We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central, cosy and comfy after a long day in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mix
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
246 reviews
Mix
Kitchen
Kitchen
Singel Canal
Bathroom
Living/Bedroom
Books
From outside
Bathroom
Outside to relax!
Guestbook!
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 246 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Alice S
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central, cosy and comfy after a long day in the city”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is lovely - well-heated, bed is extremely comfortable (Carolina even provided us with dressing gowns!), tea/coffee/plates/utensils/everything you need in the kitchen, toiletries were provided, rooms are all really spacious with tonnes of room, shower and bath are both great, and we were very amused to be able to have a sink each and brush our teeth together at the same time!

It's got a really lovely, unique feel with real thought and consideration for guests, and what is more - right in the historic district of Amsterdam on the Singel canal, close to all the major tourist sights (red light district is practically around the corner, as well as Anne Frank house) but is amazingly serene and peaceful at night time.

We didn't actually get to spend much time in the apartment as we were only there for the weekend and were in town for most of the day and night, but the apartment was a great base from which to explore the city and was lovely to come back to at the end of a tiring day. Carolina was really excellent for recommending some great places that we wouldn't have known about otherwise, and she left long lists of her personal restaurant and attraction recommendations in the apartment which were really helpful, as well as maps and leaflets from all the attractions around town - it was like a mini tourist information office with a lovely personal touch! :)

Thank you to Carolina for letting us stay, would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive bed!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenz977...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in the heart of Amsterdam!”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I were very fortunate to have stayed at Singel 96 - Bed and Apartment from 7 - 11 January this year and we could not have asked for a better accommodation.

The location is perfect - right in the heart of Amsterdam and a 5 minute walk from the central station. We arrived late in the evening and the next morning when I drew the curtains I was amazed by the view of the canal across the small street from the window.

Our host Carolina was exceptional, friendly and always available to assist us by recommending restaurants and regular site seeing information. Her apartment is spacious, cosy and extremely well decorated. The bathroom and kitchen are perfect for a family visit to Amsterdam.

Carolina makes you feel right at home and makes sure you have all the basics such as a supply of tea/coffee and toiletries on arrival which I found special. Staying at Singel 96 made our first visit to Amsterdam so special.

Would recommend Carolina's apartment over staying at any hotel!

Lastly, the beds are so comfortable - for a great nights rest after spending a day sightseeing in the city.

Will definitely be back again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Lorenz & Megan
South Africa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyeux c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very cosy apartment”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Carolina was a very helpful and kind host. We arrived soon in the morning and she let us the apartment before the hour so we could rest a little. The apartment is nice, well decorated, spacious and very well located. You can go to the museums or touristics areas by foot. Good beds, quiet at night, restautants and bars nearby, i highly recommand Singel 96.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkwmkw13
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation with very efficient owner. Beautiful part of Amsterdam. We had a wonderful stay and will be back again next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvdh666
Trentham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A 10 minute stroll from Amsterdam central station, followed by a warm welcome by Carolina , I immediately felt at home in this cosy yet spacious 18 th century canal side apartment. Trains and trams are a short walk away , also cafes and supermarkets aplenty . Thank you Carolina for a very pleasant but all too short a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Quality of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERBfd
USA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting Amsterdam for years. This year we decided to try a short-term rental for part of our stay instead of a hotel. We could not have been more pleased with the week we spent last August at Singel 96. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. It has an excellent location on a great canal near the Jordaan neighborhood and the City’s old center. It is short walk from Central Station and to a Tram stop where five lines stop, which makes getting around Amsterdam easy.

The apartment is in the basement, only 3 stops down, so natural light fills the front room. There are three rooms. The bedroom/living room is very large with a king size comfortable bed. The wifi was excellent.

The very modern bathroom is large with a big tub, shower stall, double sinks and a bidet. We enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts sitting the table in the kitchen. The kitchen has skylights and is quite bright on a sunny day. There are grocery stores close by.

The photographs of the rooms on Singel 96’s website are accurate down to the one of the small door you enter it from the street.

We were there at the end of the “heat wave” in August. The basement room was cool and the back door could be opened for additional air from an upstairs patio.

The area and the nearby Jordaan neighborhood are full of excellent restaurants, bars and stores. The owners’ list of recommended restaurants is excellent. Two of our favorites are Max, which we visit on every trip to Amsterdam, and De Reiger.

The owners also provide pamphlets and information on things to do in Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HornetofH...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal location, comfortable and helpful owner”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I think the title of the review says it all really. My wife and I stayed here with our two children in April. We were well prepared but never the less Carolina's tips were invaluable. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on too. [I hope Carolina you have done something on the canal side area as you had planned...I'll be walking past next week so I'll check ;-)....sadly you were booked up]

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing