We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but worked out very well....”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different but worked out very well....”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

How close are you? Do you not mind pooping in front of your partner or friend? These are issues to consider when booking a room. As the bathroom and shower are within the room, the bathroom is created by closing a lightly frosted glass tube around you and the shower is created by a clear glass tube sliding around you in a very space age...Jetsonish way. Your partner and in my case, friend, watched me pee and shower but I did go downstairs when I needed to poop. I was fine but my friend was a bit uncomfortable.
I loved the hotel and would stay again provided I was alone or with the right person. I was told an older father/daughter decided not to stay in the hotel when they realized the privacy issue and there was no other available room.
Though, I focused on the shower/bathroom situation I completely enjoyed the international staff and experience. Fun and different and cheaper! Not for the conventional.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same though you have a choice between garden and city view. Neither are super or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMeKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,647
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,410
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We loved returning to our room at the end of a long day exploring the city, the bed was perfect and one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on! The room has a great lighting system and the shower is very good too with a nice duo of shower gels/shampoo.
It has a great friendly atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome and at home.
Some previous reviewers have criticized how coming back to the hotel after midnight is difficult or expensive....there are frequent night buses which are included if you GVB travel card!
The only thing to improve on the room would be perhaps to have a mini fridge as we liked to buy local food. Also an in room tea/coffee making facility, as there was often a queue in the cafe for their coffee in the morning!

Overall though we loved our stay and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

stayed in amsterdam 1 night on business - could not believe the low price.
it is extremely good vaule for money
the building is hmm unapealling but once inside you feel that you entered a very trendy hotel with a vibrant feel about it. there is a mix of young touristsand business people.
the rooms are tiny (about 2 * 8 mtr) and too small for two persons unless you are very much nilove.... Interiors very modern, bed excellent, gadgets fun (everything int he room is adjustable with one remote even the color scheme).
showers and amenities work well, all TV, movies, Wifi is free and for 9.95 you even get a decent (if simple) breakfast. I will certainly try them out in london when they open.
at 87 euro?? great value
Location of the hotel is out of the towncentre - app 10min by tram i would guess.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUMMIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Excellent hotel for business trips or couples. A 5 minute walk from Amsterdam South railway station + metro and trams take you to the city center in 10 minutes.
But staying in this hotel is an experience. The lobby feels as if you're staying in a Vitra showroom with all the classics there to relax in, lots of space and a couple of Macs if you need to check your mail or get some work done. Friendly and helpful staff.
The room was almost heaven. The bed perfect. And the first half hour I spent playing with the remote to try out all different moods (music + light). Free wifi, free vod,...
Loved it and will stay at Citizen M again. Can't wait for the hotel in London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed here many times due to its closeness to WTC. I dont enjoy the self service experience as the rates are as high as a full service hotel. The rooms are a bit weird if you have not stayed here before and the box like structure and also the hallways can be a bit claustrophobic. The personnel are kind and respectiful but a lot of them are not very experienced in hospitality. The breakfast is poor, most super market bought stuff in a bag and a coffee.

They have grabbed a niche market i.e. people who can afford a good vacation but want to stay like backpackers, people working in WTC nearby.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter, all rooms are exactly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gauravm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

CitizenM is a very efficient operation with emphasis on self-service and value. The hotel is very design focused - the lobby is cool, well designed and huge, with plenty of space to work or relax. The cafe is a great touch - making it easy to get a drink or something to eat. Staff are friendly and efficient - and the check in/out process is very smooth with the self service terminals.

The rooms are compact but well thought out - although it is not a hotel suitable for long stays (unless you travel light). The bed is huge and comfortable and the bathroom, which is in your room, functional if a little quirky. As well as some nice design touches, the high tech mood pad controlled pretty much everything in the room including lighting, sound, TV... I really liked it here and would absolutely stay again - it is excellent value, although situated in the business district, so possibly not such a good location if you are on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.8 km away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
2.6 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
2.8 km away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing