We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foundation E. G. Buhrle Collection
Save
Review Highlights
I can NOT believe, this attraction is #37 of 53

To art lover's this is a MUST see! Beautiful impressionist paintings. Check out the incredible... read more

Reviewed December 12, 2010
renwaaarr
,
Philadelphia PA USA
Closed Until 2020 But Available Worldwide and Soon Enough in Downtown Zurich

We managed to get into the Buhrle mansion during one of its last one-day-per-month open houses... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2015
GEDLosAngeles_CA
,
Los Angeles, CA
Read all 16 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Zurich
Lucerne City Tour
106 Reviews
from US$60.54
More Info
from US$87.22
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
9
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
4
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Foundation is closed to individuals not with accredited tours except for one day each month, and arrangements have to be made well in advance, but this extraordinary collection of impressionist and post-impressionist painting is well worth the effort. Others have compared the Buhrle to the Barnes, now relocated in Philadelphia, and that is not at all unfair (although the Buhrle is not as large as the Barnes, it has an equally good selection). All the paintings once stolen have now been recovered (although some are in restauration, and the Cezanne "Boy in the Red Vest" is currently being shown in the new wing of the Kunsthaus, Zurich).

The staff is helpful, and it is possible to make arrangements for your visit (if you are not on a tour) via correspondence, which can be electronic. Security is understandably quite tight, and you will not be admitted to the grounds unless your name is on a previously screened list. You can get there fairly easily via the number 4 tram, fom the Wildbachstrasse stop.

Date of experience: October 2012
1  Thank BobFran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2010

To art lover's this is a MUST see!
Beautiful impressionist paintings. Check out the incredible, "Monet's Garden". One room lost a few paintings, since, I've been there. A huge robbery took place there a few yrs back. 2 of the 4 bigtime paintings were recovered. One of the greatest paintings at that museum, Cezanne's, "Boy in the Red Vest", looks gone....forever. I remember staring at that masterpiece, for about 1/2 hr straight. Did that with, many paintings there.
Interestingly---in another museum, similar to this, (though much grander), The Barnes Foundation, in Merion PA, (on Philadelphia's Main Line), has 1 of the, "Boy in the Red Vest"'s. It's a bit eerie, now, to look at it, knowing the way the one in Zurich affected me. I have also reviewed the Barnes, in this site. If you know the Barnes, you can get a feel for what the Buhrle is about. Another fancy house, in a fancy neighborhood, with astounding works of art. Just as you enter...there were 3 or 4 great Delacroix's along the wall, up the steps.
That was just the beginning.
Also like the Barnes it's a bit out of, Zurich, proper. Splurge on a taxi to make sure. Plus, the desk will call you a taxi when you want to leave. I forget what it cost, but I KNOW it wasn't jaw dropping. I'd guess, around 15-20 bucks.
Also like the Barnes, it has quirky hrs, and days open. Check into that before you go. My 1st time I didn't check and I took the taxi all the way to the Buhrle, and it was closed! I had to wait, 4 more yrs for my 2nd trip to Zurich.
It was the focal point of that trip..(Was a pit stop to Weggis---a resort in the Alps--Also reviewed).
Totally memorable but...I will miss that Cezanne.

Ren

Thank renwaaarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews