We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children ”

KULTURAMA Museum des Menschen
Ranked #103 of 191 things to do in Zurich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kulturama conveys knowledge and science to mankind in a comprehensive manner. The museum documents, explains and illustrates the evolution of animals and men, the biology of men and aspects of the cultural history from the civilization of mankind. It combines natural science with cultural history and offers two fascinating journeys through time: the first one leads you through 3.5 billion years of history of the evolution of life. The second guides you through the life of man from procreation to death. The comparative anatomy with real skeletons of animals and men illustrates the link between the prehistoric times and the present. Kulturama showcases an impressive collection of anatomical specimens, fossils and models. The «Discovery Trail» permits you to experience the body structure of man and animals as well as evolution from prehistoric times. The exhibition How We Learn illustrates scientific perceptions as well as amazing and stimulating concepts in in the process of learning.
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

I went my 7year old son and he found the museum great, mainly because the had a 'detective trail' with 12 questions to investigate. He really loved that. For adults there are some interesting bits and pieces though overall this has more the sense of a provincial museum putting on display whatever was found in the attic. It is lovingly put together though and the place run very well by enthusiasts it seems. So if you are looking to spend a rainy afternoon with children, visit!

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank zurichgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Kulturama is exactly the sort of place that everyone should have nearby. Age 5 to 65, we all loved it. We experimented, we played, we learned, we had fun.
Pity the restaurant, although adequate is not up to the same standard.
The shop was a complete disappointment. We looked in vain for things to continue the enjoyment at home.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2014

this is a great little museum with two floors of very interactive displays. although all the explanations were in German, it was pretty easy to grasp the key science and explain to our young children. There are another two floors of exhibit which the kids went around pretty quickly but were well entertained over two or three hours.
le Pain Quotidien is just around the corner if you need sustenance!

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank swissgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Kulturama museum is great for kids who enjoy science museums. It is stocked with great exhibits, high quality displays, and hands on activities. Right now, most of the displays are described in German, however, if you know the basics of evolution, the human body, and paleontology you can explain a lot using the exhibits as your guides. There is a fascinating exhibit with a mummy that we spent a lot of time at. Our kids took hold of the treasure map at the front desk and went exploring. We ended up in the hands on science section where they can test their senses and heart rates among other things. The staff is very helpful and excited to share the museum with you. We spent approximately 2 hours there, and it was well spent. The tram drops you right off at the corner and there is a great bakery across the street from the tram stop heading back towards the old town. The price is worth it, and if you have the Zurich Card it is even better.

Date of experience: February 2012
4  Thank Agnes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KULTURAMA Museum des Menschen also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to KULTURAMA Museum des Menschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing