We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady's First Design Hotel
Ranked #15 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice & quiet”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed at the Lady's First Hotel for one night only, for a business trip. I had a pleasant stay, the hotel turned out to be fairly quiet, and the employees were friendly and helpful, they also speak english fluently.

The breakfast was quite mixed and good.

Rooms are not super modern altough they were very clean, and the bed was awesome. The only thing I would add is window shutters or more obscure curtains.

Room Tip: Try not to be close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    211
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
83
187
82
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

this is a simple, yet clean hotel. it is a bit far from the places i wanted to see, bu tlikely there was a tram stop not far from the hotel. this was the best way to get to and from the train station. The staff was nice, and breakfast was good and included. i didn't use the spa as it cost extra and i didn't really have time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expresso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluevale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Overall, I had a very pleasant experience. the staff was obliging and very friendly, and spoke English well. I would go back, but for sure I would ask for an upgrade. They SHOULD NOT put guests, who have paid well in advance on the first floor close to the elevator, and stairs. This is poor PR. They should know better . Actually it made me angry! And , on checkout I told them.
I think they should give me a coupon to use at a later date, or refund some of my money.

Room Tip: Ask!! Make sure you ask where your room is, especially if you have booked and paid in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Lad'ys First hotel has been my favourite for at least past 6 years. Yes, it is very conveniently situated close to my company's building on Bellerive, barely 5' to walk, but there are more reasons than just this one to explain why I wouldn't go elsewhere.
No-fuss, simple, well-designed, reasonably quiet (no trafic through the street, although one can hear some faint rumbling from adjacent main street at peak times), very clean, very silent elevator, nice rooms, excellent bedding, WiFi in all rooms, private bathroom/toilet in every room, most windows equipped with roller blinds that can keep the sun out in the morning, etc...
Breakfast is a good moment in Lady's First, not especially because of a very large offer on the buffet, although there is plenty, but because you'll find here the same atmosphere of friendly and pleasant welcome with good smiles and a total absence of stress that you would get from the desk upon your arrival.
You want a detail that gives it all? Everytime I would get into my room, just coming from airport, I would find a nice card with a few words of welcome and thanks for having once again chosen the Lady's First, together with a few fruits on a plate!
And yes, by the way, despites its name, this is not a Ladies Only place.
Only drawback: a very creaking wooden floor in some rooms which means you can be awakened earlier than expected if one of these rooms is above your head...

Room Tip: Just avoid room 102 which is situated just above the kitchen used to prepare breakfast: the rumbling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had to book a last minute room in the area. The hotel reception was welcoming, I was upgraded to a superior room which I found cosy, clean and confortable. Bathtub could have been slightly bigger. Breakfast was good and varied, quick employees, kind and all speaking a very good English. Positive experience indeed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Similar to other reviews this hotel is 3 stars and is a good three star hotel. Our room was clean, the staff were very helpful and we were surprised and. very happy that we were able to have our room early when we arrived in Zurich around 8am despite the normal 3pm check-in. However when the guests above us got home that night (after we were in bed) we were awoken by their footsteps. There are now rugs and slippers in each room but the floor is still very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_couple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here in 2008 and it took me so long to write this review... maybe because I want it to be a secret!
I'm a local but was staying in the hotel for a couple of days with a friend who was visiting Switzerland. Also men feel at home in the hotel.
The location is spot on, a block from the beautiful Zurich lake.You can walk everywhere or the the tram (next stop is very close). You can acually walk next to the lake to get to the hotel, very very nice.
Breakfast is absolutely wonderful. It is a small room which makes you feel very relaxed and they make fresh eggs for you. Bread is very lovely. For me breakfast is very important and I was not let down. Be aware: breakfast in the city will easily cost you 20, 30 francs, Sunday brunches easily 50 francs per person. Enjoy the breakfast in the hotel.
Room is very spacious and I loved loved loved the bathroom. I do not like big hotel complexes so this hotel makes you feel very welcome but typical Swiss, the staff is very discret but always there when you need them.
Hotel prices in Zurich are outrageous but with this hotel I think you get a lot for your hard earned money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nice_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#17 of 139 in Zurich
360 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
842 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Property: Lady's First Design Hotel
Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing