 minute-walk to Paradeplatz.
What disappointed me this time was the service. I checked-in fairly late, so the normal crew was probably not on duty. But what always irritates me is when they ask you a copy of your ID for the nth time...instead of having it on file....so the process took quite a while, (the key was also not ready) until I could finally reach my room. Once in the room I realized that I had not been given an internet code...
In the morning, upon check-out, the person in service merely asked for my credit card but did not care asking if everything had been ok...which was quite surprising.

Small details can make a huge difference.....

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zelal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, General Manager at Alden Suite Hotel Splugenschloss Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016

Dear zelal25

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Alden Luxury Suite Hotel with us. Your feedback is of our importance as we try to improve our service daily.

First of all I would like to apologize for the inaccurate service you experienced. This is certainly not our standard and we will act accordingly to prevent future similar incidents.

The heating in your suite can be adjusted in every area of the suite. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk anytime if we can assist you.

We hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again and present you a fluent and perfect service.

Thomas P. and the Alden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews