We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel for ok money - kind staff.”
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
Ranked #115 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An ok hotel for ok money - kind staff.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Hotel The Exchange over the weekend. Unfortunately we got a room with a very bad smelling bathroom. We asked to be moved but the hotel was fully booked. We stayed in the room over night - not happy, but the next day we were moved to a much better room. This was handled very well by the staff.

Room Tip: I would only choose a 4 or 5 star room at this hotel. Some of the other ones have no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWNCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    467
    175
    66
    53
See reviews for
65
636
88
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a great Hotel if i come to Amsterdam again i stay at this hotel............thanks it was very great. The diffrent rooms a really cool

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Rooms are small but confortable and clean, the bathroom are also confortable and clean, very central position, close to DAM square and 5 min walking from the Central Station.

Room Tip: no hairdryer in the bathroom so you need to bring with you one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giancarlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The rooms are simple but very clean and with all the essentials. Some of them can be quite interesting since they've been decorated by local artists.
Staff is professional and friendly and you can have very good breakfasts in the bar next door.
It's located very close to Dam Square and to the central station (2 minutes on foot to reach both).
Beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Trendy hotel with a nice concept. The location is great, close to the Dam, the Centraal and the Red Light district. It has an elevator - which is definitely a plus in central A'dam. The entrance is a bit difficult to find, since it's just a door (we used the kebab place beside as a point of reference). Each room is unique and has been decorated by fashion students. We booked a 1-star room for one night and, since all were occupied, we were upgraded to a 3-star. The room itself was very basic and small, with no minibar and few amenities, but quiet (facing the back) and clean. Some people may not like the decor though. Ours had the walls totally covered with pink fabric and black ribbons. It was a bit dark and claustrophobic but it seems that there are rooms with a nice feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stumbled on this gem of a hotel very much by accident after my original hotel (The Atlanta - not a great place) screwed up my reservation.
What I found by pure chance was a funky art house, completely remodeled in the heart of Amsterdam's tourist district.
My room was delightfully bizarre - a bit tiny, but clean and very comfortable.
Flat screen TV and private ensuite were great bonuses.
The staff was fantastic and gave me a late checkout on my last day.
Grand Centraal is a 5 minute walk away, and all the city's main attractions are easily accessible.
Thumbs up. I would highly recommend The Exchange!

Room Tip: A room facing the street WILL be noisy, but at the back of the property you can hear a pin drop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMerryMisanthrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

If you are travelling to Amsterdam and just want a normal room with bed and bathroom this place is really good, the staff is friendly and the installations are good. The room is small, but por 2 people just staying a few days it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilsvdburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 368 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Property: Hotel The Exchange
Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing