We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms but comfortable in a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms but comfortable in a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Traveling on a two-week business trip, I had to find a decent hotel over the weekend that allowed me to combine business and pleasure and this fit the bill nicely. It's a small hotel in the Zurich Altstadt so its location is fantastic --- walking distance to the train station and to many other sights (although the excellent public transportation in Switzerland makes a location a bit of moot point). Although the room was very small (but typical by Swiss standards), it was functional -- it had great Internet access, a/c, and a decent bathroom. LIke all things Swiss, it was quite pricey but provided a good breakfast (and, I'll say it again, a great location). The downside was that the desk was window sill (big enough for my computer and papers but still a window sill) so people could see me working (privacy is not a virtue of this place). This is good place for those traveling alone or as a couple and looking for a quiet getaway that's practical and close to the city sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Grüezi TravelingPards

Thank you for having been guest at our little historical Hotel Helmhaus. We provide a free and easy accessible internet access in our hotel because we know how important this is for business travellers nowadays. Combining easy working with a location where guests still have time to explore the city is one of our quality goals, and it is nice to know that we could achieve that for you.
We furthermore recommend to our business guests to book a double room for single occupancy instead of a single room so they can enjoy more space for working.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
121
341
86
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Hotel Helmhaus, Zurich. We are very satisfied with this great property located in the heart of old town, walking distance from all key areas in downtoen Zurich.
The staff are very very cooperative, despite numerous queries from all travellers they are always there to guide us and provide their suggestions to make our trip enjoyable - Kudos!!!
The breakfast is well laid out and the overall ambience is very good.

One item which I have suggested is use of double bed comfortors in double bed rooms, the twin comfortors provided do not give the required coverage for a couple.

Overall agreat experience and good value for money

Room Tip: request for front side rooms for more sunshine, but remember these could be slightly more noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Grüezi Vivek P

Thank you and your wife for staying with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your time in our little Hotel Helmhaus and appreciated the service and friendliness of our team members.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Location
The location of the hotel is excellent.
Very quiet, near the lake and the river, three min walk from Bahnhofstrasse.
The reception is very small so is the elevator but the receptionist were very nice and helpfull.

Room – Comfort Double
The room was quite small as are most rooms in Zurich.
It was very clean and pleasant.
The bathroom was very small but spotless and renovated.
The bed was very comfortable.
The view was another building so close it was a little annoying.

Breakfast
A very nice Swiss style breakfast was included in the room rate. It was served in a cozy room and included hot dishes but the selection wasn't very rich.

A very nice small hotel I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Grüezi WorldTraveller10101

Thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us.

It is nice to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and our rooms – all of which have undergone extensive renovation in the past few years. Providing „Quality, not quantity“ is what we want to achieve for our guests.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Helmhaus is a small clean hotel where the scale of the place makes for a friendly pleasant atmosphere. Sure, the entrance foyer could have been larger, but a smile and a welcoming coffee made up for that. We requested a larger room with a quiet setting and this was met most adequately. The general location of the hotel was very convenient, and way better than others we had considered. The breakfast was both appetizing and served in a cosy attractive dining room. Staff were attentive without being intrusive. If you need more intimate accommodation than this hotel offers,
. . . check out the elevator for cuteness and size ;-)
Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Request larger room perhaps? Uncertain of parking availability for we did not require any.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank designmatters2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Grüezi designmatters2me

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts about it. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mention yourself: size does not always matter. In our small historic building we want to deliver warmth and cordiality, be it with the friendliness of our team members or with the colours and the decor of our newly renovated rooms and hotel interior.

It would be nice to welcome you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four Star hotel of Zurich, where history meets art and design.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

ideal location, small boutique hotel very herlpful and friendly staff.Walking distanceo all opf centrla Zurich (mainly old town)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Grüezi kenneth m

Thank you for having been our guest and for your positive feedback. It is nice to know that you valued the location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich and the friendliness and service of our team members.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel helmhaus I found on Trip Advisor and thought it would be a classic little boutique hotel . It was not as expected , rooms tiny , average decor , an no view from room 41 at all. For the price I thought it was no value for money . I couldn't get breakfast as they only opened at 8 am as it was Easter and I was leaving early.
The staff however were extremely helpful and friendly .

Room Tip: Don't take room 41
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Grüezi kuwinda

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. It is nice to read that you valued the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members.

All our rooms are adapted to the size of our historic building. It is important for us to give clear information abour our entire facility. Therefore, before making a reservation, we encourage our guests to inform themselves about our hotel, its rooms and their sizes, decor and rates – all of which can be retrieved from our webpage or via email or phone. We suggest that guests make reservations directly with us in order to get the best price and the best rooms.
Also an early continental breakfast is offered before the official breakfast time, which guests leaving early in the morning can enjoy.

Dear kuwinda, I hope this information was any clarifying. We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Pros
Very kind, friendly and really helpful stuff at reception desk;
Superb location for ANY daily activity or high intense night life;
Rooms are small, but cosy;
Windows soundproofing close to ideal;
Nicely updated bathroom with high level appliances (Villeroy and Boch) and bio/green supplies as body lotions, shampoo etc;
Really high-speed Wi-Fi internet (down 2.0 Mbps, up 0.5) allowing video Skype and streaming TV troubles free;
Wide choice of TV channels in many languages.

Cons
With all respect, but overpriced. The hotel management either should add significantly more into provided package or put its price on proper level;
Fan system in bathroom is inefficient; air flow from room's fan directed straight onto bed and working table, which is, in both cases, not healthy;
Comforter (blanket) is very short for tall;
Heavy walkers or noisy neighbours in connecting rooms are heard clearly.
Elevator is very small; its current size fits one bag and mid-size individual only;

Room Tip: You should be aware that your room window can face onto next building's wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexanderGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Grüezi AlexanderGB

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing your thoughts with us. It is nice to read that you appreciated the helpulness and friendliness of our team members, the sound proof windows, the wide choice of TV channels in different languages and the selection of the high level suppliances in the bathroom.

All the interior as well as the lift are adapted to the overall size of our hotel. Furthermore - the Hotel Helmhaus being a historic building dating back to the early 14th century - we are bound to constructional restrictions from the City of Zurich.

Zurich is an expensive destination, as is Switzerland, with the wage and price level on a very high level – but also a very high level of service and product quality. Accordingly hotel rates are also on a high level, compared to other countries. The rates of our hotel are on an average level, considering the location and the complete renovation which we have had during the last three years.
We also encourage our guests to book directly with us in order to get the best prices and the best rooms.

Dear AlexanderGB, I hope we could be of any help with this information. We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#8 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing