We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of time needed”

Restaurant De Gelegenheid
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Roermond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$57
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed November 8, 2017

This restaurant offers a great ambiente. The food is outstanding and the owners are very friendly. We had a 4 course menu which was great. nothing to complain at all. The only reason for only 4 out of 5 points is the time needed. We arrived at 6:30 and diner was finished 11:30...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Dear Holger,

Thank you for your review.
We wish you all the best and hopefully you will visit us again if you are in Roermond.
Greetings from chef-kok Peter and Hostess Inge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Read good reviews so we decided to make a reservation. Once we arrived we were invited to sit at our table and as soon as my wife put her bag on the chair next to her and our little 1.4 kg chihuahua raised her head the owner became all excited and told us with a disgusted face that we had to go because animals were not allowed. So we left and i can't say anything except for the un politeness of the owner.... we got lucky a few doors further where we had a fantastic meal.

Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Wij hanteren de Hygiënecode voor de horeca.

Huisdieren
Wat ‘normale’ huisdieren betreft blijven de regels van kracht dat huisdieren niet zijn toegestaan in ruimtes waar eten en drinken wordt bereid of opgeslagen.

Buiten op ons terras zijn honden wel toegestaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

We just happened to pass by and were at first reluctant that they didn't have an a la carte menu, only a surprise menu. It was indeed quit a surprise! Excellent dishes, prepAred with passion, care and making use of a variety of ingredients and flavours. Some really good wines were suggested. All in all a surprisingly great experience!

Thank Jessica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Hi Jessica.
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. Glad to hear, you enjoyed the food! Kind regards,
Peter en Inge restaurant de Gelegenheid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Probably the smallest but also the best restaurant of Roermond.

They switched from a menu to a 3 or 4 course surprise menu. With this choice, they can give much more attention in the preparation of the finest food.

The most exclusive and nice dishes are served, so let yourself be surprised by the skills of the cook and the hostess. You won't regret.

Thank ventheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Owner at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear Guest thank you for your review
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
Greetings Peter and Inge, until next time in our Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2017

The only thing I regret is that I haven't try this restaurant before, even though I passed by many times. Finally I did it, together with my greek colleague, and believe me it worths the experience.
Inge (now I now her name) told us that the restaurant was offering a surprise menu, and we accepted, although a bit reluctant at the beginning. Once we got the starter, and the professional description of the meal given by Peter (the chef) all our doubts dissapeared.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joseluism689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gelegenheid, Eigenaar at Restaurant De Gelegenheid, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2017

Best guest Spanish and Greek colleague,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor "Great food, better experience"
Greetings Peter and Inge, until next time in our Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant De Gelegenheid also viewed

Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 
Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 
Roermond, Limburg Province
Roermond, Limburg Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Gelegenheid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing