We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terribly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“terribly disappointed”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We thought to find a 4-star hotel, but we found an hotel with bad accomodation, a smoking hall, however with friendly southern Netherlands employees. This hotel does not own more then 2,5 stars
First a major disappointment: the rooms are so small that even a single room is not the right expression for a double. And please never accept a room at the streetsite. Dutch people seem to have fun outside until 04,30 in the morning. Traffic rolls on and keeps one awake.
Beds, where even a 5ft8 cannot properly sleep, but the most unaccepable situation, the door cannot be open because a cubbart blocks the door.
DUTCH FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOULD RESEARCH whether this is acceptable.
The personnel were Limburgs friendly, but the fact that a restaurantis included in the hotel entry, the fact that the smel is terrible...... etc etc
Good: breakfast was perfect and the afternoon crew fantastic. Nice girls who even after a whole night out were pleasant at breakfast time.

Room Tip: never go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    198
    163
    59
    20
See reviews for
76
214
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the University. Rated this hotel as 'average' because it's exactly that. Average location on the edge of the city centre, average size rooms, average decor, average breakfast and average attention to cleanliness. I saw some nicer hotels while walking round the city but I guess you get what you pay for......

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My parents had a groundfloor room for handicapted/disabled people (they are not). This room was much smaller then our room on the 2nd floor. The shower had a very low pressure and the water run everywhere on the floor. Very strange construction. All together this room was a very poor room. Our room on the 2nd was OK. The essentials are there, bit street noise, but OK. Breakfast: the breakfast area is unfortunatelly extremely noisy because of the furniture that is too big and the floor is not suitable for this kind of furniture. It scratches all the time when people move, which makes a hell of a lot of noise. The hotel was fully booked so during breakfast it was difficult to get our stuff on a plate. The area is also very uncosy decorated and extremely hot. I guess if you adjust some aspects (lighter furniture, airco, nice lightning) it could be a much nicer breakfast experience. This is a very basic hotel. The price is about 100 euro a night. I find this rather expensive for such a basic hotel, but that's me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very good location close to city center.

Clean and well maintained.

Lived in a family room (kids 10 & 12) which was a bit cramped, but the price was good.

Good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PogoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in July when going to an Andre Rieu concert. The hotel was very centrally located. I had a single room which had two single beds. Room was spotlessly clean and staff exceptionally friendly. My room was at the front of the hotel and as it overlooks the main street I could hear some noise and traffic but really nothing major and this would be my only criticism. The breakfast choice was very good. I ate in the hotel restaurant one night and although it was a restricted choice set menu (I think because of the concerts) - I could not have faulted the food. Definitely would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a city break - good value for money hotel.
Incidentally the concert was wonderful and I would definitely recommend that.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alijam43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A great hotel when you get a deal on it, the front desk staff where extremely helpful, in the evening the bar was open until 2am and cheap 3 Belgium beers and 3 glasses of wine for less than 20 Euro., Breakfast was 'European' but extremely tasty, the room was clean and tidy even for a smoking room!
my only gripe being the air-con doesn't work unless the outside temp is above 18c....which meant my room was a little on the warm side.

All in all a great little hotel with great access to the city, with the centre only 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Micraman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The hotel has a very central location and it's the best side of this property. The entire city is within walking distance. The front-desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room are very small, it's not a standard for 4-star hotel. My room was basic clean, the bed was generally comfortable. The breakfast is very basic and overpriced ("only little as" 13,50 EUR!). The choice very limited, like th simple continental breakfast The service in the breakfast room was rather inattentive and not very nice for hotel's guest. For me unacceptable value for money. .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 37 in Maastricht
473 reviews
1.2 km away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
488 reviews
1.0 km away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
682 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bigarre
Hotel Bigarre
#30 of 37 in Maastricht
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Property: Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Address: Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum is located in the centre of Maastricht. Maastricht knows twenty ages of history, that are still visible in the town centre. The churches, treasure rooms and houses show a rich history, together with the city walls and the tunnels. From the hotel cities like Liege and Aachen are well accessible. Rooms The hotel has 119 comfortable deluxe rooms and 4 family rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The family rooms have the same facilities as the deluxe rooms, but there are 4 individual beds. The suites are more spacious and are extra fitted with 2 separate beds and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing