We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a girls weekend in Amsterdam”
Review of Greetje

Greetje
Ranked #177 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$32
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Plantage & the East
Description: At Restaurant Greetje you will enjoy traditional local cuisine imbued with a modern, upscale twist. Using local, eco-friendly, and organic ingredients, our menu beings to life the best of Dutch cuisine throughout the centuries. Our staff loves to look after you. They have tried every dish on the menu and can recommend their favorites while regaling you the history surrounding each offering. The restaurant is situated in a quiet and beautiful area of downtown Amsterdam, right between the Montelbaans Tower and the Nationale Maritime Museum. Our interior is cozy, with gentle lighting, hardwood floors. and wainscoting. Our tables are set with first class custom made Villeroy & Boch table ware and cutlery. If you are looking for a memorable Amsterdam experience, filled with fabulous food and drink, Restaurant Greetje is your best choice.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of a girls weekend in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We visited this restaurant as a group of six friends on a long-awaited weekend away, as a result of wanting to experience true Dutch dining. We used Trip Advisor before we went to help us with our choice and I emailed from the UK to make a reservation for the Sunday evening.
I can honestly say the whole evening was an "experience" - from the moment we arrived until we left we received excellent, attentive service and the food and wine was superb. We started with champagne cocktails, had a tasting starter menu served on tiered plates - a detailed explanation of every part of the food was given - it was wonderful! We all had different main courses, all really enjoyed and after this we were quite full so asked if we could just have two of the tasting desserts to share - again it was all delicious. Would I recommend? Definitely, and although we had some great food in various other cafes and bars, if I'm in Amsterdam again it'll be the one place I'll revisit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamsfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    201
    92
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linköping
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quality, but lacks flavour”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We chose this restaurant during a visit to Amsterdam based on tripadvisor reviews. We wanted a restaurant that served authentic Dutch food in a traditional setting. The atmosphere was great - simple and elegant. The service was perfect. The food was of excellent quality - perfectly prepared and, according to the menu, mostly organic and locally produced. The servings were also more than sufficient. The big downside was the lack of flavour in everything. The food was salted, but that's about it - very little use of herbs, spices or other flavor enhancers. I suppose we really can't complain about this if this is the way traditional Dutch food is prepared. However, when we eat out we like to experience new flavors and combinations, so we were a bit disappointed. I guess it just depends on each person's individual preference!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LivinginSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food, service, ambience”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Brilliant evening with a client who we wanted to give a special evening and we weren't let down by any means. The service was excellent as was the food, would highly recommend Greetjes and when next in Amsterdam will definitely go back.Thanks to all the staff, even the client wrote to me to say what an excellent choice of restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjmorgan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“One of many great restuarants”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Recently spent 4 nights in Amsterdam and after seeing the reviews made a booking here for a special night. It was all very nice, I liked the cosy feel to the place, the food was excellent and the staff friendly. The other 3 nights of our stay we ate at places we just came across by chance and they were all just as good. We may have been very lucky but it seems that Amsterdam has many excellent restaurants, by all means go here but my tip would be to not hesitate in seeking out other places not in the top ratings.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“After a bumpy start things got a lot better.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife had booked a table at Greetje for our ninth wedding anniversary (we got engaged in Amsterdam ten years ago) via email in early January. We duly turned up on the 5th of April to be told - sorry we don't have your reservation. Not a good start.After being offered a table at the end of the bar (on its own with no atmosphere) things then improved greatly when we were told there was a free table in the main dining room.

Once seated successfully things improved greatly. The service and the food were excellent from there on in. The special starter of double pulled oxtail soup sounded wonderful but we both plumped for traditional favourites - me the black pudding (crispy and squidgy-excellent) and my wife the famous Greetje sandwich which she said was excellent. We then had the champagne sorbet intermediate course which was more like a granita than a sorbet and could be drunk through a straw - very nice and sharp. We both had the chicken special prepared in a chicken liver sauce - think beautiful succulent chicken and a foie gras style creamy sauce. Really was excellent and by now buoyed by wine we were felling merry.

I didn't have dessert - I rarely do but my wife did and then when our waiter (keen to get to the bottom of the problem with the booking) discovered it was our anniversary he gave us a liqueur each on the house - specially selected for the occasion. By the end the staff had got to the root of the booking problem and told us there had been a table with a canal view reserved for us but that the names had been mistranscribed from the email to the (hand written) daily list. Nevertheless we had had a great evening of food and drink and with good service throughout - once the initial hiccup was resolved.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Collegeprof101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing