We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
30
19
5
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
19
5
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2015

We stumbled across this hidden gem online and I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay close to the centre. You can walk/cycle to most places from here, a walk to the busy Rembrandt square will only take you 5/10minutes. We stayed in the standard room and the room was very clean, tidy and the bed was very comfy which is always a bonus. The only thing that let the room down (it didn't matter to us too much as we were out most of the time but may bother others) was that there was no natural light coming into the room. There is a big window but it only looks onto 3 other high walls letting no light in. The room however looks exactly like in the photos you see online and is just as described. I imagine the canal view rooms are stunning!! It seemed quite quiet whilst we stayed here we didn't bump into any other guests, however one night we came back and could hear the girl talking on her phone next door... The walls are quite thin. We had a slight issue on arrival that no one was there to let us in but once I phoned Ken the owner and he was there within 45minutes... If this happens to you pop over to Amstelhock, lovely views and great food and drink whilst you are waiting. Overall we had a great stay here and would definitely go again and recommend to others. You are very much left to your own devices once here which suited us perfectly.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2015

A 60€ ride from airport to hotel , which is not bad.
A three person room, with little kitchen, dining table fully equipped. No microwave or stove but good to make sandwitches or salads. Coffee, tea, drinking water.
Confortable beds, clean room , nice little living room.
Walking distance from anywhere downtown.
We just saw the owner once when we checked in never again, but then again we did not need him for everything.
If you go to amsterdam this place is perfect and beautiful with canal viev if you ask for it.
Do buy a Holland pass online it will safe you lots of time avoiding huge lines to get into places, we bought a a two day tram ticket,easy to understand and very cheap, less than 9 €.
If you book through trip advisor you safe yourself trouble, the owner hardly answers the phone and is never around. If you get there you have to ring the bell on the left side of the black wall.

Room tip: Canal view!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna-Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2015

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights, ad it was not nearly enough.
When we entered the building the smell was so fresh and clean and was always smelling great throughout our entire stay.
The Guest House manager was very polite and accommodating with us.
He walked us through to our room and showed us everything we needed to know.
Our room was immaculately clean, tidy and was styled and decorated in a modern way.

We stayed in the Canal view room, which was quite magical during the day and night. staying by the water was very relaxing. You could sit and enjoy your morning coffee which was provided for you with the room. I was quite surprised to find we had our own coffee maker and all the things we needed for it.

overall our stay was very pleasant and I would recommend it to anyone.

A BIG THUMBS UP! :)

Room tip: Canal View
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie198477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2015

I had a nice stay here with my partner. We were welcomed by the owner Ken and paid cash on arrival. We stayed in the double room (no canal view, we were aware of this)
The room was clean, nespresso machine with new coffee pods and tea each day. Rooms were also cleaned each day. Wifi signal was weak, however that wasn't an issue for us.
Flat screen TV in the room, good signal.

Great location, few minutes walk to central station, its in a quieter residential area of town.

I would be interested to know if anyone else has heard the lady in the apartment above? 3 mornings in a row she screamed at her kids at 7:30am...very very loud..quite some language she was using too.! We were woken each morning by this. Again wasn't a real issue for us.

We would recommend this place if you are willing to spend a little more.

Ken let us leave our bags in the apartment after checkout (12pm) , we came back and collected them at 5pm.

Thanks for the stay!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 0ctave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2015

Wow, ok, here goes....

the apartment that we booked on line didn't and will never do it justice, squinting at strange little pictures on the laptop sitting in our bedroom couldn't compare with the wonderfulness of actually finding ourselves after a long day traveling , settled into comfort and luxury and being in Amsterdam, the apartment is clean, comfortable, modern and well placed for all of the major attractions,

We booked for 3 nights and after a whole day of tramping around the city, our daughter decided that she'd like to spend the evening relaxing inside, unlike a hotel, there is opportunity to lounge around the apartment. there is a decent sized kitchen with fridge-freezer, table, chairs, coffee maker, plates, bowls cups, etc etc...

We would definitely recommend the apartment to anyone as opposed to a hotel as there is more space to spread out and feel at home.

our host was very welcoming and unobtrusive (Ken), even offering to sew a button on my trousers, but that's another story....

If you haven't been to Amsterdam before, most definitely go, do, avoid the drugs and soak up the culture.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews