We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise”

Restaurant De Gelegenheid
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$55
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

We just happened to pass by and were at first reluctant that they didn't have an a la carte menu, only a surprise menu. It was indeed quit a surprise! Excellent dishes, prepAred with passion, care and making use of a variety of ingredients and flavours. Some really good wines were suggested. All in all a surprisingly great experience!

Thank jessicatS4091HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Hi Jessica.
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. Glad to hear, you enjoyed the food! Kind regards,
Peter en Inge restaurant de Gelegenheid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Probably the smallest but also the best restaurant of Roermond.

They switched from a menu to a 3 or 4 course surprise menu. With this choice, they can give much more attention in the preparation of the finest food.

The most exclusive and nice dishes are served, so let yourself be surprised by the skills of the cook and the hostess. You won't regret.

Thank ventheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Owner at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear Guest thank you for your review
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
Greetings Peter and Inge, until next time in our Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2017

The only thing I regret is that I haven't try this restaurant before, even though I passed by many times. Finally I did it, together with my greek colleague, and believe me it worths the experience.
Inge (now I now her name) told us that the restaurant was offering a surprise menu, and we accepted, although a bit reluctant at the beginning. Once we got the starter, and the professional description of the meal given by Peter (the chef) all our doubts dissapeared.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joseluism689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Best guest Spanish and Greek colleague,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor "Great food, better experience"
Greetings Peter and Inge, until next time in our Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

The perfect place to spend a nice evening with friends or your partner. You can eat very particular food, with good wines. The menu often changes, so you can try different food. It is not a tipical dutch menu, but very refined food. The Staff is amazing, they entertain with you, they create a familiar atmosphere, and are very nice!! Price: 40-50€ per person, but it is absolutely worth it!! We will cane back again.

Thank Bardakkkione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2016

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor "Feel at home".
Greetings Peter and Inge, until next time in our Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

The food was delicious- very expensive but worth the money. The service, however, was absolutely awful. The final course took 2 hours to come out, and our waitress was very rude.

Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant De Gelegenheid also viewed

Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 
Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 
Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Gelegenheid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing