We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but worthwhile...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Ranked #79 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 March 2012

a simple but worthwhile stay, if you prefer a quieter yet still convenient location... paid €85 for a superior room, definitely 'worth it' for amsterdam... bathroom spacious, room basic but comfortable...no complaints, would certainly recommend onward..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel was clean, modern and in a good position to join in a few steps Van Gogh Museum and the city centre. What we didn't expect was the poor and expensive breakfast ( 12€ added per person) we found. No cakes, croissants or any "sweet" food (you had to pay an extra ) apart from some fruit jam, eggs, ham and cheese.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank federicoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed 8 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 March 2012

At the price we paid (105 Euros per night) the Hotel Conscious Vondelpark simply wasn't a good deal.

Although it sells itself as an eco hotel, there's little to differentiate it from most modern-built hotels - choosing showers and toilets that use less water is nothing unusual, taking energy usage into consideration is nothing unusual either. In practice, what it seems like is an excuse to save money under the guise of a marketing gimmick (though I accept that the motivation may be more genuine).

In an attempt to be quirky, there are messages from the hotel (as though it were an aware being in its own right) to the visitors, about showers, about heating, about power and so on. All the bedroom doors have slightly provocative messages on them. It's the kind of thing I sometimes like but here it just feels far too forced.

Rooms are small but attractive enough. Unfortunately, pillows are very thick, like very fat square sofa cushions. I gave up and used a towel. The bathroom seems decent, with large walk in shower, but layout means that water splashes out over the bathroom floor, and the tiny bathroom floor towel isn't adequate to save the floor from slipperiness.

When we checked in, I asked to be assigned to a quiet room and was told we were in a garden view room. It made me laugh (wryly) when I looked out of our window onto a space between two rows of buildings, once upon a time this may have been garden but nearly all of it was roofed over into additional living space, with only tiny patches of very neglected garden. Incidentally, I had the impression from the hotel website that it was actually right on Vondelpark. It's not, it's on a street parallel, so don't expect any views of the park, from any room (not that this is claimed on the website, to be fair).

Another issue with the rooms - in order to reduce energy use, housekeeping staff turn the heating down when they come into your room. On the weekend of our visit, the first weekend in March, the weather was very cold indeed, and it took several hours for the room to heat back up when we reset the heating on our return in the evenings. Even with the extra blanket on the bed, I was very cold.

Staff servce at the reception is warm, friendly and helpful. A booking was made for us in a restaurant I'd researched ahead of our arrival, though I was surprised the staff hadn't heard of it.

Be aware that, regardless of management responses to previous reviews, there really is nothing of interest, food and drink wise, in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, nor is it a pleasant or attractive area to explore. The saving grace is that the tram stop is directly outside the hotel, and it takes only 5-15 minutes (plus the wait for the tram) to get to more interesting parts of town.

Because of the ease of travelling, via the tram network, I'd stay here again only if the room prices were pretty much half of what we paid. Any more than that and I'd rather find a hotel in the heart of the central area, or in one of the funkier outlying neighbourhoods, of which there are many.

Nothing wrong with the hotel really, just that it doesn't provide enough (on an eco front, on the room front, on a location front) to justify the price tag.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conscious_Hotels, Manager at Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Kavey,

Thank you for your extensive review of your experience at our hotel. I am sorry your stay at our hotel did not work out for you. I could give you at least 60 reasons why our efforts on sustainability have been awarded with a Green Key Gold award (highest rank in Sustainable Hospitality), but I wouldn’t want to dismiss your sincere opinion.

Therefore I will investigate the issues you have raised (shower, pillow) and will try to improve our operation if necessary (and possible). The other matters you have raised are subject to taste and/or liking. I am aware that some people like our (informal) ways of communication and some don’t, and that some people love our neighborhood, and some don’t. However, even though we would like to please every single guest we welcome at our hotel, unfortunately we are not able to do so.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my partner and another couple.
the staff were extremely helpful and polite, very relaxed atmosphere at the hotel, especially in the lounge area.
nice and quiet at night, and very secure hotel and hotel rooms, the safe was especially appreciated.
tram stop right outside the door which was excellent, and tram tickets were available to buy from the hotel reception.
beautiful rooms and huge beds, which were so comfortable!!

although the only downfall was the 10minute wait because the receptionist could not find my booking, which resulted in not getting the room i requested (with a balcony) but i think this was down to the "easy to book"website and not the hotel itself. but the receptionists were very helpful and found me another room, so i do not think i would book through this website again, as it caused a bit of panic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank metbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hip and cool hotel in Amsterdam, with a relaxed atmosphere. The reception was a bit messy and we were suprised that we had to pay the city tax and breakfast in advance. We also had to sign to promise not to smoke in the room.
The hotel consists of an A-and B-tower, that means 2 houses in 2 blocks, connected by a corridor. The corridors are bit of a dark maze.
The room itself was fresh, not large, but neat and had a neat bathroom. We had a good and quit sleep.
Tram 1 stops right outside, 8 minutes to Leidseplein. The breakfast was good enough (€ 11.50), but nothing special. Free WIFI.
Conscious Vondelpark is just a good and not too expensive hotel has a good public transport to the city centre. Take also a relaxing walk in the Vondel-Park, just around the corner. We have also stayed once in Conscious Museumsquare, the rooms were bigger there and the location was closer to the center, but was a little more expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel and had a very good experience. Took the upgraded room, perhaps 10 euro more per night. it was in the back wing on the quiet street in the rear of the hotel. Nice size room, good bathroom, very clean and quiet. it's a simple room but nicely done and the staff were friendly. For this price in Amsterdam, I can certainly recommend this hotel. Right next to Vondel Park and 5 minutes to the city center are on a tram (stop right out front) or on a bike. Impressed.

Room Tip: go for the upgraded room to be in the back tower for a quieter spot away from the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gc12272013p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#48 of 372 in Amsterdam
169 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#117 of 372 in Amsterdam
880 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#108 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Address: Overtoom 519 /521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing