We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, centrally located, relaxing, easy going stay”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quirky, centrally located, relaxing, easy going stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Booked the Mauro Mansion based on reviews and value for money and I wasn't disappointed!

It is very easy to find, 5 mins from station. Yes, it's next door to the Red Light District but you don't really notice and you can easily walk round it.

Was made to feel welcome from the moment I booked, friendly emails and when my preferred room became available I was notified and moved - fabulous!

Our room was courtyard and directly above the breakfast room. It was very clean (& I'm very funny about the cleanliness of hotel rooms!) We enjoyed the quirky decorating. Two slight gripes - the lockers were short so my husband's clothes were squashed and as it was above the breakfast room we could often hear music, not really an issue but slightly annoying.

Breakfast was fabulous, fresh food, loved the pate and the extra dishes (pancakes, strawberries, sweet breads) were a lovely touch. Was great to be able to borrow DVDs after a days walking.

If I was to return to Amsterdam I would stay here again. If you want a chain hotel then stay at one, if you want quirky and Amsterdam stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nichollsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    141
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
762
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

But confused as to why this is number one. Maybe I expected too much after reading all the glowing reviews but I was severely disappointed. Stayed in a canal room which became very noisy at night. As for the area, my partner and I very nearly got mugged on the street outside the hotel. The room itself was ok, awful smell obviously coming from the toilet which was nauseating! One tiny wardrobe as well to store your stuff. I appreciated the free mini bar but would have to say we had little/no communication with the owners, we decided against asking them for anything after we kept getting strange looks from them when we tried to. Also as a couple travelling was disappointed to have two twin beds pushed together? Will definitely not be back and as mentioned am disappointed as I was so looking forward to the experience. Maybe I was just unlucky though as there are so many other positive reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Biggles2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very good hotel, romantic and convenient, we stayed there last week and enjoyed a lot from the room, breakfasts and hospitality of the owners. The view from the canal room just fantastic and free minibar in the room is a nice surprise. I would recommend it to any couple that have a romantic holiday in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swilly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is easily found and only a few minutes from the central station.

Downstairs they have breakfast and an honesty bar with food and drink if you get peckish in the night.

Our room was canal side, a little bit noisy when people walked past but the hotel has earplugs if you need them.

Room was good sized and the drinks/shower gel, etc. were of a higher quality than you would usually expect.

The staff were very friendly and we got some strawberries and cream for breakfast.

All in all a good hotel to pick

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Mauro Mansion was a great place to stay - Berry and Marcel were lovely and very helpful. They were happy to book us into restaurants for dinner and gave us a great dinner recommendation. Breakfast was very healthy and fresh, the room was extremely clean and the location great.

We stayed in a canal room which had a great view, the night-time noise didn't bother us at all and the welcome drinks in the mini-bar were a great touch. On our return trip to Europe later this year we will definitely be staying at Mauro Mansion again.

Room Tip: The canal rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Thank you Berry & Marcel for a wonderful stay. Couldn't have asked for a nicer, more stylish accommodation. The breakfasts were superb. We really appreciated your warm hospitality and all the great recommendations for visiting Amsterdam. Hope we can return in the future.

Room Tip: We had a canal view and LOVED it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel last weekend of Feb & it was great! Berry & Marcel were really nice, the place is very clean & just gorgeous!
Breakfast is really nice quality.
It's got such a great thing about it, that it attracts really sound people.

Deffo recommend it mainly for couples, or people travelling with 1 person or a close friend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing