We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a well needed rest”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #23 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2012

After a 10 hour plus flight, airport baggage mishaps, I arrived at the Posthoorn 3 hours past my scheduled time. The B&B is not on the normal bus route from the airport. I was lucky that the bus driver saw my dismay and 55 minutes later I was at the postcard view buliding. Francios , the owner ,gave me a choice of two rooms. The downstairs flat, with its seperate outside entrance is very steep ( if u have large luggage as I did, it would be cumbersome), the room is clean but a bitt to confining for my taste. Also a little musty odor was present. The other room available is on the main floor and at the back with an outside garden view . The moment I walked in I felt I was at home. You go thru a small kitchenette area, then enter a hugh room with a queen bed,large sofa,and wall to wall windows that bring in the light ( even on a rainy day) ,an updated modern bath and no outside noise. The room has a TV ,comfortable bed, a window/door that goes to the small terrace with table and chairs , the small kitchenette with ample supply of coffee, cream, wine,beer and soda are all u need for a few days of rest .

I do want to add that their was no phone, no "tolietries" as u would receive at a regular hotel, but u do have a regular size liquid soap and shampoo .ALso ,do not forget your travel book/papers regarding the area . Franscios was limited in the "tourist" info stuff but he did have a map thus I was able to navigate thru out the city with ease. On that note, the positive things for the location of this B & B is that I was able to go a fantastic flea market that was right accross the canal and I purchased wonderful goods . They have this market every Monday!!! ALso ,the area has many local bakers, cheese stores, fresh food markets ,candy stores and of course the ample pubs/restaurants. plus the palce is clean,private and historical . I would return again ,only to book the same room or the front room with a view of the canal.

If you like to shop ,have too much luggage to dragg on the cobbble stone streets to catch local transport & thus have to use private trtansport ,bring one moderate size lightweight wheeled bag ,then u can use the local transport to the airport ( save your money for local goods ).

ENjoy your stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadowbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

This place was a really pleasant surprise. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable and clean. The room we stayed in was more like a studio flat with a small kitchen area and breakfast bar. Breakfast was delivered each morning at our requested time and was excellent, consisting of breads, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh squeezed OJ etc... Coffee and tea facilities are in the room including an espresso maker. The owner was very helpful and friendly, clearly taking great pride in what he does. Location was perfect too. Just in the edge of the Jordaan, it was 10 minutes brisk walk to Central Station with lots of small cafes and bars on the doorstep yet did not seem like a tourist trap. Most of the main attractions were within 30 minutes stroll along the canals. Much better than any hotel we could have chosen. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbornio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

What a wonderful experience we had just a few days ago! Evrythinh is just right! The room, the dinner, the service and the surroundings. The hotel is near Amsterdam. Just 25 minutes by bus. Monnickendam, Volendam and Marken are real old Dutch cities and are nice to visit. The days seem to last longer when you stay in the Posthoorn!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BOb79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed in the Canal View room which was lovely. We were greeted by Francois who was very warm and accommodating. He began by telling us the history of the house and then showed us on a map the different places to visit in Amsterdam and a few tips. The room was very clean and the bed was extra comfy (memory foam mattress and pillows!). The fridge was stocked with complimentary wine, beer and soft drinks which was a nice touch. The bathroom was also nice and the shower was powerful. If you are one for watching TV in the morning or in bed then you will be pleased to hear that most of the channels are in English (including BBC1 and 2). Made use of the free wifi which was great. Francois asked what time we would like breakfast the following morning and it was brought into our room promptly. The breakfast was delicious and consisted of boiled eggs, ham, turkey and cheese slices. There was also different bread, pastries and fruits as well as orange juice. The location is excellent and its very near to everything. It's about a 10 minute walk to Dam Square and about 15 mins walk from Central Station. It's also in a very quiet part so there was not much noise at night. If you get time and would like a nice meal I would recommend Brasserie Vlaming which is on the same street as the Posthoorn. It's about 5 mins down the road. Overall a lovely place to stay and will definitely be recommending to others. Hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What can I say, we have just got back from an amazing trip in Amsterdam and thank you to the Posthoorn for the lovely hospitality. We were welcomed by the very friendly owner Francois and although we arrived early he welcomed us in and our room was ready. The house is beautiful and has lots of history which Francois explained to us and was all really interesting. The room was a nice size, very clean with a kitchenette and we had a nicely stocked fridge and bathroom.

The breakfast was delicious and more than enough, lots of variety and it was all fresh. The house is located in a very picturesque and quiet part of Amsterdam with views of the Canal and just a short walk from the Anne Frank house, central station and all the sights and museums.

I will definitely book The Posthoorn again and this is a perfect place for couples.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Food-Critic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We got back from Amsterdam yesterday after a couple of days staying at the Posthoorn. We've been to Amsterdam quite a few times and we would definitely stay here again. The house is beautiful and the host and family very friendly. Francois gave us a history of the house, which was very interesting and the history of the house tied in with local history too which added something to our walks and sightseeing.

The location is great, easy to find and close to Central Station but not too close! The room was lovely with everything we needed, the bed was extra comfy and we slept well, our fridge was stocked with various drinks and the breakfast plentiful!

We will definitley book again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the canal view room which was very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spez80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed there for 3 nights as a part of our 10 day trip in the Netherlands-Belgium trip. The house owner, Francais, was a great host since he welcomed us by all the needed information of the city and the surrounded area. The location of this place is unbeatable because it is located in the quiet area of the city, but not too far to walk to any interesting tourist attractions. The Ann Frank's house is located just 5 minutes away by walking along the beautiful canal. If you are like me, who don't like walking that much, you can always use the canal bus (actually it is the boat) that can take you everywhere in the city.

As for the included breakfast, they were fantastic since Francais prepared us with very delicious bread, soft-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yogurt, and fruits.

Just one thing to point out to the readers. Since this is the old house as most of the houses in this area, you might be able to feel or hear the footsteps of the people upstairs. This is quite normal and I believe it happens everywhere if you stay in the old building anywhere in the world. But if you can't really accept that, I don't think this is the place for you. As for me, I love this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#33 of 338 in Amsterdam
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#29 of 338 in Amsterdam
190 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 338 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $242 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing