We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estherea
Nearby Hotels
US$410
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$310
US$296
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sir Albert Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aalders(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$139
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$495
US$421
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,175)
Filter reviews
4,175 results
Traveller rating
2,919
993
178
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,919
993
178
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hotelcanal view roomdam squarecomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areapublic areasanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotellovely roomwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,546 - 2,551 of 4,175 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Small rooms and baths. no deluxe rooms with canal-view. You carry your luggage by your own. beds confortable. little bit expensive in relations of quality

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday and was very nervous as I had never been to Amsterdam before. The hotel was lovely and a real taste of luxury. We had a canal facing room and it was a really decent size. The staff were not over friendly and the only real dissapointment was that my sister in law had emailed and asked for some chocolates to be left in the room on our arrival but they had forgotten this. They also wern't particulaly helpful when I emailed them asking for some assistance picking a room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I travel extensively to Amsterdam and have stayed in numerous hotels throughout the city, but the Estherea is by far my favorite hotel. The location is superb, right in the heart of Amsterdam, on the Singel canal. The house, a beautiful 17th century canal house, is extremely elegant, warm and welcoming, with rich colors and gorgeous chandeliers. The rooms are lovely, very clean with comfortable beds. Each room has its own distinct style and color scheme, and can be accessed with an elevator, a huge bonus, especially in a city where elevators are rare! All of Amsterdam's main attractions are within walking distance, including Dam Square. You can relax in one of the beautifully decorated sitting rooms and enjoy free hot beverages, cookies and other goodies offered by the hotel throughout the day. Staff very helpful and professional. Rooms facing the canal offer splendid views over looking the Singel canal. The hotel breakfast is fine and convenient, but there are several wonderful places in the neighbourhood worth exploring for breakfast. There are a couple of Dutch pancake houses not too far from the hotel which serve up wonderful pancakes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We went to Amsterdam for my 30th birthday and when booking the hotel added this was the reason for the trip and found a mini bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room, whiich was a lovely touch. We had a superior deluxe room and it was lovely, there was a spa bath which was amazing. The staff were extremely helpful with luggage and advice on the area. There is a complementary teaa/coffee machine with various biscuits and pastries which again was a lovely touch and certainly got used by all the guests in the hotel, Excellent location too. Only criticism is it is quite expensive to not include breakfast. but overall would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraLewis186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Estherea hotel is very well located, only two blocks away from Dam Square and a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal, starting point for those who are arriving by train from Schipoll Airport. As touristic Amsterdam is not a big city, everything can be reached by foot or taking a tram on Dam Square. It is a very well decorated hotel, with the reception, a library and a restaurant on the first floor. As it was Valentine's day when we arrived, a bootle with candy and a rubber duck painted with hearts were waiting in our room. Rooms are big, considering other Amsterdam's hotels. Very clean and superbly decorated they transmit a cosy ambience. Bathroom is really small, but clean and nice. I am relatively tall (1,83m) and I had to bend a little to fit beneath the shower, because the ceiling is low. Breakfast is really good. There is not a huge list of choices, but everything is top quality. Staff is nice, but if you take a cab through the concierge it may cost you twice as much as if you take it on the street.
Two things disappointed us a little: as we did not get a room facing the canal, our room's windows faced the street behind the hotel and it was a busy and loud street (the Hotel knows that, as they supply ear plugs in the bedside drawer and encourage the guests to use it). The other thing is that just at the side of our room, neighbor to the hotel, there is a traditional Amsterdam Coffee Shop. So, one day, the windows were opened during the time we went to walk and the expected scent of Cannabis filled our room. As we are definitely non smokers, it made us go out again and wait the scent to fade away. It is something that the staff at the reception should warn the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the canals.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avecarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews