We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, cozy, & friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #89 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Argentina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun, cozy, & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We rented the loft for 4 nights prior to Easter. It was so much fun !!! LOTS of steep wooden stairs, but then, what else is there to expect in "Old Amsterdam"? jaja. Two-storey flat, with MANY full-screen windows (we love light, so for us it was great!). Daniel was very helpful, attentive to every detail. Very nice continental breakfast with local cookies and pastry. Opposite a very fanciful square (every day a new move in it !) on the border of the amazing red-light district. Walking distance to everything, with a supermarket across the street and a fridge in the room... will definitively stay here again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajera-del-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
67
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I decided to take my boyfriend away for his birthday and this place was the icing on the cake. We stayed in the studio - which is a beautiful space complete with a basic kitchen.

Daniel the owner is really friendly and helpful - he sat down with us and ran through a map at the start of our trip and made it very clear we could contact him at any time if we needed any help.

As mentioned in other reviews the breakfast is good and the location - perfect.
A deposit of half the cost of the stay is required for the room – do not let this put you off staying in this beautiful place.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeSmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

My husband and I stay for two nights in April and we found the Inn Old Amsterdam a perfect place to stay at the beginning of our honeymoon in Europe.

The location was excellent, facing onto Nieumarket, close promixity to all the sights, restaurants, cafes, etc. We stayed over the weekend and we did not find it noisy at all even though our room was above a cafe. It actually was a good thing because we were able to have a nightcap!

Our room was clean and comforting. I am always pleased when a room uses good linens, fluffy pillows and a comfy bed- this place had all three!

My husband and I are planning on staying here again when we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrow03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We have just returned from a trip to the Old Inn. We stayed over 4 days and we went to the Queens Celebration. Which was amazing to see.
Where do i start about the Old Inn. It was in the perfect position for walking everywhere. Trams not needed, just a good pair of walking shoes. Daniel and Nicky were lovely. So kind and friendly. The apartment was PERFECT. Well equipped and the bed was really comfortable, unlike other places we have stayed at.
The breakfast that Daniel and Nicky provide was perfect. You help yourself and take it back to your apartment. There is no time scale for the breakfast, its always out and that was perfect for us.
Daniel was more than happy for us to stay a few hours longer in the apartment due to our flight not leaving till later afternoon at no extra charge.
The only issue i found with the Old Inn were the stairs. You have to be really careful coming up and down them, they are VERY steep. and would of like blinds in the kitchen for privacy from the local residents. But this isn't stopping up going again in August with friends. I would HIGHLY Recommend this place to anyone, apart from people who find it difficult with stairs.
It's a little gem inside Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niece1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Room cozy, well equipped and clean. My teenage daughter and I agreed we had the best location in amsterdamn. It wasn't filled with tourists. Breakfast was delicious. It is an easy walk from the train station, although we didn't realise this and took a taxi on arrival. The only difficulty was locating the front door the first time. The It is tucked in next to the cafe and painted the same colour as the cafe so had to isolate. Ask Daniel to give you directions and pointers and you should have no trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Very recommended! Owner is very kind and very helpful. Very good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giannima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed in a really cosy loft style apartment that looked out over one of the historic squares in Amsterdam. The accomodation was clean, stylish and the service was extremely friendly and helpful.

I was a little hestitant at first about a direct transfer payment but my doubts were unfounded and plessed tp have made the choice to stay there.

I would recommend anyone take the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#235 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#28 of 226 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#19 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Centrum
Shauna Apartment
Shauna Apartment
#132 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing